R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2004, 11:19 AM   #91
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

F1Junkie: You got PM.

Collins77: Nice to hear that you do well with the Pro2. I'm very happy with mine and I'm doing quite well.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 04:44 PM   #92
Tech Regular
 
F1Junkie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 496
Default

Hey again -

Anyone try doubling up the upper decks for added stiffness? I will be getting some Pro 2s and with the extra parts I may be able to use 2 upper decks.

Anyone try this?

Thanks

Dave
F1Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 04:47 PM   #93
Tech Regular
 
F1Junkie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 496
Default

Hi -

I think I lost the Pro 2 post I had typed.

Basically I was asking if anyone has tried retrofitting the XRay diffs to a Pro 2 - the outdrives accept a 10 x 15 mm bearing on both cars I believe. Anyone try this out? Sounds like a project if the pulleys were able to fit...

Dave
F1Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 07:10 PM   #94
Tech Addict
 
CraigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 512
Default

Whats wrong with the Pro2 diffs?
CraigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 07:18 PM   #95
Tech Regular
 
F1Junkie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 496
Default

Nothing, just possible options...

I noticed that the Xray low ratio pulleys are 32 teeth like the Pro 2s. Once I borrow a friend's XRay diff I will see if it will fit - the possibilities!!!

Dave
F1Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 08:04 PM   #96
Tech Addict
 
CraigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 512
Default

Makes no sense to use xray diffs.
CraigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 04:09 PM   #97
Tech Regular
 
F1Junkie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 496
Default

I was thinking maybe to use the XRay solid spool with the optional 32 tooth pulley - I don't think I'd be the only person to think of this....

Might be a neat idea....

Who knows? It might fit...

Dave
F1Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 12:00 AM   #98
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by F1Junkie
I was thinking maybe to use the XRay solid spool with the optional 32 tooth pulley - I don't think I'd be the only person to think of this....

Might be a neat idea....

Who knows? It might fit...

Dave
Havent heard of anyone, who have tried it. But I suggest you try the Pro2 and see how it performs on the track. Then work with modifications from here, to suits your needs.

But of course, it's nice to play with new things, that's how we learn new tricks. So try and ask for the dimensions of XRay diffs in the XRay thread.

SInce you're getting the cars from the US, where are you located?
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 07:02 AM   #99
Tech Regular
 
F1Junkie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 496
Default

Hi Thomas -

I'm in Canada, eh.....

Dave
F1Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 09:15 PM   #100
Tech Regular
 
F1Junkie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 496
Default

Hi -

Just wanted to let Pro 2 fans know that I took out my Pro 2 for the first time - carpet track with foams. I used a setup I thought would work and after some very minor changes it stuck! At least as good as other cars I've had. It certainly can take more horsepower and I'm excited to try it again!

I have to say also that the car was super quiet....

Pro 2 rocks - hope to kick some modern sedans soon. Proof that HPI had their stuff together when they designed this car...

cheers

Dave
F1Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 12:10 AM   #101
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Congratulations. Both with building your car, and especially hitting the right setup in the first shot.

Last sunday, my trusty Pro2 beated Yoke SD's, TC3's, EvoIII and more in the A-main in our club. Granted, you'll love that feeling !

Recently, HPI have made support here in Denmark even more bad, by moving the import to another country. Longer delivering parts and higher prices will follow

I cant see why BuyHPI dont ship overseas.

So I'll do the die hard with my Pro2. Only "problem" is, it never breaks, so I'll probably never will get a new car
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 06:43 PM   #102
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 675
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

hi guys....i drive a pro4 right now and ill be running on carpet with foams but cant get a diff from nowhere so i might run my pro2 instead.

any good starting setups for foams on carpet?

thanks
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:16 PM   #103
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I recently purchased a pro 2 to race in the upcoming HPI challenge in Austin,Tx ! I should have it by friday, I really cant wait to start setting it up and getting it ready for the race.
stumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 08:23 PM   #104
Tech Regular
 
F1Junkie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 496
Default

Best of luck to you stumper!!!

Hope you do well with it!!!

Dave
F1Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 08:33 PM   #105
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Me too, Im going to be running in the stock class.
stumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net