R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 12-31-2011, 09:23 AM   #8641
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanulec View Post
...it takes a few packs to break in -- but so does the xray gear diff...
Not true if you are speaking about the XRAY factory unit. As pointed out it's butter smooth and ready to go outta the box
Old 12-31-2011, 01:19 PM   #8642
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)

Interesting discussion. I've been running dual spec-r diffs in my Photon for several months now. First on the asphalt and now on the carpet for the past 2 months. No leaks and they work like a charm. I have a Yokomo diff also that leaked the first two times I used it, so I stuck with the spec-r diffs. Today I rebuilt the Yokomo and ran it successfully for several packs with no issues. Butter smooth. A friend of mine just purchased two Xray diffs for his T3'11 and asked me to build them for him today. The quality is very nice and the build was straightforward with good parts and easy assembly. The first one was very smooth. Comparable to the Yokomo. The second one has a small notch in it when you spin it. I'm sure that will wear in and work just fine, but definitely not butter out of the package.
Old 12-31-2011, 01:27 PM   #8643
Tech Champion

I also did a bit of testing with different driveline components today. Fastest laps were run with the spool/Xray ECS shafts and Side Piece Racing outdrives in the front and ball diff in the back. A tenth or two slower but easier to drive fast were the dual gear diffs with 40K front oil and 20wt shock oil in the rear. Slowest times but easiest to drive was gear diff front and ball diff rear. When driven consistently, the spool is the best option. Weight of the spool with bearings and SPR outdrives installed was 15 grams. Weight of the spec-r gear diff with bearings and 40k oil was 32 grams. Thats alot of weight to add to the drivetrain.
Old 01-01-2012, 12:16 AM   #8644