R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2012, 07:50 AM   #1771
Tech Regular
 
Suteki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toowoomba AUS
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_hfuhuhurr View Post
Buy them here:
http://www.tqracing.com/rc_products.htm

Best wire ever!
Ok, this makes far more sense. I take it sensor cables are universal then. Ie. Those cable will work with my tekin esc and motors with both my rx8 and rs pro?

Also as aboce, seems to make sense to me to directly solder them.
__________________
Losi SCTE - Tekin RX8 / Pro4 4600 / Futaba ***** Mugen MBX6 Eco - Tekin RX8 / T8 1900 / Savox ***** Mugen MBX6TR - Eco / Tekin / Futaba ***** Emaxx - FLM / UE Supermaxx / Tekno hop ups ***** Axial SCX10 Honcho RTR (stock) ***** Losi 5ive T - Futaba / VRC / Rooster Tail 30.5cc / SNR
Suteki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:14 AM   #1772
Super Moderator
 
Slo_E4's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,108
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Ok, So which servo is that?
It looks trick, so gonna do that with my next install... already hitting up TQ for wire!!
I'm wondering the same. How you get that strip shiny?
__________________
.
Slo_E4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 10:11 AM   #1773
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,063
Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Default

where can you buy new servo connectors you can crimp your self the tiny ones, in the front
zaraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:05 PM   #1774
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wollongong Australia
Posts: 204
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I have never bothered to shorten a sensor wire - I just buy the length that I want (http://www.tqracing.com/sensor.htm)

As for the servo wires - I do shorten these but I normally shorten them from the servo end by opening the case, unsoldering the wire, cutting it to length and then soldering it back on. A little bit fiddly

Option 2 would be to shorten the wire from the connector end. To do this you need these: http://www.rc-mushroom.com/product_i...e-male-p-20166

Option 3 is to purchase a complete new servo wire (http://www.tqracing.com/TQ_2218_800x600.jpg) and then solder this to your servo after cutting to length.

There are some great examples in this forum of clean efficient wiring. Good work all.

Simon
Team_Krusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:38 PM   #1775
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,790
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Ok, So which servo is that?
It looks trick, so gonna do that with my next install... already hitting up TQ for wire!!
Its a futaba 9551. I just re routed the wires out the other end of the servo so they don't have to hang off the chassis.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slo_E4 View Post
I'm wondering the same. How you get that strip shiny?
Some nice black vinyl, and a sharp exacto blade to cut it to fit. Only issue with it is its a finger print magnet lol.
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 05:30 AM   #1776
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,234
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Cheers for that, I'm deffiently going to give that a shot with the Savox when my TQ order turns up.

Anyway, latest install at the moment... waiting on a few more bits to arrive, but I am digging the red motor wire, matches the batt good (and only reason I used it was had run out of black!!)

Fan wire needs tidying up, but difficult to route... any ideas? Otherwise, ESC wire needs lengthening to allow better routing, but given it's a HW V3, once it's in the Rx, never needs to come out again as all programming is done via the front port! And the inbuilt switch (with back lit LED) is pimp!

Ed
Attached Thumbnails
Inspire us.  Show me your BEST, CLEANEST electronics installation pics.-a700_v3_install.jpg  
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |

Last edited by TryHard; 03-06-2012 at 05:31 AM. Reason: helps to attach the pictures!
TryHard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 06:33 AM   #1777
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Cheers for that, I'm deffiently going to give that a shot with the Savox when my TQ order turns up.

Anyway, latest install at the moment... waiting on a few more bits to arrive, but I am digging the red motor wire, matches the batt good (and only reason I used it was had run out of black!!)

Fan wire needs tidying up, but difficult to route... any ideas? Otherwise, ESC wire needs lengthening to allow better routing, but given it's a HW V3, once it's in the Rx, never needs to come out again as all programming is done via the front port! And the inbuilt switch (with back lit LED) is pimp!

Ed
if no need to cross the A&C wires from motor to V3, it will be perfect.
mos-leung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 06:54 AM   #1778
Tech Regular
 
Suteki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toowoomba AUS
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team_Krusty View Post
I have never bothered to shorten a sensor wire - I just buy the length that I want (http://www.tqracing.com/sensor.htm)

As for the servo wires - I do shorten these but I normally shorten them from the servo end by opening the case, unsoldering the wire, cutting it to length and then soldering it back on. A little bit fiddly

Option 2 would be to shorten the wire from the connector end. To do this you need these: http://www.rc-mushroom.com/product_i...e-male-p-20166

Option 3 is to purchase a complete new servo wire (http://www.tqracing.com/TQ_2218_800x600.jpg) and then solder this to your servo after cutting to length.

There are some great examples in this forum of clean efficient wiring. Good work all.

Simon
With soldering to the servo directly, how fiddly is this? I was considering soldering a whole new lead to my RX8 esc after it had become pinched so it would look a lot cleaner, but I was worried I could very easily stuff the esc itself. Same with my servo. Are these easy to do / what likely hood is there you'll stuff the entire esc or servo? Would you be better off / safer just cutting out the pinched area and just re-soldering that?

Also noticed since those cables are all black, how do you know which is positive negative?

Lastly, I noticed you can get Futaba / JR / Hitec connections, are these basically all the same? The JR looks basically like a Futaba connection minus the tab, they all work / insert the same yeh?
__________________
Losi SCTE - Tekin RX8 / Pro4 4600 / Futaba ***** Mugen MBX6 Eco - Tekin RX8 / T8 1900 / Savox ***** Mugen MBX6TR - Eco / Tekin / Futaba ***** Emaxx - FLM / UE Supermaxx / Tekno hop ups ***** Axial SCX10 Honcho RTR (stock) ***** Losi 5ive T - Futaba / VRC / Rooster Tail 30.5cc / SNR
Suteki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 07:03 AM   #1779
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,338
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suteki View Post
With soldering to the servo directly, how fiddly is this? I was considering soldering a whole new lead to my RX8 esc after it had become pinched so it would look a lot cleaner, but I was worried I could very easily stuff the esc itself. Same with my servo. Are these easy to do / what likely hood is there you'll stuff the entire esc or servo? Would you be better off / safer just cutting out the pinched area and just re-soldering that?

Also noticed since those cables are all black, how do you know which is positive negative?

Lastly, I noticed you can get Futaba / JR / Hitec connections, are these basically all the same? The JR looks basically like a Futaba connection minus the tab, they all work / insert the same yeh?
You would stuff it I imagine, if you shorted the red and black, just make sure they aren't. It would definitely be easier to go the pin crimp route.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 08:06 AM   #1780
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default


It bugs the hell out of me that the white antanna tube get burned everytime I try to bend it. Need a new method.
__________________
HB hara D8 with Werks b5-----HB D8T with Werks b6
Xray 808e with Losi Bl W/ 5s lipo
Monster gt 8.0 with modded stock engine fully hopped up
4tec electric(first rc ever!)-----TA-05 hopped up and set for drifting
Brenda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 08:51 AM   #1781
Tech Adept
 
samshirley00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wiltshire, England
Posts: 158
Default

dat antenna!
__________________
M chassis racer extraordinaire!
samshirley00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 09:14 AM   #1782
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,365
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

What Method are you useing now?

I use a heat gun on the lowest setting and just get it warm enough to bend and then using a jig I made out of wood slowly bend it into the jig and then slowly back the heat away and let it cool
__________________
______________________________________________
Jason Deadman

I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
jdeadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:29 AM   #1783
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I was using the lighter method. Ill give the heat gun a try. Now I just need to find it!!!
__________________
HB hara D8 with Werks b5-----HB D8T with Werks b6
Xray 808e with Losi Bl W/ 5s lipo
Monster gt 8.0 with modded stock engine fully hopped up
4tec electric(first rc ever!)-----TA-05 hopped up and set for drifting
Brenda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:56 AM   #1784
Tech Master
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default Clear bodies

Some of you guys setups need to driven in clear bodies.... lmao

sick wiring skills...

quick question: i have the 3rd hand jig i got from harbor freight for like 10 bucks best buy ever lol..... how tough is it to solder new black wires to the servo? Aslo what can you do to the sec's wires with out voiding it?
__________________
☆ Daryl Boston | TeamBlackStarRacing |
☆ TLR | Hot Bodies | Hobbywing | Savox | MT4S | AKA | Avid |
☆ TLR 22 2.0 MM | HB D413 | Schumacher K1|
☆ Coral Springs RC Track | Mills Pond RC Track | South Florida|
BlackStarRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 12:57 PM   #1785
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wollongong Australia
Posts: 204
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post

Fan wire needs tidying up, but difficult to route... any ideas? Otherwise, ESC wire needs lengthening to allow better routing, but given it's a HW V3, once it's in the Rx, never needs to come out again as all programming is done via the front port! And the inbuilt switch (with back lit LED) is pimp!

Ed
Hi Ed,

Did you try unscrewing the fan and rotating in 180? Not sure if the A700 has enough room but doing it this way you may be able to run the fan wire under the front of the motor and then return it to the receiver down the centre of the car under the shaft.

Simon
Team_Krusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan kentech Electric On-Road 11398 04-23-2017 07:20 PM
Tamiya TA05 IFS rcforum Electric On-Road 1132 12-18-2014 05:19 AM
SMC 4000/25C/3.7V single cell Hardcase pack. Danny/SMC Electric On-Road 1022 03-10-2010 07:56 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net