R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-30-2009, 06:23 PM   #2941
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywood View Post
I am in the market for a spool for my foam car to try out some rubber tire racing on ozite.Are guys still having durability issues with the TOP spool?Is there a aftermarket option?Thanks.
I have he spool with steel cups and it's great. First I wanted the Rosche spool but the TOP spool with the stel cups are great.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 08:51 PM   #2942
Tech Elite
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Asgard
Posts: 3,995
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to olhipster1
Default +2

I have been using the TOP spool with steel outdrives.....and it's 1000 times better than the original...
have hit too many times to count....
and not even one single issues yet...

all you have to put on the car is the Parma bumper photon or TC5 version....and it's a tank.
__________________
everything is Cause and effect
every Action has a reaction.
"I drank too much wine - I must take a p!ss"
CAUSE and EFFECT
olhipster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 09:56 PM   #2943
Tech Regular
 
porsche928gs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Saginaw Texas and Orlando Florida
Posts: 380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olhipster1 View Post
I have been using the TOP spool with steel outdrives.....and it's 1000 times better than the original...
have hit too many times to count....
and not even one single issues yet...

all you have to put on the car is the Parma bumper photon or TC5 version....and it's a tank.
what's up Orlando........I thought you quit racing r/c. I'm glad you're still going at it...Gilbert Santos
porsche928gs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 07:50 AM   #2944
Tech Master
 
rosko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,068
Default

is the parma tc5 bumper a direct fit or does it take a slight mod?
rosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 08:54 AM   #2945
Regional Moderator
 
mrrcguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jonesboro Akansas
Posts: 3,157
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rosko View Post
is the parma tc5 bumper a direct fit or does it take a slight mod?
Couldnt tell ya but Parma makes a hard bumper for the car. I have a couple extra I can mail you on the cheap! PM me if you want one.
mrrcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:45 AM   #2946
Tech Master
 
Ron Goetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Goatsville, PA
Posts: 1,950
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ron Goetter
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rosko View Post
is the parma tc5 bumper a direct fit or does it take a slight mod?
You have to make 2 more holes in it. I been running 1 on my foam car since it is wider, has no cut outs in it and that makes it a little firmer of a bumper.
__________________
The Goat... B-Mainer Fo' life
-Awesomatix USA-ROCHE USA-Team CRC-ORCA-SIDE PIECE RACING-TEAM DAK-EA Motorsports-VP Fuel-Trains and Lanes-CR Graphics-TQ Wire-Horsham RC-rugburn anyone?
Shut up and Race!!!!
Ron Goetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 12:03 PM   #2947
Tech Adept
 
amnesia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 119
Default

I have a Yokomo BD5 bumper on my Photon... fits perfectly.

As said previously, if you don't remove the cut-outs it lasts a lot longer and you don't damage your shell in shunts so easily.
__________________
.-= T.O.P. Photon =-.

Titanium Racing (Team TR Driver) / Tekin RS Pro / Novak Ballistic 13.5t / Spektrum

www.titaniumracing.com
amnesia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 12:55 PM   #2948
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,788
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

just get the one that's made for the photon, perfect fit with the mazda speed and ltc-r bodies, http://www.shopatron.com/products/pr...1.22133.0.0.0?
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 03:22 PM   #2949
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default New car

how you guys like the photon? Just because ,I'm looking to by a new car....I read about the photon, but I would like to know what you can say about the car.I'm planning to racing in the carpet, so I would have to change anything in the rubber kit? Thanks.
teogra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 03:32 PM   #2950
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teogra View Post
how you guys like the photon? Just because ,I'm looking to by a new car....I read about the photon, but I would like to know what you can say about the car.I'm planning to racing in the carpet, so I would have to change anything in the rubber kit? Thanks.
If you're going to be running on carpet exclusively, get the foam kit and pick up a spool on the side. If you will be running asphalt as well, the stock rubber version is fantastic. You will need to get the 2.5 lipo chassis for running the rubber car on carpet though. The car is very fast on asphalt with no upgrades required. For carpet, I bought a front diff for tuning options and the lipo chassis. For my maiden voyage last week (on carpet) I TQ'ed by 7 seconds. The car has a ton of steering and works well with adjustments. You can't beat the price either when comparing it to the other high end cars.

Side note: If you are in the States, the customer service at TOP Racing USA is second to none. Michael is "da man".
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC

Last edited by stiltskin; 12-02-2009 at 04:15 PM.
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:53 PM   #2951
Tech Elite
 
t4m1y4niac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,311
Default

guys, what is the different between 2.5mm standard chassis with the 2.5mm lipo????
__________________
SABRE S4 by TOP RACING....
t4m1y4niac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 12:22 AM   #2952
Tech Master
 
Rod M's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywood View Post
I am in the market for a spool for my foam car to try out some rubber tire racing on ozite.Are guys still having durability issues with the TOP spool?Is there a aftermarket option?Thanks.
the standard spool with the optional Steel or Alloy outdrives seem to work just fine,

there are also aftermarket spools made by TI Racing and Roche,

The TI Racing Spools look very nice but you also need to get a 40tooth Yok BD5 pulley to mount on the spool,
__________________
TOPRACING.NET.AU Australian Importer of:
T.O.P. Tokyo Hobbies Optional Parts,
Team Trinity , BL Motors and Tyre compound
Team Tekin , ESC's, motors,
Elangears, Chargers,
Rod M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 12:28 AM   #2953
Tech Adept
 
amnesia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 119
Default

The LiPo chassis doesn't have cut-outs for Sub-C cells (NiMHs), just a couple of slots for tape. Should give a more even flex across the chassis.

I am after a 'foam' lower deck as I only race on carpet (and bought my Photon before the foam kit came out) but I can't find them anywhere in the UK
__________________
.-= T.O.P. Photon =-.

Titanium Racing (Team TR Driver) / Tekin RS Pro / Novak Ballistic 13.5t / Spektrum

www.titaniumracing.com
amnesia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 12:32 AM   #2954
Tech Elite
 
t4m1y4niac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,311
Default

thanks for the info....
__________________
SABRE S4 by TOP RACING....
t4m1y4niac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 01:05 AM   #2955
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amnesia View Post
The LiPo chassis doesn't have cut-outs for Sub-C cells (NiMHs), just a couple of slots for tape. Should give a more even flex across the chassis.

I am after a 'foam' lower deck as I only race on carpet (and bought my Photon before the foam kit came out) but I can't find them anywhere in the UK
Much-More UK have both foam chassis in stock, should simply be a case of asking your favourite retailer to order one in for you.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net