R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2009, 09:09 PM   #301
Tech Master
 
Mark506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 1,085
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Hey, to be honest with you, I don't remember the manufacturer of the tray. Perhaps somebody else could chime in. As far as the placement of the battery, it can be brought a little closer to center.

Below is how the LiPo would normally appear


Im pretty sure Specialized RC makes it, which is a brand of Corally. Here is link of it:
http://www.corallyusa.com/istar.asp?a=6&id=SRC79867!SRC
__________________
Mark Ament

l MOMO USA l OZ Racing l Willwood Brakes | Dunlop Tires |

The Raceway at Beaver: Forever In Blue Jeans
Mark506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 09:21 PM   #302
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
Just a word of caution. My MTR PT didn't like being stood upright. It was very picky about it's location.
Good thing I don't have a MTR transponder.

I haven't heard of any other issues with the transponder being on its side so since it's already installed, I will see how things go and make adjustments from there if necessary.
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 09:23 PM   #303
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark506 View Post
Im pretty sure Specialized RC makes it, which is a brand of Corally. Here is link of it:
http://www.corallyusa.com/istar.asp?a=6&id=SRC79867!SRC
Yep, it's Specialized. To keep the LiPo from moving inside of the tray, I use Dubro adhesive backed foam strips.
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 10:37 PM   #304
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Questions??

My question is how to make the servo wire and the switch wire short.

And are these any good?
If they are good, any tips on soldering wire on them? TIA.

Last edited by edhchoe; 03-07-2009 at 10:48 PM.
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 10:45 PM   #305
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
My question is how to make the servo wire and the switch wire short.
Well, you have a couple of options.

First, you can cut the wire and then crimp the receiver male plugs onto each indivisual wire, or, you can dissasemble the certain electronic unit and directly solder the leads to the PC board after they are cut, of course.
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 10:56 PM   #306
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_main_attendee View Post
Well, you have a couple of options.

First, you can cut the wire and then crimp the receiver male plugs onto each indivisual wire, ...
Do you use the existing plug and pull the tips out somehow or do you buy new ones?
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:00 PM   #307
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
Do you use the existing plug and pull the tips out somehow or do you buy new ones?
You can do either,

its easiest to take the existing plug and gently "pry" at the plastic area below the shown metal "tip", you can do so easily with an x-acto or a small flathead screw driver. This plastic tab keeps the tip from sliding out of the plug, when it is lifted, a gentle pull on the indivisual wire will realese the metal pin from the plastic.



Its kinda hard to explain, but in this pic you can clearly see the "tabs" and below them the gold plated "pins"
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:04 PM   #308
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Here are pics of my TC5 that I just finished.

The servo and transponder wires have been modified. The esc wire has not been modified. The sensor cable is 70mm in length.
WOW. Companies should hire you to put electronics on their cars for photo shoots! that is truly superb!!
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:04 PM   #309
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_main_attendee View Post
You can do either,

its easiest to take the existing plug and gently "pry" at the plastic area below the shown metal "tip", you can do so easily with an x-acto or a small flathead screw driver. This plastic tab keeps the tip from sliding out of the plug, when it is lifted, a gentle pull on the indivisual wire will realese the metal pin from the plastic.
And then you pry the metal thing to get the wires out...
Thanks!
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:05 PM   #310
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
And then you pry the metal thing to get the wires out...
Thanks!
Yes sir!

No problemo.
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:10 PM   #311
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

I did mine by cutting the wire near the servo to shorten. I then reattached and placed heat shrink around the individual wires and the used heat shrink around all of the wires. I tried to shorten using additional hardware but I couldn't ever install it properly.
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 07:22 AM   #312
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Good thing I don't have a MTR transponder.

I haven't heard of any other issues with the transponder being on its side so since it's already installed, I will see how things go and make adjustments from there if necessary.
Sorry about the typo, MRT. It could be the bridge location relative to where it's installed. I just know it was an issue for me so if you miss the occassional lap something to think about. Just trying to help.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 09:54 PM   #313
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,333
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default One of my TC

Here is one of my TC.

Last edited by Johnny Wishbone; 09-24-2011 at 09:39 AM.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 10:39 PM   #314
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

When you unplug Deans plugs, do you hold the plugs or the wires?
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 01:11 AM   #315
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Just needs two wires of the battery and thats all



prinsdrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan kentech Electric On-Road 11396 03-16-2017 06:06 AM
Tamiya TA05 IFS rcforum Electric On-Road 1132 12-18-2014 05:19 AM
SMC 4000/25C/3.7V single cell Hardcase pack. Danny/SMC Electric On-Road 1022 03-10-2010 07:56 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net