Wiki Posts
Search

A Quick question

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2008, 10:40 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default A Quick question

I am new to the on road side so forgive my noobishness.

What would be a good car for me to buy to get into the touring class - a car that would be competitive at the beginner level but still offer "room to grow" into some of the higher classes? Definitely don't want to spend my life savings on it, but, say for instance, is the E10 or traxxas car worth a look?

I have only limited experience with off-road electrics and only bashing experience on road, so any tips are appreciated.

As always, guys, thanks in advance for the advice.
Old 09-08-2008, 12:12 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)

Hey. Welcome to onroad racing.

The E10 isnt the best car for anything really. Not the best quality.

A good car to look at would have to be the Tamiya TA05. This is a great car because you can start in one of the Novice classes and work your way up to the stock classes with no problems. The kit starts at around $150US i think. Then you need your radio gear and batteries on top of that.

There are heaps of hopup options on the market for it. Spare parts are pretty easy to get for them too.

Another car i would recommend would be the Hot Bodies Cyclone S, pretty similar price to the TA05, might be a bit more expensive but its a good quality car aswell.

I hope that helps a bit

Tom
Old 09-08-2008, 08:13 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Welcome to the addiction! You might look on this site on the forsale or other sites and maybe try to find something used that come with some parts or something. That way it might help save money. The Tamiya would be okay to start with.
Old 09-08-2008, 08:30 AM
Regional Moderator