R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2015, 09:53 AM   #8116
Tech Master
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 1,043
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Did any kits ship out this week from awesomatixusa? Can't wait to start the build!!!!!
__________________
Soap



REFLEXRACING.NET * TEXASEOS.NET * YOKOMO
b20btec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 10:44 AM   #8117
Tech Regular
 
WesRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b20btec View Post
Did any kits ship out this week from awesomatixusa? Can't wait to start the build!!!!!
Glad I'm not the only one anxiously awaiting like a little kid

It looks like my L2 has been delayed a little bit, and I'm considering upgrading to the Evo 2 instead. Anyone mind chiming in with the fundamental difference between the Evo and L cars? I found a list of different parts the Evo uses compared to the L, but a list of part numbers doesn't really paint a good picture for a first time buyer.

Cost aside, is there a reason one would want to go with the L2 over an Evo 2?

-Wes
WesRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 10:52 AM   #8118
Tech Master
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 1,043
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WesRaven View Post
Glad I'm not the only one anxiously awaiting like a little kid

It looks like my L2 has been delayed a little bit, and I'm considering upgrading to the Evo 2 instead. Anyone mind chiming in with the fundamental difference between the Evo and L cars? I found a list of different parts the Evo uses compared to the L, but a list of part numbers doesn't really paint a good picture for a first time buyer.

Cost aside, is there a reason one would want to go with the L2 over an Evo 2?

-Wes
I don't have my kits yet but from doing research, main things were,

EVO 2
Aluminum Chassis
FFG1.1

L2
Carbon Chassis
No FFG
__________________
Soap



REFLEXRACING.NET * TEXASEOS.NET * YOKOMO
b20btec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 11:12 AM   #8119
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,741
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
That setup station looks like the integy purple setup station, which the caster doodles also work with
Hey Mike
I have the Integy set up station..the caster noodle didn't work.. If I remember right the caster doodle pointer was a little too high. later I brought the Hudy later
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 11:15 AM   #8120
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Floating gear box?????

I just built two 700l kits and the reason I didn't go with the EVO is because I run VTA and USGT and for those two classes I beleive that the floating gear box is over kill. If I were running 17.5 or mod I would have the EVO. I am getting ready to convert a used roller that I bought to a aluminum chassis car just to see how it feels. I can tell you that at best I was a B MAIN driver with my XRAYS but put both my AWESOMATIX cars in the AMAIN this past weekend!
TWILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 11:16 AM   #8121
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,476
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
Hey Mike
I have the Integy set up station..the caster noodle didn't work...So I brought the Hudy later
Integy has many setup stations. The older ones with the purple blocks works. I think the newer ones do not
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 11:24 AM   #8122
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,741
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
Integy has many setup stations. The older ones with the purple blocks works. I think the newer ones do not
I have the old one ...why are you telling me it does work I have tried it before about since the first A700 came out
I own the set up for more than 5 year..I brought this set up for Tamiya 201 F1
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 11:28 AM   #8123
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,476
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
I have the old one ...why are you telling me it does work I have tried it before about since the first A700 came out
I own the set up for more than 5 year..I brought this set up for Tamiya 201 F1
Because i have seen many people use the purple setup blocks with the doodles just fine
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 11:45 AM   #8124
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,741
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
Because i have seen many people use the purple setup blocks with the doodles just fine
well some how ,I didn't like the way it fit or turn out ,,I know by to comparing the hudy seem to work better in my opinion .. but it is all good
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 12:02 PM   #8125
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,476
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
well some how ,I didn't like the way it fit or turn out ,,I know by to comparing the hudy seem to work better in my opinion .. but it is all good
It is also possible they changed the shape of them at some point and never told anybody, that would be a very integy thing to do. But the hudys are much nicer
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 12:47 PM   #8126
Tech Master
 
kartermdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,120
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WesRaven View Post
Glad I'm not the only one anxiously awaiting like a little kid

It looks like my L2 has been delayed a little bit, and I'm considering upgrading to the Evo 2 instead. Anyone mind chiming in with the fundamental difference between the Evo and L cars? I found a list of different parts the Evo uses compared to the L, but a list of part numbers doesn't really paint a good picture for a first time buyer.

Cost aside, is there a reason one would want to go with the L2 over an Evo 2?

-Wes
If you are ever planning on bolting in more power than a 17.5, I would opt for the evo. I have run an evo and L in 17.5 and noticed no difference. I did run an L at snowbirds in VTA.
__________________
Mark Burt
Thanks to:
TRINITY - Revtech - Awesomatix USA - Side Piece Racing - Roche RC USA - Darkside Motorsports - Genesis R/C Raceway
kartermdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:04 AM   #8127
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default I had the Integy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
well some how ,I didn't like the way it fit or turn out ,,I know by to comparing the hudy seem to work better in my opinion .. but it is all good
I had the Integy setup system and had to remove material from the Caster Doodle to use it with the 700l. I have since purchased the Hudy because it gives a more precise reading than the Integy system. With a Dremel and a little patience it's pretty easy to modify the Caster Doodle to work with Integy system. I bought Integy based on price and then spent $$$$$ AGAIN after I bought my Awesomatx cars.
TWILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 01:58 PM   #8128
Tech Regular
 
WesRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 429
Default

Anyone running a 200mm body on their A700? I'm going to be running my Evo 2 in USGT with a HPI Ford GT body. HPI's website says to use 3mm wheels, but everywhere else online says 6mm which seems to make more sense mathematically.

Exactly how wide is the Evo 2? Unfortunately I don't have my kit quite yet to measure myself, so was hoping someone has experience getting the right wheel for a 200mm GT body.

Last edited by WesRaven; 02-26-2015 at 02:40 PM.
WesRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 02:02 PM   #8129
Tech Master
 
Travis S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 1,372
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WesRaven View Post
Anyone running a 200mm body on their A700? I'm going to be running my Evo 2 in USGT with a HPI Ford GT body. HPI's website says to use 3mm wheels, but everywhere else online says 6mm which seems to make more sense mathematically.

Exactly how wide is the Evo 2? Unfortunately I don't have my kit quite yet to measure myself, so was hoping someone has experience getting the right wheel for a 200mm bodies.
200mm will work just fine. I have used them before. It just doesn't look as good as the 190mm because there will be a bigger fender gap or space between the wheels and the body. Nothing you will see on the track but if you are up close you will. All USVTA bodies are 200mm but the rims are wider so it looks better.
Travis S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 02:38 PM   #8130
Tech Regular
 
WesRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travis S View Post
200mm will work just fine. I have used them before. It just doesn't look as good as the 190mm because there will be a bigger fender gap or space between the wheels and the body. Nothing you will see on the track but if you are up close you will. All USVTA bodies are 200mm but the rims are wider so it looks better.
I understand there will be some gap, which is why I'm wondering what offset of wheel people are running to compensate. I'm probably going with 6mm all the way around, but curious what other people's experience is before I place the order. Thanks guys.
WesRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bendigo..Vic.. On Road Car Club VoneSkip Australian Racing 17215 08-16-2017 11:12 PM
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car keithander Electric On-Road 9064 06-14-2017 12:46 PM
Topeka Onroad Racing Aaron P Kansas/Missouri Racing 10913 01-18-2017 06:05 AM
Touring Car Custom Cut Urethane Chassis Protectors!! Rommel Electric On-Road 220 07-07-2013 09:23 PM
The prototype car is on the winning pace number_one Electric On-Road 163 01-12-2009 10:52 AM


Tags
yokomo


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:15 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net