R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2009, 11:48 AM   #3196
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,333
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick1257 View Post
Stiltskin What springs and shock oil are you running at Debbies. Going to build the car this week any suggestions would be greatly appreciated Rick
I'm running 367/50wt front and 289/45wt rear. I've played around with swaybars and the car seems to work best with the 1.2 mm bars front and rear. Buy a Kimbrough medium servo saver and don't run the car without it. The car is very fast and very durable. I've only broken one steering bellcrank (hence the reason for the servo saver). I don't really know of any tricks to the build. It goes together very well and with alot fewer parts than most kits on the market. If you have any questions, please give me a call. I'd be happy to help you out. Sent you a PM.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 11:50 AM   #3197
Tech Initiate
 
wayne breault's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ventura Ca
Posts: 48
Default

Using 2 strings makes sence but now how can you tell if the car is off a gram or 2 on either side by looking at the top of the car when you pick it up? Without buying 4 corner scales. Thanks
wayne breault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 12:09 PM   #3198
Tech Rookie
 
Gianni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hungari
Posts: 19
Default

i like this balance
Attached Thumbnails
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-rtemagicc_punkt4.jpg.jpg  
Gianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 12:34 PM   #3199
Tech Initiate
 
wayne breault's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ventura Ca
Posts: 48
Default

Looks good in your picture but how can you tell if your a gram or 2 off? In the picture it looks like it's tilting to the left a little bit.
wayne breault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 01:24 PM   #3200
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 94
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

i picked up four scales on ebay at $8 a piece shipped.
amuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 02:24 PM   #3201
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,781
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
I'm running 367/50wt front and 289/45wt rear. I've played around with swaybars and the car seems to work best with the 1.2 mm bars front and rear. Buy a Kimbrough medium servo saver and don't run the car without it. The car is very fast and very durable. I've only broken one steering bellcrank (hence the reason for the servo saver). I don't really know of any tricks to the build. It goes together very well and with alot fewer parts than most kits on the market. If you have any questions, please give me a call. I'd be happy to help you out. Sent you a PM.
You have a Pm
__________________
Hobbywing / Team Scream / Progressive Rc / Ko Propo / MotivRc / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 02:40 PM   #3202
Tech Addict
 
1shnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maple,ontario,Canada
Posts: 502
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi fellas... new to photon thread.

Happy to say ordered a photon from Amain hobbies... question is would I receive a v3 of spool? and updated screws? is there a way to find out, other then wait to see?

Can't wait to try it!!!!!!!!!

thanx guys
__________________
-Fast cats
-eXpress motorsports
-T.O.P
-Airtronics
1shnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 02:52 PM   #3203
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,333
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywood View Post
You have a Pm
I mounted my servo using two of the motor mount braces. Instead of using a regular lock nut on the back of the servo saver, I used the Kimbrough medium saver with no holes. I drilled the hole where I wanted it and used a Corally M3 nut (part number COR79417) to keep the saver as close to the top deck as possible. Here's the pic to help explain.
Attached Thumbnails
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-img_0231.jpg   T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-img_0232.jpg  
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 02:54 PM   #3204
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,781
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1shnot View Post
Hi fellas... new to photon thread.

Happy to say ordered a photon from Amain hobbies... question is would I receive a v3 of spool? and updated screws? is there a way to find out, other then wait to see?

Can't wait to try it!!!!!!!!!

thanx guys
I would give Micheal at T.O.P. Racing U.S.A. a call since he supplies A-main.I would guess It would be the updated kit.
__________________
Hobbywing / Team Scream / Progressive Rc / Ko Propo / MotivRc / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 02:58 PM   #3205
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,781
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
I mounted my servo using two of the motor mount braces. Instead of using a regular lock nut on the back of the servo saver, I used the Kimbrough medium saver with no holes. I drilled the hole where I wanted it and used a Corally M3 nut (part number COR79417) to keep the saver as close to the top deck as possible. Here's the pic to help explain.
Thanks
__________________
Hobbywing / Team Scream / Progressive Rc / Ko Propo / MotivRc / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 02:59 PM   #3206
P2
Tech Fanatic
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayne breault View Post
Looks good in your picture but how can you tell if your a gram or 2 off? In the picture it looks like it's tilting to the left a little bit.
That car's not even a Photon
__________________
TopRacingUSA | Team EPIC | Thunder Power | OD Racing
P2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 03:02 PM   #3207
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,333
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywood View Post
Thanks
No problem.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 03:27 PM   #3208
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,729
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1shnot View Post
Hi fellas... new to photon thread.

Happy to say ordered a photon from Amain hobbies... question is would I receive a v3 of spool? and updated screws? is there a way to find out, other then wait to see?

Can't wait to try it!!!!!!!!!

thanx guys
i'm going to say yes you will. i got mine from amain awhile back and i got the newest of components. updated dog bones, new spool, two sets of plastic spool outdrives and one set of steel spool outdrives. i think they even state on the photon page about the updated components being included.
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 03:43 PM   #3209
Tech Addict
 
1shnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maple,ontario,Canada
Posts: 502
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

haywood ,low et thanks for quick replies..
So even dogbones are updated? wow i didnt know that... how can i tell if they are updated parts? they look diffrent? color? or is it once I get updated spool then everything is updated as well....
__________________
-Fast cats
-eXpress motorsports
-T.O.P
-Airtronics
1shnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 03:55 PM   #3210
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,333
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1shnot View Post
haywood ,low et thanks for quick replies..
So even dogbones are updated? wow i didnt know that... how can i tell if they are updated parts? they look diffrent? color? or is it once I get updated spool then everything is updated as well....
I haven't seen the new ones personally, but they should look the same. They are 44.5 mm long to allow more narrow setups without the dog bone bottoming out on the diff or spool screws.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:54 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net