R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2009, 01:42 PM   #3016
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,876
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to cpatel529 Send a message via Yahoo to cpatel529
Default

Anyone have any pictures of their electronics mounted in their car? I am going to be using the following:

Motor: Team Epic/Trinity Nemesis 17.5
ESC: Orion/KO Propo Vortex
Servo: KO Propo 951
Battery: Trinity 5000 mA

Where are you mounting the personal transponder?

Also, can I get a link to to a medium bite asphalt setup? Was trying to find EJ's or Larry's setups but my search didnt provide any results.

Thanks! Look forward to getting my Photon in the next couple days.

Chi
__________________
Chirag Patel (San Diego, CA)
cpatel529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 02:24 PM   #3017
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,828
Default



My layout - although I have the Lipo mounted differently now for balance, the electronics are all in the same basic place. The PT has had its ears cut off to fit in front of the cells.

Because I use the relatively big Much-More/Speed Passion ESC and a 1/10th servo, I have to mount the receiver on top of the servo. With your smaller equipment you might get it all on the lower deck.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 02:34 PM   #3018
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 129
Default

here is my layout.
I placed the receiver on the battery site so I dont need much weight to balance the car.
With light weight body shell Im at 1340g
greets
Attached Thumbnails
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-file.jpg  
Lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 03:14 PM   #3019
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,462
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to goop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpatel529 View Post
Anyone have any pictures of their electronics mounted in their car? I am going to be using the following:

Motor: Team Epic/Trinity Nemesis 17.5
ESC: Orion/KO Propo Vortex
Servo: KO Propo 951
Battery: Trinity 5000 mA

Where are you mounting the personal transponder?

Also, can I get a link to to a medium bite asphalt setup? Was trying to find EJ's or Larry's setups but my search didnt provide any results.

Thanks! Look forward to getting my Photon in the next couple days.

Chi
you know that the ko 951 is a 1/12 scale servo
__________________
Hurricane Motorsports
Team Trinity

TOP Racing - Gravity Rc - Contact tires - KO Propo - Competition Electronics
goop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 03:17 PM   #3020
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,876
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to cpatel529 Send a message via Yahoo to cpatel529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goop View Post
you know that the ko 951 is a 1/12 scale servo
Its a 1/12 servo that Josh and others have used in the Photon due to its high torque, fast speeds, and small size. Josh used it at the Reedy Race. It was discussed earlier in this thread.

Chi
__________________
Chirag Patel (San Diego, CA)
cpatel529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 03:24 PM   #3021
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,462
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to goop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpatel529 View Post
Its a 1/12 servo that Josh and others have used in the Photon due to its high torque, fast speeds, and small size. Josh used it at the Reedy Race. It was discussed earlier in this thread.

Chi
yes i know but if you crash alot i would not recommend that servo as the gears are not meant for that type of punishment
__________________
Hurricane Motorsports
Team Trinity

TOP Racing - Gravity Rc - Contact tires - KO Propo - Competition Electronics
goop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:35 PM   #3022
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Just wonder if anyone try the new option - Axle ring ?? do it work well in preventing the axle pin come loose??
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:45 PM   #3023
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,331
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
Just wonder if anyone try the new option - Axle ring ?? do it work well in preventing the axle pin come loose??
I haven't had any issues with stock. Is this a problem?
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:45 PM   #3024
Tech Elite
 
schreff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,015
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to schreff
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
Just wonder if anyone try the new option - Axle ring ?? do it work well in preventing the axle pin come loose??
If you're talking about the red axle covers, Larry and I ran them this past weekend. If you're having any sort of trouble with pins falling out (which we didn't have to begin with), this will eliminate the possibility permanently.
__________________
-Jason Schreffler-
TLR|Horizon Hobby|Spektrum|AKA|Team CRC|CR Graphics|TQ Wire|Radio Impound Podcast
schreff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:56 PM   #3025
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schreff View Post
If you're talking about the red axle covers, Larry and I ran them this past weekend. If you're having any sort of trouble with pins falling out (which we didn't have to begin with), this will eliminate the possibility permanently.
so this option only applicable for rear use??
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:57 PM   #3026
Tech Master
 
rosko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,065
Default

goop... i have'nt tried it yet just built it stock just to get a feel for it , i will try it tommorrow though.
rosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 07:10 PM   #3027
Tech Elite
 
schreff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,015
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to schreff
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
so this option only applicable for rear use??
That depends on if you're running the kit drive shafts front and rear. If you are, you can use the pin covers front and rear. There is even a little paper in the package making sure to notify the end user not to screw the top set screw into the steering block too far... or it will scrape the cover.

I personally only use them in the rear as I'm running the Atomic 416 LCD style shafts up front.
__________________
-Jason Schreffler-
TLR|Horizon Hobby|Spektrum|AKA|Team CRC|CR Graphics|TQ Wire|Radio Impound Podcast
schreff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 07:31 PM   #3028
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,331
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schreff
Atomic 416 LCD style shafts up front.
Who sells these?
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 07:47 PM   #3029
Tech Elite
 
schreff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,015
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to schreff
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Who sells these?
http://store.hkshobby.com/product_in...oducts_id=6094

You can find them at RC Mart as well.

You do have to do a little work to make them properly fit though.

1. You have to use the 5x10x3 bearing they come with on the inside of the steering blocks.
2. You have to sand/dremel the back side of the hexes so that, once you clamp them down, the axle doesn't bind the bearings.
3. Shave the caster block out so that the axle can spin freely without hitting the caster block. This is something we always had to do on Losi blocks so it was nothing new to us.

The pins in these axles are pretty weak. A good shot will break them. It's best to find some 1.4mm metal steel rod to replace the crappy pins. We had to get 1.6mm rod and sand it down to fit, which has worked out great. Makes them much more reliable. We're also using Losi LCD shrink tubing to add a 2nd level of security for the pins not to fall out... even though they're locked in with a set screw.
__________________
-Jason Schreffler-
TLR|Horizon Hobby|Spektrum|AKA|Team CRC|CR Graphics|TQ Wire|Radio Impound Podcast
schreff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 07:48 PM   #3030
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Who sells these?
I've seen them over at www.speedtechrc.com
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net