R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 06-15-2008, 07:00 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
Default Need TC set up help

As you can tell by my handle I am new to TC set up and I could really use some help.

First what are the pros and cons of balancing out my gearing with a larger pinion vs. a smaller spur?

I will start here and get into more ? later.
New TC Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 07:07 PM   #2
Tech Elite
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

The pros and cons of using a smaller spur vs a bigger pinion is mainly just getting it to mesh on your car. It does not change much performance wise (becides gearing of course). Just use the sizes you need that will mesh and give you your proper gearing.
Awesomatix USA / Middle River Hobbies / Sweep / Psycho Cells Racing
Karl Hoffmeister
KHoff7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 07:07 PM   #3
Tech Master
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

What type of car do you have?
Losi 8ight-T 2.0 Race Roller/Losi 350/JR 9100 Servos/Spektrum DX3R
BMI Copperhead 12/Thunder Power Lipo/Futaba Servo/Express 17.5/Spektrum DX3R
CREWMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 09:55 PM   #4
Tech Rookie

My son runs a Schumacher Mi2 and I run a Mi3. I am also looking into getting Pro 10 cars for both of us. But the immediate need is for the Schumacher cars.

As I see it changing the spur should effect the motor condition. I mean if I lower the spur and leave the pinion the same will I get the same motor temps? Is the motor seeing a different load overall? I am very curious as to why there are so many spur gears. They have to do more than just very the ratio., that can be done with pinions, cant it?
New TC Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 05:34 AM   #5
Tech Regular
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)