R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-29-2009, 07:04 AM   #1081
Tech Master
 
vr01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Proud Qld'er in Sydney
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel p View Post
omg wat a sh,.t chasis
if i want to turn on the screw off the suspenton mount the insert turns with it so you wil get al uneqal rol center.


The inserts are keyed, so there is no way for them to rotate inside the mount. Go back and check everything - don't worry about the fact they aren't alloy like the drawing in the manual

vr01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:14 AM   #1082
Tech Regular
 
marcel p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: assen (holland)
Posts: 391
Send a message via MSN to marcel p
Default

its not that they spin in the mount.
but they turn with the screw about 1/6 of a turn
its not much but we were better of with inserts with a center hole i think
or ame i a tiny to precies
__________________
PR racing
Powerstar/futaba 4px
Absima /vr racing
marcel p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:30 AM   #1083
Tech Master
 
vr01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Proud Qld'er in Sydney
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel p View Post
its not that they spin in the mount.
but they turn with the screw about 1/6 of a turn
its not much but we were better of with inserts with a center hole i think
or ame i a tiny to precies
It could be due to translation but one minute your saying the insert is turning, the next minute your saying it doesn't... It's one or the other, but the answer is that the insert DOESN'T turn inside the mount.

If you are saying that the whole suspension mount turns slightly as you do it up, then I would say that it possible - BUT there is no way it could get to 1/6 of a turn if you have everything mounted. The suspension arm should be in place when you are doing up the screws for the suspension mounts.
vr01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:34 AM   #1084
Tech Master
 
Ron Goetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Goatsville, PA
Posts: 1,950
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ron Goetter
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel p View Post
its not that they spin in the mount.
but they turn with the screw about 1/6 of a turn
its not much but we were better of with inserts with a center hole i think
or ame i a tiny to precies
Quote:
Originally Posted by vr01 View Post
It could be due to translation but one minute your saying the insert is turning, the next minute your saying it doesn't... It's one or the other, but the answer is that the insert DOESN'T turn inside the mount.

If you are saying that the whole suspension mount turns slightly as you do it up, then I would say that it possible - BUT there is no way it could get to 1/6 of a turn if you have everything mounted. The suspension arm should be in place when you are doing up the screws for the suspension mounts.

Actually i had this problem too. It was a simple solution. I was WAY over tightening them. All I needed to do was loosen the screw again then retighten them without over doing it. all is good now.
__________________
The Goat... B-Mainer Fo' life
-Awesomatix USA-ROCHE USA-Team CRC-ORCA-SIDE PIECE RACING-TEAM DAK-EA Motorsports-VP Fuel-Trains and Lanes-CR Graphics-TQ Wire-Horsham RC-rugburn anyone?
Shut up and Race!!!!
Ron Goetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:54 AM   #1085
Tech Regular
 
marcel p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: assen (holland)
Posts: 391
Send a message via MSN to marcel p
Default

oke thank you .
wil try tightening it les hope it wont come loose
the building is coming to an end my smile is coming back
__________________
PR racing
Powerstar/futaba 4px
Absima /vr racing
marcel p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:58 AM   #1086
Tech Master
 
CanyonCarverR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nocif13 View Post
this week i have broken my steering crank that my taste is soft, so I replaced with the steering crank of which is identical MI4 and stronger and i use bloc caster 2 tamiya
Are those 416 C-hubs?
CanyonCarverR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:03 AM   #1087
Tech Adept
 
Rob Burns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I think they're Evo 5 C-hubs. Part number is 51106 for the 2 degree. They're different to the 416WC C-hub.
__________________
www.RCOttawa.com
Rob Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:11 AM   #1088
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John St.Amant Send a message via MSN to John St.Amant Send a message via Yahoo to John St.Amant
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel p View Post
hello
why are the suspension mount inserts made of ugly and ultra hevy steel.
an not alu as they say in the manual.
sadly i found to manny disapoindmend in tis car.
hope the driving make up with it
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel p View Post
if i want to turn on the screw off the suspenton mount the insert turns with it so you wil get al uneqal rol center.
If they are steel its because the aluminum ones strip out too easily or are not tough enough. From what Ive seen the inserts have two flat spots to index them to the mounts. And if you look closely you will see that the inserts are drilled off center so that there are more roll center adjustments. Make sure they are oriented correctly. Good luck my friend!.
__________________
Pro-Line Racing , Boca Bearings , Competition Heat.
Team Durango DEX210, DEX410V3, DESC410R, DNX408
Futaba FAAST 2.4 4PkS, LRP, Tekin, Xcellorin
John St.Amant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:40 AM   #1089
Tech Regular
 
nocif13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france MARSEILLE
Posts: 289
Send a message via MSN to nocif13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanyonCarverR1 View Post
Are those 416 C-hubs?
no tbevo4 ms
__________________
teamspec/petitrc.com/TEAM WAVE/T.O.P racing/CBRacing.fr/rcmanufactory/Alien POWER/Team Terribles
nocif13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:58 AM   #1090
Tech Regular
 
nocif13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france MARSEILLE
Posts: 289
Send a message via MSN to nocif13
Default

I'm doing a report on the disappointment some changes I made I give you the link
__________________
teamspec/petitrc.com/TEAM WAVE/T.O.P racing/CBRacing.fr/rcmanufactory/Alien POWER/Team Terribles
nocif13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:08 AM   #1091
Tech Regular
 
nocif13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france MARSEILLE
Posts: 289
Send a message via MSN to nocif13
Default

PICTURES OF C HUB AND STEERING bloC
Attached Thumbnails
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-p5300124.jpg   T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-p5300125.jpg   T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-p5300127.jpg   T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-p5300128.jpg  
__________________
teamspec/petitrc.com/TEAM WAVE/T.O.P racing/CBRacing.fr/rcmanufactory/Alien POWER/Team Terribles
nocif13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:25 AM   #1092
Tech Master
 
Josh Cyrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 1,406
Default

marcel - They only turn if you really, really crank down on them. If you tighten them normal then there is absolutly no problem at all. The origional ones (prototype) were softer plastic but with the harder plastic there is no trouble - It's an electric TC, not a real car...lol... Put away the pry-bar!!

nocif - I believe the shoulder for the castor block inserts are supposed to go against the steering blocks. Why do you have the top one put in from the top side of the castor block?? Do you use a servo saver?? I did not at the Reedy Race and had no troubles but on most tracks (with boards) you need to use a servo saver. Of course, we will probably make an alloy version of this part since people are breaking them.

The inserts were made steel for two reasons - #1 The car is incredibly light so we don't need the weight saving. #2 They were a little more safe from bending/crash damage than the aluminum ones. I didn't have any trouble but EJ did when he used some titanium screws in the suspension mount inserts (aluminum ones). I think if you use the steel screws it is perfectly fine but being the low weight of the car we rather be safe. I think TOP will offer the aluminum ones as an optional part.
__________________
Trinity, Destiny, Ko Propo, Hobby Wing, Ulti Racing Tires, Protoform, Zenon Racing, Pivothead, Vizon, TQ Wire & Hella Graphics
Josh Cyrul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:32 AM   #1093
Tech Regular
 
nocif13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france MARSEILLE
Posts: 289
Send a message via MSN to nocif13
Default

josh

I do it because the plastic modification of these 2 parts for me are very fragile and bad bill for me. my opinion is to me! or nothing to say about all of the photon, I just corrected the negative 2 points that I find preferable to improve
i dont use servo saver
regards
olivier
__________________
teamspec/petitrc.com/TEAM WAVE/T.O.P racing/CBRacing.fr/rcmanufactory/Alien POWER/Team Terribles
nocif13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:39 AM   #1094
Tech Master
 
Josh Cyrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 1,406
Default

I don't understand how putting the insert on the top side fixes the problem though?? Now you have a gap/play at the bottom and have to be really careful not to overtighten the ball stud and screw from binding/crushing the castor block......

I'm off to dinner... I'll be back in a bit and then back to the US tommorow.
__________________
Trinity, Destiny, Ko Propo, Hobby Wing, Ulti Racing Tires, Protoform, Zenon Racing, Pivothead, Vizon, TQ Wire & Hella Graphics
Josh Cyrul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:52 AM   #1095
Tech Regular
 
nocif13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france MARSEILLE
Posts: 289
Send a message via MSN to nocif13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Cyrul View Post
I don't understand how putting the insert on the top side fixes the problem though?? Now you have a gap/play at the bottom and have to be really careful not to overtighten the ball stud and screw from binding/crushing the castor block......

I'm off to dinner... I'll be back in a bit and then back to the US tommorow.
I USE insert and caster block tamiya ,we see a space between the two because I have not finished the wedge
__________________
teamspec/petitrc.com/TEAM WAVE/T.O.P racing/CBRacing.fr/rcmanufactory/Alien POWER/Team Terribles
nocif13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0