R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2009, 03:13 PM   #2566
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amnesia View Post
Anyone know if there are alloy servo mounts in the pipeline ?

I managed to strip the standard plastic ones in a collision and I am finding it tricky to get some replacements

Alloy ones with two mounting holes (like the Xray ones) would be good - need to be offset a bit though so that a servo saver can be used.
I used two of the alloy motor plate supports TRP-TC-PCH014RD to hold the servo in place. I had to place one washer under each of them to get the correct height but it put the servo in the perfect place for use with a Kimbrough servo saver. No shimming required.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 04:27 PM   #2567
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BagofSkill View Post
It did come with 4 plastic and 2 steel spool outdrives though. I tried plastic first and stripped one (I race indoors carpet) but the current pair seem to be lasting ok!
I just picked up a V2 spool and alloy outdrives. Anyone know how the blades will last up front running 10.5 on asphalt?
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 06:58 PM   #2568
Regional Moderator
 
mrrcguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jonesboro Akansas
Posts: 3,157
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
I just picked up a V2 spool and alloy outdrives. Anyone know how the blades will last up front running 10.5 on asphalt?
As long as you dont try to run the front track width to narrow you should not have any issues with the V2/Spool/Blades.

All Photon owners should make certain that they are running the V2 spool. The V2 is 100% better that the original spools.

Last edited by mrrcguy; 10-29-2009 at 10:49 AM.
mrrcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 07:57 PM   #2569
Tech Elite
 
odpurple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,192
Default

The Version 2 Spool is made of harder material and the screw hole is smaller so it works a lot better than the original. Only the interim V2 spools that were supplied to TOP USA before production began have the silver marks on them (I know cuz I put em there) The current production V2 Spools are the same part number as the original ones but say "Spool Set Ver 2" on the header card
odpurple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 07:59 PM   #2570
Tech Master
 
smoke81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,224
Send a message via AIM to smoke81 Send a message via Yahoo to smoke81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
I just picked up a V2 spool and alloy outdrives. Anyone know how the blades will last up front running 10.5 on asphalt?
I've been running mine since IIC on a crazy tight small carpet track atleast twice a week (13.5). Haven't lost a blade yet.
__________________
Dustin Layne
smoke81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:49 PM   #2571
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: All 48 states...
Posts: 2,053
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smoke81 View Post
I've been running mine since IIC on a crazy tight small carpet track atleast twice a week (13.5). Haven't lost a blade yet.

You actually have to go fast first.....
__________________
Schuurspeed / Aero-model / Gear One / LG1
www.OHRCR.com
Gitsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:54 PM   #2572
Tech Master
 
smoke81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,224
Send a message via AIM to smoke81 Send a message via Yahoo to smoke81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gitsum View Post
You actually have to go fast first.....
That problems been fixed :P The car has been great!
__________________
Dustin Layne
smoke81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:58 PM   #2573
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: All 48 states...
Posts: 2,053
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smoke81 View Post
That problems been fixed :P The car has been great!

Don't think the problem was the car but maybe the nut behind the wheel....lol!
__________________
Schuurspeed / Aero-model / Gear One / LG1
www.OHRCR.com
Gitsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 10:02 PM   #2574
Tech Elite
 
DENNIS STORTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Horsham
Posts: 2,400
Trader Rating: 42 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to DENNIS STORTI
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amnesia View Post
Anyone know if there are alloy servo mounts in the pipeline ?

I managed to strip the standard plastic ones in a collision and I am finding it tricky to get some replacements

Alloy ones with two mounting holes (like the Xray ones) would be good - need to be offset a bit though so that a servo saver can be used.
i modded mine with xray mounts drilled and counter sunk the chassis for xray mounts behind the servo
the pics are posted a few pages back
DENNIS STORTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 01:05 AM   #2575
Tech Adept
 
amnesia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
I used two of the alloy motor plate supports TRP-TC-PCH014RD to hold the servo in place. I had to place one washer under each of them to get the correct height but it put the servo in the perfect place for use with a Kimbrough servo saver. No shimming required.
Cheers !


There were no silver marks on my v2 spool either... got a TiR one now, so no need to worry anyway
__________________
.-= T.O.P. Photon =-.

Titanium Racing (Team TR Driver) / Tekin RS Pro / Novak Ballistic 13.5t / Spektrum

www.titaniumracing.com
amnesia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 10:50 AM   #2576
Regional Moderator
 
mrrcguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jonesboro Akansas
Posts: 3,157
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amnesia View Post
Cheers !


There were no silver marks on my v2 spool either... got a TiR one now, so no need to worry anyway
The comment about the silver paint was an error on my part. I have edited that post .
mrrcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 05:47 PM   #2577
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DENNIS STORTI View Post
i modded mine with xray mounts drilled and counter sunk the chassis for xray mounts behind the servo
the pics are posted a few pages back
Do you have image without the servo so I can see where the new holes are drilled? Thanks.
cvccsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 07:59 PM   #2578
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,436
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
I just picked up a V2 spool and alloy outdrives. Anyone know how the blades will last up front running 10.5 on asphalt?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
Don't need use blade !
What about the alloy spool outdrives? Do you need to use a blade with those?
__________________
SMOKEM --- XPRESS --- MONTECH --- SRT
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 08:17 PM   #2579
Regional Moderator
 
mrrcguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jonesboro Akansas
Posts: 3,157
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veecee View Post
What about the alloy spool outdrives? Do you need to use a blade with those?
With the aluminum (red anodized) outdrives you will use blades. With the steel (gray in color) no blades are needed.
mrrcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 09:16 PM   #2580
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,436
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Thanks!
__________________
SMOKEM --- XPRESS --- MONTECH --- SRT
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:22 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net