R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-19-2008, 10:57 PM   #466
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkdut View Post
Essentially the same method but I set the main chassis on 10mm blocks and let the pod hang down and measure the height. Droop is then 10 minus the height of the rear of the pod.
Essentially, but you'll end up with different handling if you use the same droop figure for your method that we use for ours. And our method seems much easier to me...

Quote:
Originally Posted by racing_jason View Post
so it is technicaly in a way of internal limiting?
If you mean limiting the shock travel by putting spacers under the piston (like Off-Road shocks) then yes, it is. Our advantage is that we can adjust the shock length, so don't have to take the shock apart. HTH
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 08:41 AM   #467
Tech Regular
 
racing_jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spokane
Posts: 326
Default

ok so now that i know how to adjust it what is a longer shock going to do for me vrs a shorter shock? thanks for the help and being so patient!
Jason
__________________
Thank you to my sponsors-
Team Associated-Reedy-ProLine-B&B Hobbies Racing
racing_jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 02:56 PM   #468
Tech Fanatic
 
Joost K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eindhoven - Brabant (Europe)
Posts: 759
Default

REAR POD DROOP

MORE makes car turn in harder. More hi-speed steering. Handles bumpy tracks better.

LESS or NONE car smoother into corners
__________________
JKMR P235-SE Stealth Edition Pro10 | Futaba | Orion | Trinity | Orion | BSR tires

*** JK Model Racing ***
*** MIX-RC.DE TEAM ***
Joost K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 08:24 PM   #469
Tech Adept
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 195
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

what size are the front axles? are they 3/16 or 1/8?
soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 04:41 AM   #470
Tech Fanatic
 
Joost K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eindhoven - Brabant (Europe)
Posts: 759
Default

1/8 inch normal size 1/12 front axle bearing...
__________________
JKMR P235-SE Stealth Edition Pro10 | Futaba | Orion | Trinity | Orion | BSR tires

*** JK Model Racing ***
*** MIX-RC.DE TEAM ***
Joost K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 05:28 AM   #471
Tech Master
 
wingman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tewkesbury, UK via Plymouth, UK.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Hi guys, what exactly do you mean by the term drop? I set the centre shock up so that the pod is level to the chassis when the car is ready to hit the track. Is the measurement you are talking about how much the shock extends when you pick the car up from the ground? Sorry if this is a silly question but I want to make sure in my own mind what it is u=you are talking about! Cheers, Chris.
wingman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 06:02 AM   #472
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,702
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingman2 View Post
Hi guys, what exactly do you mean by the term drop? I set the centre shock up so that the pod is level to the chassis when the car is ready to hit the track. Is the measurement you are talking about how much the shock extends when you pick the car up from the ground? Sorry if this is a silly question but I want to make sure in my own mind what it is u=you are talking about! Cheers, Chris.
yes
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 12:04 PM   #473
Tech Master
 
beta bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,101
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

Hey guys what pinion should i run for a 27t motor?
__________________
Team Terribles---------2009 post of the year
"Cant you read Mopar???He said that he drives a T-max 2.5!!!!"
Spec classes are for communist
beta bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 02:46 PM   #474
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: England
Posts: 257
Default

bigger than you would run for a 19T
TraceRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 03:17 PM   #475
AE-Reedy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 762
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

27t gearing depends on alot of factors but 31/96 should get you in the ballpark.
Sean Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 07:58 PM   #476
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ottawa - Gatineau
Posts: 159
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Just in the middle of building the car. Everything straight forward however, I had a b*tch of a time getting the aluminium shock ends onto the shock shaft. I had to take some emery paper to the shaft end to get them in, it was either that or drill out the aluminium part. I figured that the shock shafts were cheaper in case I messed up (scratching shaft further up causing O-Ring issues)?

Anyone else have this problem? Is this a one off problem or wide spread?

Thanks
CaliberX
CaliberX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 09:19 PM   #477
Tech Master
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaliberX View Post
Just in the middle of building the car. Everything straight forward however, I had a b*tch of a time getting the aluminium shock ends onto the shock shaft. I had to take some emery paper to the shaft end to get them in, it was either that or drill out the aluminium part. I figured that the shock shafts were cheaper in case I messed up (scratching shaft further up causing O-Ring issues)?

Anyone else have this problem? Is this a one off problem or wide spread?

Thanks
CaliberX
No problem on my build. I will be building another shock here shortly, I will report any issues.
mkdut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 12:20 AM   #478
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
Default Body Posts Location

Hi Guys
I have just ordered my R5, are the body posts in the same place as the L4?
Will a body cut out/ mounted on a L4 be able to be made to fit a R5?
Many thanks
Mark
mark barford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 12:16 PM   #479
Tech Fanatic
 
Joost K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eindhoven - Brabant (Europe)
Posts: 759
Default

Yes, the L4 mounted bodies fit the R5 without any new holes to be made...

Just ordered mine tonight along with a complete set of titanium screws... And got the servo today @ my LHS... Futaba S9257...

Joost. :mrgreen:
__________________
JKMR P235-SE Stealth Edition Pro10 | Futaba | Orion | Trinity | Orion | BSR tires

*** JK Model Racing ***
*** MIX-RC.DE TEAM ***
Joost K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 01:43 PM   #480
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
Smile

Thanks Joost, that was what I wanted to read. Just saved me 20.00!
mark barford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*Team Associated RC12R5* Zdiddy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-31-2008 12:03 PM
RC12R5 Setup Sheets Cubic$Racing Electric On-Road 2 06-20-2008 10:27 AM
Team Associated RC12R5 ammo Singapore R/C Racers 12 05-15-2008 08:37 AM
AE RC12R5 alana07 Singapore R/C Racers 3 03-27-2008 09:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net