R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2010, 09:17 PM   #1936
Tech Fanatic
 
Airflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manila
Posts: 822
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hi, I want to try Speed Passion Competition 3 - 10.5R motor.
I have questions:
1. It has vent holes to help desipitate heat. But will it allow dust
and debris to enter the motor and damage it? Or the dirt wont reach the rotor
and the inside of the stator? or Im better off with the Sportsman range of
motors since it is more protected.

2. Can I rotate the sensor port so it sticks out higher so it wont get disengaged
when its lower and prone to hit things? My car is a T2 2009.

3. If you rotate it by hand, does it has strong resistance like the ones in LRP and Novak? Or is it smooth and light.


Thanks in advance.
Airflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:22 PM   #1937
TEM
Tech Regular
 
TEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
I found this on a fluke

In the prototype stages of the 2.0 I noticed my LPF was running really hot (180) on average.

My friends asked where my EPA's were, I said 100% because the 1.1's hated being anything OTHER than 100%.

My buddy Matt jumped my EPA's to 150% on my DX3R and I gained a few things.

1. My temps averaged about 110 degrees after the switch, (from 180ish).
2. I gained a higher top speed
3. the overall feel of the ESC was smoother.
4.My motor temps dropped about 15-30 degrees
5. I had stronger brakes


It was a 110% improvement and honestly it was a fluke that Matty found it
It's not that I don't believe you cause I haven't tested it myself, but I can't come to explaining it rationally. Assuming your ESC registers full throttle at 100% EPA, then at full trigger; it registers 100% power. If you crank it to 120% (per say, if your EPA limit is 120%), when your trigger is pressed to 83% (100/120), then the ESC will register 100% power and output 100% to the motor. When you squeeze the trigger beyond 83% and up to full trigger; that should technically be dead band, same concept as with the brakes.

That's unless the ESC was designed to incorporate this feature to register something different than it's output. And in that case; wouldn't it mean if someone had a radio that maxed at 150% vs someone with one that does 120% have different results? Therefore, if you had a 120% radio; you would set your EPA to 80% to calibrate your radio and ESC, then crank it up to 120% to simulate the effect of going from 100% for calibration then cranking it to 150% on a 150% radio?
__________________
TEM doesn't advertise for free! Does anyone else notice that a LOT of companies are not even packaging decals with their products?
TEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:46 PM   #1938
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
I always calibrate at 100% like the instructions say, afterwards I will bump my EPA's to the maxed out setting, mines 120%, yours is 150%
That will make you have proportional throttle control for the first 80% of your trigger movement. From 80-100% all you have is full throttle no matter where the trigger is. This might make your cars very hard to drive...hint...hint
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 11:14 PM   #1939
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

After calibration increasing the end point just a bit is a good idea seeing some radios dont give a consistant full throttle signal.
But having a large difference as mentioned will give a bit of dead band or a lot if you set at 100% and then make the radio 150%.

I noticed with the KO radios that when calibrating hold full throttle but with light pressure, if you dont then it doesnt see or stay on full throttle a lot of the time.
This was very irratating untill i helped the guys out and told them to increase end point and the hassle went away.

On my SANWA i havent had the issue but my sons Futaba 3pm i set at just below 100% and after calibration i increase to 100%
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 11:25 PM   #1940
Tech Adept
 
RTR canada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 181
Default

Please Speed Passion we need a new boost program so we can keep up !!
RTR canada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 11:31 PM   #1941
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

its coming
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:25 AM   #1942
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default SpeedPassion GT 2 Recalibrate

Speed Passion Should release new software
to save/Backup/Restore The Firmware,
So we don't need to Recalibrate.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 02:27 AM   #1943
Tech Fanatic
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Scramento, Ca
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dfiantii Send a message via Yahoo to dfiantii
Default

I don't see what the big deal is to re-calibrate your radio once you change the firmware. It takes what 10 seconds? Your in the pits anyway and you have to do it with the Tekin also so what's the big deal?
__________________
TT-01/Hitec MG/SP LPF V1.1/Trinity 7.5
Losi Type-R/JR Z8800S/SP Cirtix Stock/Novak 25.5
Exotek F1R/Savox 1251/Tekin RS/21.5
"ELECTRIFIED TO THE HILT"
dfiantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 04:12 AM   #1944
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default SpeedPassion GT 2 Recalibrate

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfiantii View Post
I don't see what the big deal is to re-calibrate your radio once you change the firmware. It takes what 10 seconds? Your in the pits anyway and you have to do it with the Tekin also so what's the big deal?
you might be right,

But

10 Seconds is worth for some people
who would not want to make mistake.
if you change and try around 2 firmware
it would be 20 Seconds worth,
and could be more.


So my suggestion is

Speed Passion Should release new software
add option to save/Backup/Restore The Firmware,
So we don't need to Recalibrate.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 04:45 AM   #1945
Tech Fanatic
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Scramento, Ca
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dfiantii Send a message via Yahoo to dfiantii
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
you might be right,

But

10 Seconds is worth for some people
who would not want to make mistake.
if you change and try around 2 firmware
it would be 20 Seconds worth,
and could be more.


So my suggestion is

Speed Passion Should release new software
add option to save/Backup/Restore The Firmware,
So we don't need to Recalibrate.
Your option does not make any sense to me, your basically asking SpeedPassion to put more memory room on the esc so that with each firmware change it saves the calibration of the radio is that spot. Well how many times do you think people will change firmwares and then how much memory space will need to made available on the board, then how will you access that memory to restore it to active status. Leave it the way it is and recalibrate. Your asking for more headaches with your request in my opinion. It already takes more than ten seconds to plug the esc into the LCD Programmer and then to your netbook to change the firmware. 4 Button presses and the calibration is done.
__________________
TT-01/Hitec MG/SP LPF V1.1/Trinity 7.5
Losi Type-R/JR Z8800S/SP Cirtix Stock/Novak 25.5
Exotek F1R/Savox 1251/Tekin RS/21.5
"ELECTRIFIED TO THE HILT"
dfiantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 06:18 AM   #1946
TEM
Tech Regular
 
TEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 253
Default

You guys are missing the point here.. I think we've already established that we have to re-calibrate the radio after firmware upgrade here.

The issue is why recalibrate it with 100% EPA, then turning up EPA to MAX (ie 120 or 150%) AFTER calibration.
__________________
TEM doesn't advertise for free! Does anyone else notice that a LOT of companies are not even packaging decals with their products?
TEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 06:23 AM   #1947
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,420
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
its coming
indeed... GT 2.1 Pro Stock
__________________
YOKOMO BD7 2015 :: SMOKEM BD7 2015-IIX Chassis :: HIRO SEIKO Screws :: WTF Windy Fan
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 06:31 AM   #1948
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veecee View Post
Pretty, eh?



sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 07:14 AM   #1949
Tech Addict
 
Stein Tumert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norway (Oslo) / Switzerland (Zurich)
Posts: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfiantii View Post
Your option does not make any sense to me, your basically asking SpeedPassion to put more memory room on the esc so that with each firmware change it saves the calibration of the radio is that spot. Well how many times do you think people will change firmwares and then how much memory space will need to made available on the board, then how will you access that memory to restore it to active status. Leave it the way it is and recalibrate. Your asking for more headaches with your request in my opinion. It already takes more than ten seconds to plug the esc into the LCD Programmer and then to your netbook to change the firmware. 4 Button presses and the calibration is done.
Not exactly....additional memory should not be required on the ESC. All that is needed is a one time calibration with a radio and then have the PC/software to read the settings for idle/max/brake in the ESC and then use those settings when writing a new firmware version into the ESC. Should be possible for SP to implement.


..
__________________
Stein Tumert
Tamiya TRF, Sanwa M12, SpeedPassion, Much More, LRP
Stein Tumert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 07:22 AM   #1950
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 26,481
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

so, are the GT2.0s able to get the turbo feature as the GT2.1?
__________________
< Team Associated RC10B6D>
< Durango DESC410V2, DEX410V5>
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:16 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0