R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2009, 10:05 AM   #226
Tech Fanatic
 
fordmike65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: LOS ANGELES. CA
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bodywerx_rc View Post
I got my body all cut out last night and I will be painting soon.

I have bought ABC bodies in the past. I would pay the price for them over Tamiya now. You get the headlight buckets as a bonus.

I use the alcad chrome, and I love it. I have heard the Spaz-stix really stinks.(but good product)
X2 on the detail & LED buckets!! I have used the Spaz-stix with a brush as well for small detail work. It takes a few applications though 'cuz it doesn't stick too well.In the end it is awesome.
fordmike65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 10:22 AM   #227
Tech Regular
 
freeway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdm510 View Post
the only thing i dont like about the ABC bodys is for the price you would think they would have detail chrome bumpers like the Hpi kit... and not the lexan ones you have to paint (btw anyone know whats best to use to try and make the lexan look chrome???)



And some one answer me this how dose that grille go together on the 510??? i still not have even touched my ABC (bre 510) body cuz its pretty much got me freaked out any one know where to get some instructions in USDM writing not JDM
the grill would use double sided tape imo, been looking at it yesterday trying to cipher the instructions vs the 3 pieces included in the pack. i think you set it up either circuit style or street, ill see how it goes together and post it up, need to do the electronics.


freeway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 10:28 AM   #228
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,914
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JS View Post
Has anyone figured out how to (easily) adjust the front camber settings?
I contacted HPI and they said that you have to take out the ball end from the upper arm and insert washers to adjust the camber.
It will be difficult to make adjustments while you are on the track with this setup....

Obviously it's was designed to be more durable and easier to keep aligned which is way more important any way.


Soooo glad there are no purple anodized parts.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 10:56 AM   #229
JS
Tech Master
 
JS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,106
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
Obviously it's was designed to be more durable and easier to keep aligned which is way more important any way.


Soooo glad there are no purple anodized parts.
That's true, MikeR.
Come to think of it, after dialing in the suspension you will rarely make any more adjustments.
I still have to install the ESC and Radio. Can't wait to get it out on the track...
JS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 01:07 PM   #230
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeway View Post
the grill would use double sided tape imo, been looking at it yesterday trying to cipher the instructions vs the 3 pieces included in the pack. i think you set it up either circuit style or street, ill see how it goes together and post it up, need to do the electronics

besure to take pics of the process...

yeah the light buckets are cool.... but dose that make up for the FAT mold lines that run threw the (510) body???????

idk when i opend my ABC kit i was pretty disopointed....


i hope i dont feel the same when my HPI kit gets here
Jdm510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 01:50 PM   #231
Tech Initiate
 
rai913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay area
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What size is the battery compartments? Are we limited to 3200 lipos? Will a 5000 hardcase lipo fit? Dimensions 24.5mm x 47mm x 136mm

thanks in advance

Ryan
rai913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 05:00 PM   #232
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Default Abc bodys on cup racer

Abc bodys on cup racer

if you got it post it
Jdm510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 08:37 PM   #233
Tech Regular
 
Chiefy 707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rai913 View Post
What size is the battery compartments? Are we limited to 3200 lipos? Will a 5000 hardcase lipo fit? Dimensions 24.5mm x 47mm x 136mm

thanks in advance

Ryan
I replied on the RC tech forums but your larger lipo battery should fit. You just dont use the cage or the cradle for mounting larger lipos.
__________________
"It looks like a [insert car here]. It's just another [insert car here] clone!"
"Why did [insert manufacturer here] go with such a radical design? [insert manufacturer here] needs to stick with what works!" Shhhh, please.

HB/LRP/KO Propo/Protek/Associated/Tekno
Chiefy 707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 09:28 PM   #234
Tech Regular
 
freeway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdm510 View Post
Abc bodys on cup racer

if you got it post it
heres the ABC TE27 levin got bored waiting so i just painted it up, fits perfect need to do the stickerupper to make it look fast/LOL





freeway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 02:06 AM   #235
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Was building a Cup Racer and am very disappointed ... large binding poiint in the front gearbox

And the rear crown gear sitting on a single bearing wobbles causing more binding.

This kit looks about as bad as the Switch. The Switch has serious binding issues as well
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 02:25 AM   #236
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post

And the rear crown gear sitting on a single bearing wobbles causing more binding.

This want be a prob once the motor plate is installed? shouldnt have any issues
addicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 09:43 AM   #237
Tech Master
 
Big Daddy Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Makati, Philippines
Posts: 1,725
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Big Daddy Cool
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiefy 707 View Post
I replied on the RC tech forums but your larger lipo battery should fit. You just dont use the cage or the cradle for mounting larger lipos.

That's right! For larger lipos, see attached pic for mounting. Make sure to file and CA the fiberglass parts where the tapes rub through. There is still a lot of space for larger capacity packs. I installed an Orion 3600 lipo and the battery slot can still accommodate much thicker (higher capacity) lipos as long as the overall length pf the pack is nearly the same.
Attached Thumbnails
HPI Cup Racer 1M-cupracer02.jpg   HPI Cup Racer 1M-cupracer01.jpg  
Big Daddy Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 06:08 PM   #238
Tech Regular
 
freeway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

a orion 5000mah hardcase lipo fit , i like how HPI included the different battery holder options and this particular one is attached by screws and locknuts. dont mind the wiring and masking tape since its just a rush install so i could run it today, will be going back to clean up the wiring and cut the body post. so far i like how its behaving with the 4600kv motor on stock gearing.





freeway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 10:54 PM   #239
Tech Initiate
 
rai913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay area
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for all the pics with batteries. I'll be picking mine up tomorrow (hope they still have it in stock). I just wanted to be sure i could fit all my batts. Any build recommendations or tips?

Ryan
rai913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 10:58 PM   #240
Tech Regular
 
freeway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

^^^ had a tough time doing the shocks due to the tiny e clips for the shafts, aside from that its good.
freeway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya TRF415 JDM_DOHC_SiR Electric On-Road 21094 03-10-2016 12:02 PM
The Future of RC Racing (Your Opinions) rccarracer15 Nitro Off-Road 103 06-10-2011 10:25 PM
Bodies for sale, new, used & painted coastaltony R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 68 01-02-2007 04:45 PM
Belt Driven vs. Shaft Driven Allen Sondej Electric On-Road 69 11-05-2004 08:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:51 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0