R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2009, 07:51 PM   #1066
Regional Moderator
 
mrrcguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jonesboro Akansas
Posts: 3,157
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

There has not been much mention of this on the thread but there is something I thought I would touch base on to possibly help prevent a future issue.

There had been some reports of people having issues with the screw that holds the spool drive cups into the spool assembly coming lose. This is why there was a rather odd (compared to the other screws) looking bolt and nut thrown into the first batch of kits. Im not sure how many people actually used this screw, but I feel there is another way.

When building mine what I did is I tapped the spool all the way through from both sides with a 3mm tap. The when inserting the drive cups into the spool it made sure to push them in rather firmly to make absolutely sure they get fully seated. This is important because the fit is quite snug and it would be easy to think that the screw is threaded far enough in when in fact the drive cups may not even be all the way in. Now that the cups are fully seated and you have some good, secure, pre-threaded threads in the spool you can just go ahead and insert the originally supplied screws ( in think the are 10 - 12mm) and you will have no doubt that the screws are properly attached.

I checked mine after 3 runs, again at 8 runs, and again after almost 20 packs, and the cups were still perfect.
mrrcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 08:38 PM   #1067
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Tried a Tamiya?

I've got it on mine and get lock to lock easily.
No, my Tamiya clapped out on me so I started running the kimbrough. I have now managed to get full lock with the medium kimbrough though - idiot here set up a new model on the transmitter but forgot the max steering throw is set separately to the steering %

I've now also moved my servo forward to liberate a bit of room. I'm a little worried about how much I took off the bellcrank (I ran out of servo case to dremel), but hopefully the servo saver will compensate nicely
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 08:52 PM   #1068
Tech Elite
 
THeGame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to THeGame
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nova F1 Racer View Post
If you saw my servo after I went wild with the dremel.... Hanson was wondering if there was anything left of it....

My first day running it report....

Where did all the *%$*&(&$)( steering come from? First time a I've ever ran a spool.... And I liked it!!!

Now the post build report.... 2 out of 4 shocks did not hold the shock oil..
I built them right ( OK 1 shaft had a nick in it ) Gonna take them apart and see what the problem is... I had the droop set way too loose... And used a set of snowbirds rubber tires because thats all I had at the time...

Thanks to Jamie for some build/set-up tips and Brandon Hess for really fine tuning the set up ( OK he really made a lot of tuning changes ) and it really made a huge difference...

The only issue I need to resolve is the lip battery with the banana plugs with the positive right under the upper deck....
Thanks Ricků Your car was butter right out of the box. You need to put some more gear on that motorů
__________________
Team Gravity Rc - G's R/C Raceway and Hobbies - Waldorf RC - TheTrack
THeGame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 09:35 PM   #1069
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John St.Amant Send a message via MSN to John St.Amant Send a message via Yahoo to John St.Amant
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Hanson View Post
Hahahahaah...
I was anxious to get the car on the track. The live beaver I keep in my tool box for jobs just like that..... I plan on cleaning it up a little. The servo had decals on it from before. I just wanted to make sure it ran. More pictures of the car will come later after I have cleaned it up for your approval.

I did live in Midland, Michigan up until about 3 years ago. Raced at Robbies Hobbies in Bay City, USA raceways in Bridgeport, JJs speedshop, the many locations of Larrys and also in GR.
Hahaha..

I thought I knew you but I wasn't sure ! Hows the old man bro?
All I can think of is man are we getting old. Racing sure makes it worth while doesn't it ? I've been only able to do one or maybe two big races a year if I'm lucky. Some of your buddies on this thread tell me you've won a couple Oval Champs and others too. Great job man! Maybe I can hit a good carpet track somewhere soon ... NOT CLEVELAND! lol

P.S. K factory has a nice thin servo saver that looks like it would work nicely.
__________________
Pro-Line Racing , Boca Bearings , Competition Heat.
Team Durango DEX210, DEX410V3, DESC410R, DNX408
Futaba FAAST 2.4 4PkS, LRP, Tekin, Xcellorin
John St.Amant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 10:55 PM   #1070
mk2
Tech Adept
 
mk2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: manteca ca.
Posts: 207
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mk2
Default top

for the spool the screw i found to work the best is a Quater twenty size its a bit larger than 4-40 and it has a course thred witch bits the plastic hardeder its the screw that associated. uses for there front body mounts for there pan cars works awsome and can be found a local hobby shops or hardware store i have passed this info to ej . thanks to ej and od for putting me on the team hope this helps
__________________
PROTEK RC PRODUCTS
JOHNS BSR TIRES
WWW.AMAINHOBBIES.COM
EXPRESS MOTORSPORTS
RADIOPOST USA.
mk2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:04 AM   #1071
Tech Master
 
fatboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: singapore
Posts: 1,533
Send a message via MSN to fatboy
Default

hi, i'm just wondering anyobe can post a pic to show the battery connector as mine are touching the upper deck ( - ) .

Thanks
fatboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:41 AM   #1072
Tech Addict
 
Luke Hobson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: newark, nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 526
Send a message via MSN to Luke Hobson
Default

Hiya

If you look a few pages back.... In the 30's you can see my car with lipo in it, the proper sort with out wires lmao

It's a tight squeeze need the deck but mine just clears....

Worst case scenario is you need to build a extension using a corally male, a battery bar and a corally female tube :-)

Hope that helps
Luke
__________________
Luke Hobson
Awesomatix - Xenon - Godzilla Paint - Moorespeed - ToniSport - MBmodels

http://luke-hobson.blogspot.com/
Luke Hobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:43 AM   #1073
Tech Regular
 
BagofSkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buckingham, UK
Posts: 344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Cyrul View Post
Bagofskill - Yes, the universals are 46mm from pin/pin so they are the same as the 46mm Tamiya ones. Xray does measure them differently so I think their 52's are the same as the 46's (I'm not 100%). Honestly, we talked about a LDC for the front but after seeing the cost plus the unreliability (lot of races where I've seen them broken) we decided not to make them. If you want to use them, you will also have to use their castor block as they will not fit in our castor block. I designed the spool to actually load/flex to help absorb some of the bind/chatter from the universal so I don't know if the LCD is such a big difference in out car compared to others... Again, I haven't tested it thought so I can't really give any information about it.
Thaks Josh, the support you'r giving on the forums will I'm sure contribute to the cars' success! I think the 'LDC' or ECS shafts worth depends on application and suspension geometry. I've recently run a Schumacher and an Xray and the Schu standard CVDs are monkey tennis and on the Xray they're ok, but the ECS delivers a bit extra on the tight indoor tracks with rubber. I have seen one damaged though.
Maybe the Photon won't need it, but thought I'd ask...
BagofSkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 04:00 AM   #1074
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Right first weekend with the car and all I can say is WOW

I've always complained that I cannot get a car in to the corner, but with this I can enter the corner at stupid speeds and lines and it just seems to work so well around the front end. Had to make a few changes to the car to tame the steering down, but I didn't want to take the steering away so mainly played round with getting an Ackerman that I felt comfortable with. Ran new and old tyres and found it to be just as good on both, new tyres made the car a bit sluggish in the faster transition corners, so I increased the droop a tad to get the transfer moving

Anyone know hot to host a pdf file so i can upload it?
__________________
Craig Morgan - Tamiya 417
Slick990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 04:08 AM   #1075
Tech Regular
 
nocif13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france MARSEILLE
Posts: 289
Send a message via MSN to nocif13
Default

i finish 6th at the french national round 4 with photon

http://top-photon.blogspot.com/

the titanium screw set and belt friction drive are aviable?
__________________
teamspec/petitrc.com/TEAM WAVE/T.O.P racing/CBRacing.fr/rcmanufactory/Alien POWER/Team Terribles
nocif13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 04:57 AM   #1076
Tech Regular
 
marcel p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: assen (holland)
Posts: 391
Send a message via MSN to marcel p
Default

hello
why are the suspension mount inserts made of ugly and ultra hevy steel.
an not alu as they say in the manual.
sadly i found some disapoindmend in the car.
hope the driving make up with it
__________________
PR racing
Powerstar/futaba 4px
Absima /vr racing

Last edited by marcel p; 09-13-2009 at 12:48 PM.
marcel p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 05:29 AM   #1077
Tech Regular
 
marcel p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: assen (holland)
Posts: 391
Send a message via MSN to marcel p
Default

if i want to turn on the screw off the suspenton mount the insert turns with it so you wil get al uneqal rol center.
__________________
PR racing
Powerstar/futaba 4px
Absima /vr racing

Last edited by marcel p; 06-29-2009 at 06:04 AM.
marcel p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 05:36 AM   #1078
Tech Addict
 
Luke Hobson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: newark, nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 526
Send a message via MSN to Luke Hobson
Default

If it's doing that pal you've built it wrong, with it assembled correctly there is ZERO chance of the insert turning around in the mount....
__________________
Luke Hobson
Awesomatix - Xenon - Godzilla Paint - Moorespeed - ToniSport - MBmodels

http://luke-hobson.blogspot.com/
Luke Hobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 05:38 AM   #1079
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THeGame View Post
Thanks Ricků Your car was butter right out of the box. You need to put some more gear on that motorů
Ahhh... Guess what I discovered last night.... Besides that I TQ'd stupidity Saturday... I had a 21.5 motor and not the 17.5 that I planned on putting in...

And yet it still hung with the stock motors in the infield.......
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 05:59 AM   #1080
Tech Regular
 
marcel p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: assen (holland)
Posts: 391
Send a message via MSN to marcel p
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke Hobson View Post
If it's doing that pal you've built it wrong, with it assembled correctly there is ZERO chance of the insert turning around in the mount....
oke wizz kid tel me than wat can i do wrong about that.
instead of simple saying you doing it wrong
__________________
PR racing
Powerstar/futaba 4px
Absima /vr racing
marcel p is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:33 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net