Community
Wiki Posts
Search

on road(carpet)

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2003, 06:50 PM
Tech Rookie

Default on road(carpet)

i am new in the world of r/c racing. i got a traxxas rustler from a guy last year to just make it the last part of the season with. i tell people that have been racing longer than i have that i have a traxxas and i get the response that i should have bought a real truck. #1 what is wrong with my truck and #2 what is the best truck to race on carpet? thank you
Old 09-25-2003, 07:14 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)

traxxas is not the best racing truck because of tuning options along with durability. as far as tuning opitons go, you can get a better selection of aftermarket parts suited for the particular type of racing, oval, ect
Old 09-25-2003, 10:00 PM
Tech Addict

mavajo3,

There is nothing wrong with your truck. It's your first one and nobody should be slaggin' you for driving it. Some racers can forget that they started with that (entry level) type of vehicle and comment from where they are now...not what it was like in the begining. Granted...some people can afford to go right for the high-end race level stuff...but it shouldn't matter.

You can still learn a lot with the Rustler. You can take your radio and drop it into a more race-oriented vehicle latter on when you're ready to move up (if you want to).

As far as racing trucks on carpet go...well...there are none. Carpet racing any off road chassis (truck or buggy) will always be a compromise. Trucks ans other off road vehicles have suspensions designed for bumps and jumps. If you want to race on carpet (or asphalt) then you're better off getting a touring car or a pan car (1/12 or 1/10).