R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2010, 04:26 PM   #6481
Tech Master
 
old-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,107
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1shnot View Post
Little help here... first of all, I love this car.
But I'm having this naging leaking problem... I have change the orings ,added green slime , soaked the orings(40*) etc etc but half way into racing day i notice bottom of the spring retainer is all greasy with shock oil... is there anything else I can try other then getting v2's? I thought I heard someone trying muchmore pro orings did the trick, anyone else try it?

Thanx guys
Try these. They offer better seal.

http://www.rc-mushroom.com/product_i...ducts_id=15686
old-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 05:53 PM   #6482
Tech Regular
 
ewashburnaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 469
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default springs?

What springs come in the Int'l Rubber Edition Kit?
__________________
Fishhook
ewashburnaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 05:59 PM   #6483
Tech Champion
 
hanulec's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,333
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ewashburnaf View Post
What springs come in the Int'l Rubber Edition Kit?
344 & 306 -- http://www.topracingusa.com/store/index.php?cPath=3_12
__________________
FJ / ROAR #2-122945 / MaxRotation FPV Drone Racing / Shop@ Awesomatix USA / Wild Turbo Fan / Mon-Tech Racing / RocheRC USA / Side Piece /
LRP / John's BSR Tires / TeamEAM / TQ Wire / R1 / Team Scream / PCR / MIX
RacerLog wiki Awesomatix A700 / 2wd offroad 4 life
hanulec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 06:10 PM   #6484
Tech Regular
 
ewashburnaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 469
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanulec View Post
thanks! That was a quick reply!
__________________
Fishhook
ewashburnaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:08 PM   #6485
Tech Master
 
hanzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Is top coming out with a new photon? I see so many rollers for sale. I hope not.
hanzo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:01 PM   #6486
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,960
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
Is top coming out with a new photon? I see so many rollers for sale. I hope not.
Prolly cause the T3 '11 and the Tc6 were released over the past few weeks...
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:49 PM   #6487
Tech Elite
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,212
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Many drivers are always looking for the magic bullet of RC, hence why you will always find lots of anything up for sale at any given time, but yeah right now the TC6 just came out so that is the flavor of the month right now.

Actually TOP should fear the new TC6, at least in terms of value, it ain't bad, LiPo chassis, simular features to the Photon and it comes with some nice functional lipo mounts (which can perfectly use a TOP strap ).

Next revamp of the Photon package I think needs LiPo only chassis, but with included lipo mounts and strap in the kit...
__________________
QRCCRA
www.qrccra.org.au
www.facebook.com/englandparkraceway
www.myrcm.ch/main?pLa=en&hId[1]=org&dId[O]=4331
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:05 PM   #6488
Regional Moderator
 
mrrcguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jonesboro Akansas
Posts: 3,157
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
Is top coming out with a new photon? I see so many rollers for sale. I hope not.
Also keep in mind that the Photon has been out for just under two years now. Therefore a certain number of those 200 or so kits that sold out right away are likely getting replaced by now.
mrrcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:35 PM   #6489
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Would also be nice to move the motor in on the chassis and mount the arms on the chassis instead of the bulkheads...


Had a moment on the weekend and turned in on the steel tubing we use on our sweeper.... sent the car flying.. broke a sway bar adjuster and pulled a srew out of the battery brace... though the tape held the pack in thankfully...

This was at full speed. Very impressed.... no tweak and no 'real' broken bits. Ruined 3 rims/tires in the crash when the car landed and rolled...

Wishing i had the LiPo chassis... The Velcro strap is a nice touch.
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:34 PM   #6490
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 917
Default

On what side do you guys run the front belt? There's no info for placement of belts on setup sheet.

Thanks
__________________
RC racing is still trying to prove that two solid objects can be in the same place, at the same time.
vabroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:53 PM   #6491
Tech Elite
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,212
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vabroom View Post
On what side do you guys run the front belt? There's no info for placement of belts on setup sheet.

Thanks
I think with LiPo chassis now being common everyone is running the belt on the right side of the car, plenty of room with the packs set out to give the best balance, gives more room for electrics on the left side.
__________________
QRCCRA
www.qrccra.org.au
www.facebook.com/englandparkraceway
www.myrcm.ch/main?pLa=en&hId[1]=org&dId[O]=4331
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 12:01 AM   #6492
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamWTF View Post
Would also be nice to move the motor in on the chassis and mount the arms on the chassis instead of the bulkheads...
Like this?

sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 01:54 AM   #6493
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Just like that... Actually i was going through the TOP Australia site and saw the Scythe blocks and the look very nice in red

How do you find the Scythe compared to the Photon?
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 02:02 AM   #6494
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamWTF View Post
Just like that... Actually i was going through the TOP Australia site and saw the Scythe blocks and the look very nice in red

How do you find the Scythe compared to the Photon?
The Scythe is very different - however the pic above is of a "Scyton" (Scythe chassis, Photon suspension hybrid) that I have built up. It runs quite a lot like a Photon but has a simpler chassis layout. The suspension blocks are chassis mounted, and the motor is about 1mm further in (although my big ESC won't fit under the centre bulkhead so you can't bring that bit of weight in much).

Just a bit of fun!
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 02:16 AM   #6495
Tech Master
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,569
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Just for a point of mention Sosidge,

You CAN fit the photon diff and spool in the scythe , you just have to modify the shock towers to clear, and run the 37t belt set-up.

Wasn't sure if you had tried this or not.

Cheers

Robbie
__________________
Robbie Lloyd

Yokomo * HobbyWing * Sanwa
xray racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net