Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Getting in to 1/12

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2008, 07:36 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Getting in to 1/12

Im new to carpet i ran 1/18 a little at the local carpet track and i liked it so i thought i get into 1/12. Ive ran dirt for a while and i have decidided to transform all over to carpet.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 10-19-2008, 07:49 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Hey buddy, good choice!

You should really enjoy the level of controlled corner speed and clean gear that comes with carpet racing.

For a 1/12th, I am personally bias for the SpeedMerchant Rev. 5. In general, I think the move to 1/12th is a very good one. A well set up 1/12th is one of the very best ways to really get into carpet.

Probably the best spot of advice that has been echoed many times over is looking at the classes your local track supports the most. Typically, classes are 1/12th, 1/10th Touring Sedan, Pan car, 1/18th or mini's. Regardless of the class, make sure the shop supports the kit you are looking at.

Rubber tire sedan has been picking up more and more interest and larger crowds so if you like the thought of four wheel drive and less maintenance this could be a VERY good class.

If you ARE going to go 1/12th foam, a couple tips:

- cut your tires down: REAR - 1.75 or 1.7 FRONT - 1.65 or 1.6
-- get some help if you are not familiar with cutting down foams. While many people look at a larger foam tire and think, "this will last forever!" It is actually the other way around. A thinner tire will not chunk or rip as much as a larger tire and most importantly, cars handle WAY better with thinner tires. A friend of mine once said, "80% of your car is the tires" it's advice that has served me well.

- put a bead of glue on the rear tires on the joint between the foam and rim