Like Tree3Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Old 03-01-2007, 04:08 AM
Tech Apprentice

Originally Posted by Stein Tumert
You find them all here http://www.tamiyashop.ch/index.php?c...=3&cPath=10_12

Good prices too!
But they don't/won't deliver to UK addresses (in checkout you cannot get beyond the first step with a UK address), and so far they have not responded to my query about this.
Old 03-01-2007, 05:40 AM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by tbeardmore
I need your help guy's. I've been running a 415 MSX MRE now for about 3 months now. I've been running on Carpet w/ Rubber tires and a front Spool.

It seems like I just can't get the diff. right and I'm frustrated with it.

It seems to be wearing out the thrust bearing abnormally fast. I try not to over tighten it, but it always feels like it's too loose and makes a sound like it's slipping. Could it be the belt slipping? (SCREEEEECH)

I've rebuilt the diff using ceramic balls, resurfaced the diff rings, replaced the screw and the the lock nut. I've tried lock tight.... but I keep having the same problem.

Any tips of input on how to fix the problem I having would really be appreciated.

THANKS!
check the manual for the diff build,,there is a shim that goes between the diff bearings,,make sure it is there
Old 03-01-2007, 10:47 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Originally Posted by sim600
What kind of grease did you put in the thrust bearings? I think they need to be pretty thick. I use Tamiya Anti-Wear grease in mine. Not sure about others.
That's what I use.
Old 03-01-2007, 10:47 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Originally Posted by LBSR415
check the manual for the diff build,,there is a shim that goes between the diff bearings,,make sure it is there

Yup! It's in there....
Old 03-01-2007, 11:37 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

I'd try replacing the little nut in the diff half. That might have worn out. What diff grease do you use?

Charles
Old 03-01-2007, 12:07 PM
Tech Master