R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2003, 09:49 PM   #1
Tech Adept
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Posts: 104
Default capacitor discharge units

i was wondering is there is any was of putting a capacitor discharge unit on a rc car to increase the voltage from just say 7v to 10 or even 11.
will there be any loss of power in doing this and how big would it be.

or even if you could give me a site or tell me how to make one

acid_rain182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2003, 10:12 AM   #2
Tech Adept
RC4SALE's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ROAR Region 1
Posts: 175

don't think you could do that......
RC4SALE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2003, 08:30 PM   #3
Tech Elite
speedxl's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland Oregon.
Posts: 3,876

if it coulda have been done it woulda already been done.
Pemberton / R1 / All out motorsports / Team Power Push
speedxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2003, 10:41 PM   #4
Tech Regular
Jimmy Fukuyama's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PCanywhere I think?!
Posts: 345

Originally posted by speedxl
if it coulda have been done it woulda already been done.
I believe it could be done. With the micro-sized electronics nowadays in cell phone technology, it only takes a good solid engineering background to create the layout for prototyping. I would think it's just a capacitor with a relay along with the ultra thin cuircut board to program it to the third channel of the receiver with a toggle switch which can be programmed in the newer radio to fire the capacitor under a toggle switch giving a sudden burst of voltage.

Come to think of it, I'll run this by our engineer and maybe come out with something like this. Its definately do-able. Just my $.02

Jimmy Fukuyama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2003, 11:50 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Johnnytc3

then you would have to engineer a new motor to handle that voltage...
Johnnytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 12:37 AM   #6
Tech Master
WC's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)

Yes it can be done... however there's certain limitations.

1) works best with AC currents; with DC you can get it inverted to AC but this then becomes very inefficient.

2) generally for the higher voltage stuff that calls for voltage-multiplication ladders, there's very low current draw and not meant for the high ampereage what our DC motors call for.

So its all a toss-up between what you want from your RC. If you just want higher voltages for higher speeds... why not just campaign for 7-cell (or more) racing??

And it *is* already done today... ie voltage amplification in RC.

Just check out a Tomy Bit CharG (aka Hobbyco Microsizer). These things run on a single nicad 1.5V cell, but some parts of the RF circuitry require 3V to run.
WC is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI .21 NitroStar BB (2-units NEW!!) mblgjr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 01-10-2009 02:58 PM
COMPLETE SPEKTRUM UNITS mizeracing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 08-28-2008 04:59 AM
2 GTX Units (MINT!!) FastEddy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 03-25-2007 10:23 PM
Power Supply Units elusive-drfiter Australian Racing 12 11-18-2004 04:58 PM
Failsafe Units-New In Bag maximum R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-09-2002 11:08 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:59 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0