R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2009, 01:48 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 3,835
Questions?? Can 6V Servo's take 7.4V

Can 6V servo's for 1/10 and 1/12 cars take 7.4V without going pop?

Thanks
Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'15, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2015
Associated RC10R5
Model Cars Reading
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 03:16 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

I run a futaba 9550 and a bls 451 (both rated at 6v) with lipo (7.4) without any issues.

I'm not sure so on the 12th scale servos that i have though (9602/9650)
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 06:55 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
the catman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default 7.4 servo

your servo gets its power from your receiver which in return has its power from your ESC. which is connected to your battery .The esc gives your receiver the correct power rating of 6 volts which inturn supplies your servo of 6 volts. The 7.4 volts is for your motor.
the catman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 07:13 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
portyansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,692
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the catman View Post
your servo gets its power from your receiver which in return has its power from your ESC. which is connected to your battery .The esc gives your receiver the correct power rating of 6 volts which inturn supplies your servo of 6 volts. The 7.4 volts is for your motor.
Agreed.
portyansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 07:32 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Why did youi post this twice?

Are you looking for something you want to hear?
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 07:44 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

therefore the answer ot the question is...no, you cannot run 7.4 volts into a servo that rated for 6v. i think jr just came out with a 200 dollar servo that is rated for 7.4 volts, the only way the 7.4 volts will be supplied to the servo is if the 7.4 volt pack is directly to the rx. this is typical of the lipo rx packs for running nitro. if your using an esc, chances are your only supplying 6v to your rx and servos. therefor would not be able to use the 7.4 volt servos. unless you have a voltage boost in between the esc and rx.



i think!!!!
comedyman809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 08:04 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 3,886
Default

You can buy a voltage regulator from Novak to drop the 7.4 volts from a lipo rx pack down to 6v for the servos. Some KO servos are rated for 7.2v however.
__________________
Mike McIntyre

Awesome Hat Tricks
Ho-B Max
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 01:40 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
heretic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: europe
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
Some KO servos are rated for 7.2v however.
yes, and they have a supplementary ( blue ) tiny wire to solder to the " + " of the battery. You have to use a 4.7 picofarad bobin ( or is it micro farad ? anyway it is given with the servo) on this wire between the servo and the ESC/battery.

One tip I was given but have never tried, is to " hotwire " a slow and cheap servo (Futaba 3003, etc...) by plugging the red wire from the servo on the battery "+" instead of the receiver. It works great (more torque and speed) but its seems that it shortens the lifespan of the servo. With a 8$ servo, nobody cares, though.
heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 02:11 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 3,835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_main_attendee View Post
Why did youi post this twice?

Are you looking for something you want to hear?
Whoop's.

Sorry, I must have had a 'blonde' moment.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'15, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2015
Associated RC10R5
Model Cars Reading
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 05:16 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
I run a futaba 9550 and a bls 451 (both rated at 6v) with lipo (7.4) without any issues.

I'm not sure so on the 12th scale servos that i have though (9602/9650)
Can you tell me how do you wire your BLS451 servo to run at 7.4 volt? Does that make the servo noticeably quicker?
billythekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 06:09 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the catman View Post
your servo gets its power from your receiver which in return has its power from your ESC. which is connected to your battery .The esc gives your receiver the correct power rating of 6 volts which inturn supplies your servo of 6 volts. The 7.4 volts is for your motor.
Not always so, but usually. Some ESCs do not have an internal BEC circuit, and if the receiver doesn't either your servo will see the full pack voltage unless you use a receiver pack.

The Tamiya TEU-101BK ESC that comes with many of their kits is like this. I ran it for a long time with an inexpensive Futaba servo and never had a problem.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 06:18 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
MAD916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Center Seca
Posts: 3,071
Default

We have ran 7.4plus volt's to our throtle and front brake standard size servos and also the steering jumbo servo from KO and Hitec in our 5th scales for years without any problems that we can see.

this is with all diffent brands from JR, KO, Aitronis, and probably Futaba.

we ran 6 cell reciver packs before going to 7.4v lipo.

I have lost a servo or two over the years but have to think it was not the voltage. we have abbused them with (3) team cars, and know that the 5th scale work the hell out of the servo.


Best way to speed or torque up a servo, you'd be blown away how much faster and stronger they are.
__________________
Timezone Raceway Park " on-road outdoor european style road course.
Timezone II 60'x100' indoor carpet track. Host of the ROAR 2011 Carpet Nat's.
Timezonehobbies.com your new source for online RC products.
MAD916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 03:58 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
chicky03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,804
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to chicky03
Default

I've been doing it on my 9650 for a few years and not had a problem. I have heard other brands having problems with it though.

Paul
__________________
Serpent America, Novarossi, Blitz Bodies, Team Titan, Desoto Racing, LRP, Reedy, Byron's Original, Futaba, IRS, Race AKA, Clockwork Racing Engines, PT RC Racing Oils, TQ Wire(best wire ever!), BSR tires, Arrowmax, Xceed
chicky03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 04:06 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,271
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Is'nt there FET servo's rated at 7.2v? I Thought some ESC's had a little red wire coming out of the case to hook up the FET servo to full battery power?
__________________
*TRF417v5* TC6.1 Worlds* RM-01* F104v2*
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 05:43 AM   #15
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Just use a LiPo Receiver Voltage Regulator and be done with it.

Novak has a few choices:

http://www.teamnovak.com/products/BEC/index.html

And Losi has one too:

http://www.losi.com/Products/Feature...rodId=LOSB9608

The Losi weighs slightly more than the Novak, but if you remove the switch and extra wire from the Losi, it weighs only 5-grams, less than the Novak, but you don't get a switch. The Novak units are smaller, but are a little busy with 6-wires hanging out on one end, but is probably a better choice in the end if you don't mind paying at least 50% more for the Novak unit. I have been using the Losi regulator's in my 1s LiPo 1/12 and WGT cars with a 150mah LiPo Receiver battery. The Losi using are just the right size to go on top of the Servo.
__________________
KSN
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19920 04-03-2013 08:30 AM
The Big Locked Thread donitaROSE Manila Racers 80225 01-27-2013 09:26 AM
Li-po in a Nitro? Shaun P Electric Off-Road 17 04-13-2006 06:08 PM


All times are GMT -8. It is currently 05:34 PM.



SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0