R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2010, 04:39 AM   #5851
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,333
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor View Post
initially had 46mm shafts in & yes the blade was sitting on the screw/nut but then changed to 44.5 mm & problem still ocured,will try the heating & cooling method & see if that fixes the issue
thanks for the help
Are you running a narrow rear end? How many shims are you using between the arm and bulkhead?
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 05:06 AM   #5852
Tech Master
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,066
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

hi tony

its built to kit settings,the only difference between the new car (the one thats throwing c clips) & my older car (which hasnt lost any c clips) is the new car has the lipo chassis & belts have been flipped over from standard
appreciate any input

graham
__________________
VBC RACING AUS--HOBBYWING--MAD GRAPHICS--BITTY DESIGN
Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:35 AM   #5853
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

subscribing.
__________________
every impulse that we strive to strangle broods in the mind, and poison us...action is a mode of purification... the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.

Last edited by cheehtae; 10-09-2010 at 04:26 PM.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 03:57 PM   #5854
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

for those of you whose running the gear diff, can someone tell me how thick is the included shim?

Thanks.
cvccsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 04:47 PM   #5855
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,333
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvccsi View Post
for those of you whose running the gear diff, can someone tell me how thick is the included shim?

Thanks.
.10 mm in mine. I believe there were two on each side.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 04:48 PM   #5856
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

.
__________________
every impulse that we strive to strangle broods in the mind, and poison us...action is a mode of purification... the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.

Last edited by cheehtae; 10-09-2010 at 04:27 PM.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 04:52 PM   #5857
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
.10 mm in mine. I believe there were two on each side.
Thanks. There is also the red spacers, what is the thickness for that?
cvccsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:32 AM   #5858
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

is there an easy way to change the spur? what is the first step after removing those small screws. I can't get the bearing, red shaft off the pulley. It's stuck.
__________________
every impulse that we strive to strangle broods in the mind, and poison us...action is a mode of purification... the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 10:39 AM   #5859
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,670
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheehtae View Post
is there an easy way to change the spur? what is the first step after removing those small screws. I can't get the bearing, red shaft off the pulley. It's stuck.
You may have over torque those two screws ,it will mushroom the red shaft end cause the bearing to stuck..

Hold the spur gear and force the shaft out , then deburr or handfiles the red shaft ends brfore reassy.
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 11:23 AM   #5860
Tech Addict
 
E.J. Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 601
Send a message via Yahoo to E.J. Evans
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheehtae View Post
is there an easy way to change the spur? what is the first step after removing those small screws. I can't get the bearing, red shaft off the pulley. It's stuck.
We came out with an optional steel shaft which now comes standard with the kit.

TC-PDT005BK Centre Pulley Shaft (Black)

The problem with the aluminum one is that it mushrooms when the screws are tightened and the bearings won't come out.

Shoot us en a email topracingusa@yahoo.com and we'll work something out.

Thanks,

EJ
__________________
T.O.P. Racing | APEX Hobbies | R1 | Solaris | NorCal Hobbies |

Solaris Racing Products (SRP) Solaris Spec Tires!

www.solarisrp.com | www.apexhobbies.com | www.topracingusa.com
E.J. Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 11:33 AM   #5861
Tech Addict
 
E.J. Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 601
Send a message via Yahoo to E.J. Evans
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor View Post
hi tony

its built to kit settings,the only difference between the new car (the one thats throwing c clips) & my older car (which hasnt lost any c clips) is the new car has the lipo chassis & belts have been flipped over from standard
appreciate any input

graham
Hi Graham,

Wornout outdrives can cause the C blades to break. Also if the flat surface has any deformation, knicks, or sharp edges that can cause it too. Try filing down the flat to make sure it's smooth.

If it continues to do break blades send me an email topracingusa@yahoo.com and I'll send you some replacements to start "fresh"
__________________
T.O.P. Racing | APEX Hobbies | R1 | Solaris | NorCal Hobbies |

Solaris Racing Products (SRP) Solaris Spec Tires!

www.solarisrp.com | www.apexhobbies.com | www.topracingusa.com
E.J. Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 11:37 AM   #5862
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 919
Default

Outstanding service and support as always.
__________________
RC racing is still trying to prove that two solid objects can be in the same place, at the same time.
vabroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 10:20 PM   #5863
Tech Master
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,066
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by E.J. Evans View Post
Hi Graham,

Wornout outdrives can cause the C blades to break. Also if the flat surface has any deformation, knicks, or sharp edges that can cause it too. Try filing down the flat to make sure it's smooth.

If it continues to do break blades send me an email topracingusa@yahoo.com and I'll send you some replacements to start "fresh"

thanks e.j.

i"ll give the outdrives a clean up,give the car a run & let u know how it goes
thanks for the help & support even from the other side of the world

graham
__________________
VBC RACING AUS--HOBBYWING--MAD GRAPHICS--BITTY DESIGN
Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 04:52 AM   #5864
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 783
Default

I just picked up this kit. It will be hear today. Does the kit come with a basis rubber tire/ carpet setup? I will need to adjust to my driving and track but a ballpark setup to get started will save me some time.

We mostly run 17.5/ full software class at my track.
DJG24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 05:00 AM   #5865
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,104
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

The manual has 2 basic setups in there.
1 for foam and 1 for rubber.
I don't know what kit you got?
The rubber or the foam?
If you have the rubber kit there will be only the small "wings"in the kit for the rubber setup.
I just bought me one also and put the basic setup on the car and it works ok.
Just need to adapt it to my own driving style and fine tune it.

regards Roy



Quote:
Originally Posted by DJG24 View Post
I just picked up this kit. It will be hear today. Does the kit come with a basis rubber tire/ carpet setup? I will need to adjust to my driving and track but a ballpark setup to get started will save me some time.

We mostly run 17.5/ full software class at my track.
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:10 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net