R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2010, 02:10 AM   #6466
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek_Siciliano View Post
Hey guys,

Just curious how do you properly set the droop on the photon?
The Photon is no different to any other car. Just use the droop screws in the arm.

The hoop on the rear hub makes the droop measurement look a bit different from the other cars on the market. As a guide, it's about 4mm lower than the bottom edge of the wishbone.

I have my car on 5.5 front, 1 rear (on the gauge) for rubber/carpet. Seems about right!
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 02:28 AM   #6467
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,460
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCFREAK View Post
Dave, did you just post "steering rack"? Let the TC3-4 go already!
Thats some funny $hit right there
Jamison R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 05:34 AM   #6468
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
The Photon is no different to any other car. Just use the droop screws in the arm.

The hoop on the rear hub makes the droop measurement look a bit different from the other cars on the market. As a guide, it's about 4mm lower than the bottom edge of the wishbone.

I have my car on 5.5 front, 1 rear (on the gauge) for rubber/carpet. Seems about right!

Ok, my other question is how do you set the tweak after you have the set the droop?
__________________
Derek Siciliano
____________________________________________________________________________
CRC GEN XL/TOP PHOTON/TEKIN/LRP/COMPETITION ELECTRONICS/SMC/SANWA M11X/HUDY
Derek_Siciliano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 06:24 AM   #6469
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek_Siciliano View Post
Ok, my other question is how do you set the tweak after you have the set the droop?
I just lift it with the holes in the middle of the shock towers and adjust the pre-load. But there are many ways to set tweak on these cars. It's just the same as any other RC car in that respect.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 09:50 AM   #6470
Tech Master
 
hanzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Iam trying to change the spur gear. I can seem to remove the bearing. How do I do this?
hanzo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 10:45 AM   #6471
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
Iam trying to change the spur gear. I can seem to remove the bearing. How do I do this?
try to push the ball bearings a bit back and break the edge. rhan is your problem solved.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 06:10 PM   #6472
Tech Master
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,054
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
RW Racing here in the UK make some machined one-piece centre pulley/spur combos.

Haven't tried one myself, but I reckon they would be a good option for people struggling with the plastic pulleys.
do you have a link or a site where these can be viewed/purchaced

thanks
__________________
VBC RACING-R1 WURKS AUS--HOBBYWING--SILVERBACK--MAD GRAPHICS--BLITZ
Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 09:32 PM   #6473
Tech Addict
 
HappyHippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor View Post
do you have a link or a site where these can be viewed/purchaced

thanks

http://www.rwracing.co.uk/cars.html
HappyHippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 10:53 AM   #6474
Tech Regular
 
1shnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maple,ontario,Canada
Posts: 497
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Little help here... first of all, I love this car.
But I'm having this naging leaking problem... I have change the orings ,added green slime , soaked the orings(40*) etc etc but half way into racing day i notice bottom of the spring retainer is all greasy with shock oil... is there anything else I can try other then getting v2's? I thought I heard someone trying muchmore pro orings did the trick, anyone else try it?

Thanx guys
__________________
-Fast cats
-eXpress motorsports
-T.O.P
-Airtronics
1shnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:22 AM   #6475
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1shnot View Post
Little help here... first of all, I love this car.
But I'm having this naging leaking problem... I have change the orings ,added green slime , soaked the orings(40*) etc etc but half way into racing day i notice bottom of the spring retainer is all greasy with shock oil... is there anything else I can try other then getting v2's? I thought I heard someone trying muchmore pro orings did the trick, anyone else try it?

Thanx guys
I have the Tamiya o-rings (from #53574) and have no leaks. This is using the original shaft guides too.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 03:24 PM   #6476
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,331
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1shnot View Post
Little help here... first of all, I love this car.
But I'm having this naging leaking problem... I have change the orings ,added green slime , soaked the orings(40*) etc etc but half way into racing day i notice bottom of the spring retainer is all greasy with shock oil... is there anything else I can try other then getting v2's? I thought I heard someone trying muchmore pro orings did the trick, anyone else try it?

Thanx guys
Make sure that your shock shafts are not scratched up. They may be cutting into the o-rings and causing the leak.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 09:41 PM   #6477
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,960
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I picked up an extra set of shock shafts and they are greyish in color compared to the shiny color of the ones that came in the kit. Nothing is specified on the package as to why... any ideas?
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:04 AM   #6478
Tech Addict
 
gruman28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 716
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I am ordering a photon, I run on an indoor high traction asphault track, 17.5 spec, can I use the spool or should I buy another ball diff for the front?

I am kind of new to touring. I have only ran ball diff's. Just dont want to get to the track only to find that my car isnt as driveable as it should be.

Thanks
Chris
gruman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:34 AM   #6479
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,747
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gruman28 View Post
I am ordering a photon, I run on an indoor high traction asphault track, 17.5 spec, can I use the spool or should I buy another ball diff for the front?

I am kind of new to touring. I have only ran ball diff's. Just dont want to get to the track only to find that my car isnt as driveable as it should be.

Thanks
Chris
Most run spools, some are running gear diffs with thick fluid, not many would run ball diff up front with rubber tires.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:20 AM   #6480
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,558
Trader Rating: 150 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gruman28 View Post
I am ordering a photon, I run on an indoor high traction asphault track, 17.5 spec, can I use the spool or should I buy another ball diff for the front?

I am kind of new to touring. I have only ran ball diff's. Just dont want to get to the track only to find that my car isnt as driveable as it should be.

Thanks
Chris
If you are going to run a diff in the front I recommend getting gear diffs up front use 120,000 diff fluid and 10,000 in the rear and you should be set. That set up also works very well outdoors.
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net