R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2009, 01:12 PM   #2761
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,697
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

i'm putting this rubber kit together and ran across some things,

i've got two .20mm shims that came in the bag of hardware for the axles but they're not noted in the assembly manual. do these go on the rear axles between the bearing and the drive pin for the hexes? they seem to have more slop then the fronts.

i also got four aluminum axles, i thought it was going to be two steel for the front and two aluminum for the rear
LOW ET is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 01:22 PM   #2762
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rome - Italy
Posts: 273
Default

Yes, those shims are for rear axles.

Cheers.
Fastfreddy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 01:46 PM   #2763
Tech Regular
 
BagofSkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buckingham, UK
Posts: 344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOW ET View Post
i also got four aluminum axles, i thought it was going to be two steel for the front and two aluminum for the rear
Yeah, despite the advertised spec the rubber kits not come with aluminium front axles. No one has said why. Seems to have been a change for the 2nd batch of kits.

Just make sure you put the two shorter shafts in the back and the longer ones in the front.
BagofSkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 04:20 PM   #2764
Tech Addict
 
Luke Hobson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: newark, nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 526
Send a message via MSN to Luke Hobson
Default

out of both the kits I had, (one in April/may and one in september) both had steels up front..

Luke
__________________
Luke Hobson
Awesomatix - Xenon - Godzilla Paint - Moorespeed - ToniSport - MBmodels

http://luke-hobson.blogspot.com/
Luke Hobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 07:41 PM   #2765
Tech Elite
 
Piyo Piyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jakarta - INDONESIA
Posts: 3,051
Default

Any axles (I mean the universals part that connected to tyres) from other brands that I can used? Tamiya or XRAY?
Thanks.
__________________
VIOLA ARIELLE & FLOREN ISABELLE
Piyo Piyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 01:03 AM   #2766
Tech Regular
 
BagofSkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buckingham, UK
Posts: 344
Default

My kit, bought 20th September, came with ally shafts and V2 spool with additional steel cups.

I've seen/heard of half a dozen others with ally, only yours with steels Luke. Maybe it's luck of the draw or what's in stock when the kits are being bagged.
BagofSkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 05:36 AM   #2767
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,329
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

How's the version two spool holding up? Any issues with the steel cups?
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 07:24 AM   #2768
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

The v2 spool with the steel cubs works fine for me.
No play and the cubs are strong.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 07:30 AM   #2769
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,329
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Thanks. I'm still running the plastic cups and I am debating between the steel cups or the Roche spool with the Yokomo gear. I've got about twenty plastic cups and an extra spool, so I'm not in a big hurry.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 10:19 AM   #2770
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,697
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

so when is the optional belt tensioner needed? my belts feel fine with out it but it is a new kit.

also what turnbuckle wrench you guys using with the steel turnbuckles? seems to be a 3.5mm or something.
LOW ET is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 01:49 PM   #2771
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Low, I see no signs of needed a belt tensioner. After moderate use, my belts still are tight even with the diff in the middle position. Lots of diff movement left.
I'm using my Xray 3&4 mm turnbuckle wrench, the 4mm end. It's larger than ideal, but works.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 02:00 PM   #2772
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,828
Default

I'm using a wrench that I got in an old Yokomo kit - I think it is a Lunsford. Seems to be the right size.

On the topic of belt tension, I have my front belt on three notches loose. Needed to be loose otherwise the tension would literally bend the chassis up (sans topdeck). Rear is in the middle. Seems OK for 13.5.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 02:09 PM   #2773
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

How about TIR spool....
what you guys think about it ?
I'm thinking about to order one for 416 and tamiya one also made by same material like photon version...
any feedback welcome
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 03:58 PM   #2774
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,329
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Carpet season just started for us. Lipo 2.5 chassis on it's way. Life is good.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 05:05 PM   #2775
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Default 13.5 fdr

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Carpet season just started for us. Lipo 2.5 chassis on it's way. Life is good.
Hey Stiltskin,
Do you know a good FDR for a Tekin 13.5 in my rubber photon?
thank you
grouchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net