Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Average mod motor lifetime

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2003, 07:57 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Average mod motor lifetime

Hi, I am new to 1:10 touring and I am interested to get a mod motor like Team Orion Core 12 double. The question now is, how many pack of batteries I can expect to run from those motors? Let suppose I have a Comm lathe and cut the Commutator every 6 packs of battery.
Also, how do I tell if my motor is overheated? say without the help of a heat sensor.

Thanks!

Last edited by discus18; 09-21-2003 at 08:03 AM.
Old 09-21-2003, 08:58 AM
Tech Elite

Motors will last a long time... If your just bashing I wouldn't worry too much, I have 10 year old motors that are still going... Just clean the motor every few packs, change the brushes when they get worn, cleaning the comm isn't a bad idea either... If you are going to race, that's a whole different ballgame... Everyone has their own way of doing things... Can you cut the comm every 3 runs, sure... Can you go a couple of racedays, sure...
Old 09-21-2003, 09:00 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Overheating...

Brushes-
Bad---- Darker copper look on area just behind the brushface (surface that comes in contact with the comm)

Very bad- Greyish look to the brush especially to area just behind the face....

Commutator-
Bad-- dark copper (tarnished look) to the comm.

Very bad- purplish tint to the comm

Wire stacks on the armature-
Bad-- wires have a darker copper (tarnished) look to them than normal.....

Very bad- Wires are burnt and blackened

If your motor shows any of the signs above you will be better off just replacing the armature, springs, and brushes. If you just replace the brushes and have the comm cut chances are very high the motor will overheat agian, once the comm is damaged it can be made to look new, but it will show it's true colors after the first run.......