R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 09-23-2003, 07:13 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
Default Need Help Deciding What Car To Get. Any Suggestions?

Hi everybody, im new to rc trucks but have been flying airplanes for 3 years. I need help deciding what RC car to get. I have been doing nitro but want an electric on the side. I'm looking for a 1:10 to a 1:8 on-road 4-wheel drive ELECTRIC car. I dont really want to spend more than $300 total, and i would probably like to go with a prebuilt or kit so i can have more options but still limit the amount of work, and ordering to do... like i said i am new to road-RC. I am interested in Associated, but brands dont matter much as long as i get a high quality race car for racing with my friends ect. Oh yeah, did i mention i want it to be FAST??? If you could recomend a good kit or prebuilt, and what i can do to make it fast, and stronge, but still inexpensive that'd be great. Thanks for your help ahead of time. -PRESTON-

prestonrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 09:02 PM   #2
Tech Elite
Send a message via AIM to ZER01

The only prebuilt electric cars I know of under $300 are the Losi XXX-S RTR(ready-to-run) and the TC3 RTR. Both are quality cars that are FAST! If I was you I would go with the Losi out of the two since it is a little bit stronger than the other. As far as making it go fast and if you won't be racing, check out novak's brushless motor system- you'll get an electronic speed controller and a brushless motor in one package and the motor will last a LONG time(no need to true the comm with a commutator lathe). If you will be racing and mod is the class, check out trinity's machine wound speed gem motors.
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 06:59 AM   #3
Tech Elite
Thumbs up