R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2014, 08:48 PM   #10816
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

http://www.redrc.net/2014/11/alpha-o...t-coming-soon/
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 09:33 PM   #10817
Tech Master
 
NutDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,944
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Well THAT was anti-climatic!
__________________
"Racing makes heroin addiction look like a vague longing for something salty" - Peter Egan

USVTA member #111
NutDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 01:47 AM   #10818
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 73
Default

Anyone tried to fit a Protoform 13 Body on a Serpent F110?
I wonder if you can mount it low enough because of the standup position of the Servo.
Thanks!
__________________
TOP Rebel 12 - Nosram Comet HD - GM Racing 10.5 - nVision - Futaba
Associated B44.3 - Nosram Comet HD - Reedy 7.0 - nVision - Sav÷x - Futaba
M.Boos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 02:15 AM   #10819
Tech Adept
 
spacendeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Voorhout, Netherlands
Posts: 236
Send a message via MSN to spacendeman
Default

Hi M.Boos,

Yes I did!
I did cut the body a little under the line to get it fit nicely and good over the servo. So the body will look lower.
Here are some pictures;





Kind regards,
Tim


Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Boos View Post
Anyone tried to fit a Protoform 13 Body on a Serpent F110?
I wonder if you can mount it low enough because of the standup position of the Servo.
Thanks!
__________________
Currently:
Serpent F110 SF2 with Hobbywing ETS setup.
Serpent S411 Eryx 4.0 with ETS Stock setup
Serpent S411 Eryx 3.0 with ETS Stock setup as rain car.
Serpent S120 LTR with 10.5 blinky mode.
spacendeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 03:04 AM   #10820
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Boos View Post
Anyone tried to fit a Protoform 13 Body on a Serpent F110?
I wonder if you can mount it low enough because of the standup position of the Servo.
Thanks!
Most F1 cars have a stand up servo
__________________
Apex RC
www.apexrc.com - Hawaii's #1 RC Proshop

Share & Like Our Page:https://www.facebook.com/ApexRCProshop
Win free stuff!
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 05:49 AM   #10821
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,195
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Yeah but the PF thirteen body is very low. I had to cut a hole to clear the servo wire.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 05:57 AM   #10822
Tech Adept
 
spacendeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Voorhout, Netherlands
Posts: 236
Send a message via MSN to spacendeman
Default

Depents on how low you cut it. I did not cut the body in the line but lower. There was no need to cut a hole for the servo wire.
__________________
Currently:
Serpent F110 SF2 with Hobbywing ETS setup.
Serpent S411 Eryx 4.0 with ETS Stock setup
Serpent S411 Eryx 3.0 with ETS Stock setup as rain car.
Serpent S120 LTR with 10.5 blinky mode.
spacendeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 05:35 PM   #10823
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Boos View Post
Anyone tried to fit a Protoform 13 Body on a Serpent F110?
I wonder if you can mount it low enough because of the standup position of the Servo.
Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Yeah but the PF thirteen body is very low. I had to cut a hole to clear the servo wire.
You might try mounting the servo Tamiya style instead of the weird servo mount setup the Serpent has.
__________________
Apex RC
www.apexrc.com - Hawaii's #1 RC Proshop

Share & Like Our Page:https://www.facebook.com/ApexRCProshop
Win free stuff!
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 06:22 PM   #10824
Tech Regular
 
SpeedySST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Meeker, CO
Posts: 454
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

After seeing the current trend of turning what was once a simple chassis into a monstrosity of springs, shocks, dampers, etc, I am reconsidering re-entering the world of F1. If I want to tinker with a multitude of complicated adjustments, I think I'll just stick with touring cars.
SpeedySST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 09:22 PM   #10825
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,281
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedySST View Post
After seeing the current trend of turning what was once a simple chassis into a monstrosity of springs, shocks, dampers, etc, I am reconsidering re-entering the world of F1. If I want to tinker with a multitude of complicated adjustments, I think I'll just stick with touring cars.
Please elaborate. Its a pan car. Pan cars went from T bar to side links. Put a setup on it to suit the track and your driving style. Rubber tires can be trying. Other than that, its an old concept.
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 06:16 AM   #10826
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedySST View Post
After seeing the current trend of turning what was once a simple chassis into a monstrosity of springs, shocks, dampers, etc, I am reconsidering re-entering the world of F1. If I want to tinker with a multitude of complicated adjustments, I think I'll just stick with touring cars.
I could kind of agree with your point, but F1 is just evolving, like 1/12 has. Were you referencing the FGX or the new exotek front end? Innovation is better than stagnation, IMHO.

I'm really surprised it took so long to get the dual dampers configured like a 1/12 scale to finally show up in F1 (ala exotek and the new Yokomo).
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 10:25 AM   #10827
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,921
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Yes it's the end of the world as we know it

http://www.redrc.net/2014/12/exotek-...uspension-set/

__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 12:29 PM   #10828
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

I like the look of the new F1 suspension, but it can be done to design a front suspension mount that holds a lower carbon plate to being able to use the droop screws on the F104.
Or design a specific re-shaped part that can only be used on the F104, perhaps as an extra option part.

Something like this


I would buy it inmediately if that becomes available.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 01:13 PM   #10829
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,921
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by addicted2blue View Post
I like the look of the new F1 suspension, but it can be done to design a front suspension mount that holds a lower carbon plate to being able to use the droop screws on the F104.
Or design a specific re-shaped part that can only be used on the F104, perhaps as an extra option part.

Something like this


I would buy it inmediately if that becomes available.
Yes agreed! That is what we will be working on next for Tamiya owners
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 01:35 PM   #10830
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

it's definately a solution for being able to use the droop stop screws, more challenging will be the solution for the servo mount
I'll look forward to it.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya Championship Series Neil Rabara Racing Forum 20798 Today 09:03 PM
TAMIYA F103 RM energyracing Electric On-Road 2342 01-09-2016 02:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:11 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0