R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2009, 06:42 PM   #1126
Tech Addict
 
Timmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beautiful North Carolina!
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DriftWoof View Post
When I install the Front One Way up front, and the Spool in the back do i need to shim? Or just ad the same amount of washers as I have on my Front/Rear Ball diffs?

Just treat it like the I did the ball diff in the directions right?
No, you need to check the free play with what ever diff you run always. When I run a one way in my car I have to change the amount of shims I use versus when I have a spool. You might not even need shims, depends on how the parts you have fit your car. I know it seems to be a pain to do but saves you from getting frustrated with a broken car later. If you change your diffs back and forth a lot you can do what I do. Once I know how many shims I need for a diff, when I am not using it I put it in a small zip lock bag and with a marker write, 2 shims left, 4 shims right etc. on the bag. Then when I want to make a diff change I just make sure the shims are right and drop it in the car. I only use .1 shims so if you use .3 shims you would need to specify how many of those were needed.
__________________
:: Serpent America ::Desoto Racing :: Track Star Racer Services ::Skyrocket Racing::TOP::
Timmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 08:12 PM   #1127
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,039
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmie View Post
No, you need to check the free play with what ever diff you run always. When I run a one way in my car I have to change the amount of shims I use versus when I have a spool. You might not even need shims, depends on how the parts you have fit your car. I know it seems to be a pain to do but saves you from getting frustrated with a broken car later. If you change your diffs back and forth a lot you can do what I do. Once I know how many shims I need for a diff, when I am not using it I put it in a small zip lock bag and with a marker write, 2 shims left, 4 shims right etc. on the bag. Then when I want to make a diff change I just make sure the shims are right and drop it in the car. I only use .1 shims so if you use .3 shims you would need to specify how many of those were needed.
I think I understand. I plan on just sticking the front one way and rear spool in and closing it until it breaks or needs to be clean(could be years since it's sealed?) I have to make sure there is no play and that the gears are meshing correctly? Not too tight though correct? Leave as much play as you would with the motor pinion and spur gear when installing a motor?


EDIT: Also, I wish there was a better way to turnbuckles come off easier. I can get them off but when I do I feel like I am going to rip and arm off or break something since it comes off all of a sudden. If anyone knows any proper techniques for turnbuckles removal please let me know then.

Last edited by DriftWoof; 09-12-2009 at 04:55 AM.
DriftWoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 03:06 PM   #1128
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 403
Default

Not sure this is the right tread...

anyway...

Some of you may already have seen this but for those who don`t have....


enjoy..

http://fastestrc.blogspot.com/2008/0...iya-evo-5.html
MatsNorway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 08:12 PM   #1129
Tech Regular
 
CSaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 332
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Well Damn it! I just got my 46mm swing shafts in and I installed them. They are so long they bind when I get the top link hooked up. I tried also pulling out the cushions in the drive cups with no luck. WTF I read a few pages back that 46mm were the correct shafts? I guess I should have got 44mm?
__________________
TLR 22
Losi SCTE
Blitz Open
Xray T3 RCGT
www.rcmadness.freeforums.org
CSaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 08:57 PM   #1130
Tech Elite
 
Racecrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: RC Mecca
Posts: 4,138
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSaddict View Post
Well Damn it! I just got my 46mm swing shafts in and I installed them. They are so long they bind when I get the top link hooked up. I tried also pulling out the cushions in the drive cups with no luck. WTF I read a few pages back that 46mm were the correct shafts? I guess I should have got 44mm?
??? I have run 46mm shafts all season long with no issues.

How much camber are you running?
__________________
Jimmy Wright

www.trackstarrc.com ~ www.facebook.com/TrackStarRC ~ Home of the 2x's Stock Nationals Champion TS-Gold & TS-Black tire sauce, TS-1+ lubricants, TS-Precision bearings, XRG Xtreme Racing Grease, Scale Auto Engineering, ElevenTech, WRD2, Carbon 12, Stiff Products
Racecrafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 08:59 PM   #1131
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 22
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSaddict View Post
Well Damn it! I just got my 46mm swing shafts in and I installed them. They are so long they bind when I get the top link hooked up. I tried also pulling out the cushions in the drive cups with no luck. WTF I read a few pages back that 46mm were the correct shafts? I guess I should have got 44mm?
yeah u will need the 44mm, i just got them installed and it is soo much better.

The 46 didn't bind on me but it was a tight fit, at which i didn't like it
Ay Way Way is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 09:00 PM   #1132
Tech Regular
 
CSaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 332
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racecrafter View Post
??? I have run 46mm shafts all season long with no issues.

How much camber are you running?
I tried it with NO camber and it still binds. It binds badly and the driveshafts are bottomed out in the cups. I just switched back to the dog bones and its fine. I don't know what to think. The new ones are clearly longer than the dog bone+axle combo I took out.
__________________
TLR 22
Losi SCTE
Blitz Open
Xray T3 RCGT
www.rcmadness.freeforums.org
CSaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 09:45 PM   #1133
Tech Regular
 
Swift and Sleek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: BADBOYS
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default TB03 CENTER ONE WAY

GUYS,

I HAVE FOUND OUT SOMETHING REGARDING MY PROBLEM WITH THE SHAFT BINDING. THERE WAS NO BINDING RIGHT NOW AFTER A LOOK INSIDE THE GEAR CASES. I FOUND OUT TOGETHER WITH SOME OF OUR LOCAL RACERS THAT THE SHIMMING VARRIES WITH THE KIND OF GEAR CASE THAT YOU WILL USE. AS FOR ME I USE A CARBON REINFORCED GEAR CASE FRONT AND REAR. I USED ONLY ONE PIECE OF SHIMMING ON EACH SIDE.

HAVING SAID IM NOW USING A CENTER ONE WAY AND I NOTICE SOMETHING AND I DON'T KNOW IF ITS NORMAL OR NOT. I NOTICED THAT THE PROPELLER JOINT SET REAR GOES UP AND DOWN.

HERE'S A VIDEO ON IT:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FFngmwjx-NA


I AM NOW LEFT WITH THE KNUCKLE ARM MOTION TO NOT BEING STIFF FOR BEING STIFF WILL NOT LET THE SHOCKS DO ITS WORK. HAVE YOU GUYS TRIED SANDING THE KNUCKLE ARM OR USING DIFFERENT SHIMMING FOR THE KNUCKLE ARM TO SWING FREELY.

REFERENCE PICTURE IS ATTACHED
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya TB-03-knuckle-arm.jpg  
__________________
"TEAM BAD BOYS"
FOR THE LOVE OF THE GAME

Last edited by Swift and Sleek; 09-12-2009 at 10:59 PM.
Swift and Sleek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 05:21 AM   #1134
Tech Addict
 
Timmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beautiful North Carolina!
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSaddict View Post
I tried it with NO camber and it still binds. It binds badly and the driveshafts are bottomed out in the cups. I just switched back to the dog bones and its fine. I don't know what to think. The new ones are clearly longer than the dog bone+axle combo I took out.
Sorry to hear of your frustration. What suspension blocks are you using? If you have a variety of the blocks, run c/c or d/d up front and the 46mm axles should clear fine. You could also run the standard length reversible arms to get a little extra width. This will widen the front of your car. Is this binding only on the front or is it on the rear as well?
__________________
:: Serpent America ::Desoto Racing :: Track Star Racer Services ::Skyrocket Racing::TOP::
Timmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 05:24 AM   #1135
Tech Addict
 
Timmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beautiful North Carolina!
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatsNorway View Post
Not sure this is the right tread...

anyway...

Some of you may already have seen this but for those who don`t have....


enjoy..

http://fastestrc.blogspot.com/2008/0...iya-evo-5.html
Wrong thread, same drivetrain, different chassis... but close enough Thanks I did enjoy that....wish I could drive it
__________________
:: Serpent America ::Desoto Racing :: Track Star Racer Services ::Skyrocket Racing::TOP::
Timmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 05:34 AM   #1136
Tech Addict
 
Timmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beautiful North Carolina!
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DriftWoof View Post
I think I understand. I plan on just sticking the front one way and rear spool in and closing it until it breaks or needs to be clean(could be years since it's sealed?) I have to make sure there is no play and that the gears are meshing correctly? Not too tight though correct? Leave as much play as you would with the motor pinion and spur gear when installing a motor?

You pretty much got it You need a little bit of play so that the gears mesh without binding. Too much play and you lower the contact patch and risk breaking the tips of the gears off prematurely. And my reference earlier about spur gear/motor pinion mesh was just a example of how to CHECK the free play, not what the free play should be

EDIT: Also, I wish there was a better way to turnbuckles come off easier. I can get them off but when I do I feel like I am going to rip and arm off or break something since it comes off all of a sudden. If anyone knows any proper techniques for turnbuckles removal please let me know then.
Buy hex headed ballstuds, then use a body reamer or take a hobby knife and cut the tops off your ballcups. Then you can just unscrew the ball stud with camber link attached to do what you need to
__________________
:: Serpent America ::Desoto Racing :: Track Star Racer Services ::Skyrocket Racing::TOP::
Timmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 05:41 AM   #1137
Tech Regular
 
CSaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 332
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmie View Post
Sorry to hear of your frustration. What suspension blocks are you using? If you have a variety of the blocks, run c/c or d/d up front and the 46mm axles should clear fine. You could also run the standard length reversible arms to get a little extra width. This will widen the front of your car. Is this binding only on the front or is it on the rear as well?
Timmie, the kit is box stock (with a front spool added) and assembled per instructions. Are they other suspension blocks in the kit? I will have to take a look. You are refering to the lateral blocks on the bottom that house the arm pins?

If I use D blocks in the front it will make it narrower. I measured and the 1A is the widest set of the bunch. Maybe Im not sure what you are talking about....

I have not tried the swing shafts in the rear. I had the front lose a dog bone the first day I drove it so I figured that would be a good place to start.
__________________
TLR 22
Losi SCTE
Blitz Open
Xray T3 RCGT
www.rcmadness.freeforums.org

Last edited by CSaddict; 09-13-2009 at 05:54 AM.
CSaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 05:44 AM   #1138
Tech Addict
 
Timmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beautiful North Carolina!
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Swift and Sleek;6336062]GUYS,

I HAVE FOUND OUT SOMETHING REGARDING MY PROBLEM WITH THE SHAFT BINDING. THERE WAS NO BINDING RIGHT NOW AFTER A LOOK INSIDE THE GEAR CASES. I FOUND OUT TOGETHER WITH SOME OF OUR LOCAL RACERS THAT THE SHIMMING VARRIES WITH THE KIND OF GEAR CASE THAT YOU WILL USE. AS FOR ME I USE A CARBON REINFORCED GEAR CASE FRONT AND REAR. I USED ONLY ONE PIECE OF SHIMMING ON EACH SIDE.

HAVING SAID IM NOW USING A CENTER ONE WAY AND I NOTICE SOMETHING AND I DON'T KNOW IF ITS NORMAL OR NOT. I NOTICED THAT THE PROPELLER JOINT SET REAR GOES UP AND DOWN.

HERE'S A VIDEO ON IT:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FFngmwjx-NA


I AM NOW LEFT WITH THE KNUCKLE ARM MOTION TO NOT BEING STIFF FOR BEING STIFF WILL NOT LET THE SHOCKS DO ITS WORK. HAVE YOU GUYS TRIED SANDING THE KNUCKLE ARM OR USING DIFFERENT SHIMMING FOR THE KNUCKLE ARM TO SWING FREELY.

REFERENCE PICTURE IS ATTACHED[/QUOTE
Like I said before, you have to check shimming when you change diffs/parts etc to make sure your tolerances have not changed. Its good that you did when you went to the carbon cases, but did you check things out when you put the center one way in? If you shim the center one way correctly, the up and down you are seeing on the prop joint should go away.
Yes, you can do either. I just sand my hub with a fine fingernail file just enough to free things up
__________________
:: Serpent America ::Desoto Racing :: Track Star Racer Services ::Skyrocket Racing::TOP::
Timmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 06:01 AM   #1139
Tech Regular
 
CSaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 332
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

OK Timmie I see what you are talking about with suspension blocks. I have XD left over from the rear. I need D or C blocks to make this work?
__________________
TLR 22
Losi SCTE
Blitz Open
Xray T3 RCGT
www.rcmadness.freeforums.org
CSaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 06:02 AM   #1140
Tech Addict
 
Timmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beautiful North Carolina!
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSaddict View Post
Timmie, the kit is box stock (with a front spool added) and assembled per instructions. Are they other suspension blocks in the kit? I will have to take a look. You are refering to the lateral blocks on the bottom that house the arm pins?

I have not tried the swing shafts in the rear. I had the front lose a dog bone the first day I drove it so I figured that would be a good place to start.
Yes the lateral blocks. Then you have a/a front blocks. No they don't include other blocks in the kit unfortunately. Install the 46mm shafts in the rear and see if they clear ok. The rear uses xa/d so It is a little wider. Worse case scenario if the rears fit, is that you would have to buy a pair off 44mm shafts for the front. Or you could purchase wider front blocks. Buying blocks wouldn't be a bad idea either since they can be used in the rear as well to adjust your rear toe. Let us know how you make out.
__________________
:: Serpent America ::Desoto Racing :: Track Star Racer Services ::Skyrocket Racing::TOP::
Timmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Schumacher Mi2, Tamiya M02, Tamiya TA04-S, Tamiya TB Evolution 3 Surikarn Ltd st_rob Australia For Sale/Trade 4 12-23-2008 07:37 PM
Tamiya 415 MSX, legacy 2.0, NIP Type A tires, Tamiya towel for sale or trade Fastburn R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 09-06-2008 12:45 AM
FS: Tekin Rebel 2 ESC w/ Tamiya GT Tuned Motor & Tamiya AM Radio & Receiver wrxnfx R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 06-10-2008 06:40 PM
Tamiya M03 / Trinity Brushes / Muchmore Battery Cooler / Tamiya M Chassis Wheels bluejays R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-16-2007 09:31 PM
Hpi rs4, tamiya tt01, tamiya tg-10, tamiya sprint! MORE!!!!! Genuinekid R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 09-10-2007 04:21 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:30 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0