R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2009, 09:30 AM   #2446
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: All 48 states...
Posts: 2,053
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrrcguy View Post
I can do that. This was an asphalt race though so I dont know how many people will find them handy coming into rug season.
True...but I for one am notoriuos for "Right click save as". I keep every setup I find to try at some point and time. Then I just delete the ones that don't help me much at all. Where in Memphis is this track or racing. I am there all the time and always have my gear just can't seem to find the racing lol. Give me a ring and congrats on the wins!!!
__________________
Schuurspeed / Aero-model / Gear One / LG1
www.OHRCR.com
Gitsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 11:09 AM   #2447
Regional Moderator
 
mrrcguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jonesboro Akansas
Posts: 3,157
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gitsum View Post
True...but I for one am notoriuos for "Right click save as". I keep every setup I find to try at some point and time. Then I just delete the ones that don't help me much at all. Where in Memphis is this track or racing. I am there all the time and always have my gear just can't seem to find the racing lol. Give me a ring and congrats on the wins!!!
PM me your number I think I lost it.

Here is all the Memphis racing info http://www.rctech.net/forum/msra-memphis-tn-35/
mrrcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 03:08 PM   #2448
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,771
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

Ok here is the setup I have been working on for Med High/High bite carpet with rubber tires. We have run it with mostly Jaco Blues, but also with Sorex and Rp30s. It has worked well with all of them but the latter 2 were a little faster due to increased traction on all 4 corners of the car.

We are all running the Foam 2.5 lipo chassis and the medium rubber topdeck. I'm running the standard rubber wings.

I have also been playing around with swaybars and springs mostly now depending on the traction levels. Some of the guys are running the 1.4 or 1.2 bar and 393 springs up front and 289 springs in the rear with no swaybar.

I like my car a little more aggressive so I have been running the 367 front springs and 307 rear springs and usually no swaybars at all.

This week traction was super high and the front of the car was rolling alot and I tried raising the front roll center to Med blocks, high position. It helped some smooth the car out but didnt seem to improve laptimes.

I would try starting with the setup I have posted here and work from there depending on what your car is doing. Also start with half the front tire sauced and do more or less depending on how you want the car to feel. We have been using Jack the gripper at our track.

Sorry about the ghetto setup sheet I dont have adobe to save the editable setup sheet so this is what you get lol.

If anyone has any questions post them here or PM me.

This setup has been working well for everyone at our track with a top car. A top car has won every week in both rubber classes since we opened our track.
Attached Thumbnails
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-p1010038.jpg   T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-p1010039.jpg   T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-p1010041.jpg  
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 04:00 PM   #2449
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Larry, what is your rear upper hub position?
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 04:01 PM   #2450
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,771
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

The inside hole.
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 04:07 PM   #2451
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace View Post
The inside hole.
I thought you prefered single hole only options, Ghei?
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- P1 BRAND -- TUNING HAUS -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 06:42 PM   #2452
Tech Elite
 
DENNIS STORTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Horsham
Posts: 2,400
Trader Rating: 42 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to DENNIS STORTI
Default

well guys since i have lost a few servo cases i modded the chassis for xray servo mounts noone seems to have the problem i have but it shouldn't be an issue now
Attached Thumbnails
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-100_1127.jpg  
DENNIS STORTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 06:55 PM   #2453
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: All 48 states...
Posts: 2,053
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Very nice! Did you use existing holes or made your own. Pics from the bottom?
__________________
Schuurspeed / Aero-model / Gear One / LG1
www.OHRCR.com
Gitsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 07:51 PM   #2454
Tech Elite
 
DENNIS STORTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Horsham
Posts: 2,400
Trader Rating: 42 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to DENNIS STORTI
Default

no i made a template and drilled new holes there is none out there.

i slotted the rear hole and i am going to slot the countersink also so as to be able to use a different servo if needed
DENNIS STORTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 11:18 AM   #2455
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California USA
Posts: 76
Thumbs up Top Racing Photon Ceramic bearings

Hey guys we just released the Top Racing Photon Ceramic bearings...We have the rubber spec and foam spec versions in stock and on sale for $85.99 with FREE shipping worldwide.
Thanks!
ACER Racing
__________________
ACER Racing: the Fastest, Smoothest, Lightest & HARDEST BALLS in the INDUSTRY.

Last edited by acerracing; 10-14-2009 at 09:24 PM. Reason: typo
acerracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:11 PM   #2456
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

checkout this link

Ebay @ Top Photon Spool
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 06:48 AM   #2457
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I use the BMI servo mounts, I cut off the angle part abd trim 1 side and it fits very nice...

http://www.bmiracing.com/webstore/ca...92abd8bcf9d727
Attached Thumbnails
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car-db1060.jpg  
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 06:49 AM   #2458
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
checkout this link

Ebay @ Top Photon Spool
Just curious, but if you designed a spool specifically for the Photon, why did you require it to use a Yokomo pulley?
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 11:20 AM   #2459
Tech Regular
 
Team STPN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Roseville, Cal
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Just curious, but if you designed a spool specifically for the Photon, why did you require it to use a Yokomo pulley?
Makes you want to go hummmmm
Team STPN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 11:30 AM   #2460
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,517
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Just curious, but if you designed a spool specifically for the Photon, why did you require it to use a Yokomo pulley?
Probably because the Photon spool come as a one piece unit. There's no seperate spool pulley that I'm aware of. The Yok pulley has the same teeth as the Photon
DOTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:39 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net