R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2011, 08:44 PM   #3421
Tech Regular
 
dirtman71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinite 12th View Post
Awesome you got it

Tekin RS or LRP stock/spec are popular for 12th

Tekin is about 60 bucks cheaper but requires extra booster or receiver pack
Thanks but I dont got $200 for an esc....i have found some that will fit but specs dont rate it for 1s...just 2s

Never ran 1s and I guess any esc will work just wont have the LVC?
__________________
Kyosho SC-R, RC8Be, Jammin X1CRe, Jammin SCRT10, RC10GT2, T4.1
Slash 2wd ChuckWorks slice B2, E-maxx, RC10T3, Tamiya M-05, TA-05
dirtman71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:08 PM   #3422
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spurcheck View Post
This upgrade is of interest to me. I currently run a R5.1, it does not have the Associated lipo "inline" chassis upgrade and thru research found Speedmerchant sells a rear dampner tube upgrade kit (rear pod, tubes and associated parts) for the R5.1 inline chassis #6030. Is this the upgrade you did to your car? If so, am I correct that you are experiencing interference of the top plate contacting the tubes? Or did you do some other modification to install the tubes on your ride?
Sorry Spurcheck, I have been busy and havent checked this post. I did do my own modification. It worked very well with the 12r5 like I said but yes the tubes did rub the rear top plate on the r5.1. I am cheap and dont want to spend the money I dont have. I have seen pics of speedmerchants awhile back and it probably works perfect. I do like the tubes because I can change the wheight of the silicone faster than tearing apart a shock and its cleaner.
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:23 PM   #3423
Tech Regular
 
dirtman71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Might have to back out of this trade if I cant find a cheap esc...MMP 1s is $130 and I need a bec and rx pack, $190 for the LRP xxs...just not worth it now, kinda broke with the holidays...and I still have some 1/8 buggy stuff to finish. I am realy interested in on road but I dont think this is the time....glad I asked questions here first....thanks
__________________
Kyosho SC-R, RC8Be, Jammin X1CRe, Jammin SCRT10, RC10GT2, T4.1
Slash 2wd ChuckWorks slice B2, E-maxx, RC10T3, Tamiya M-05, TA-05
dirtman71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 10:39 PM   #3424
Tech Master
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

classifieds. tekin rs typically for $120. same with lrp sxx v2's. only thing ive bought new was a pair of gens ace batteries and a few servos. for 4 cars.

id be very very surprised if you couldnt put a 12r5.1 together from our classifieds with all high end gear for under $500.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 11:10 PM   #3425
Tech Regular
 
dirtman71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

so what would my options be for a 1s esc? I dont want to run a rx pack or bec. lrp sxxv2 and tekin rs(the rs says nothing about 1s)
Just need to know what to look for in the clasifieds
__________________
Kyosho SC-R, RC8Be, Jammin X1CRe, Jammin SCRT10, RC10GT2, T4.1
Slash 2wd ChuckWorks slice B2, E-maxx, RC10T3, Tamiya M-05, TA-05
dirtman71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 11:23 PM   #3426
Tech Master
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

from what ive read, the hobbywing 1s and lrp sxx work in single cell without additional electronics. though there is really no big deal running a cap with a tekin rs. i thought it might suck to sort out but really. very very easy. zero maintenance.

im sure the lrp is very nice but the tekin with a hotwire is so configurable its perfect for almost anything you put it in.

I have two tekins. one in my 12th and one in tc. really does allow on the fly customization with hotwire, and being able to store two custom profiles on the esc, which you can call up with the onboard buttons after.

my tc will run 17.5 stock in an event in january, come off the track and with a few clicks, be running superstock with no changes other than the pinion. i might not even bother changing the pinion. just run big fans lol.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 09:56 AM   #3427
Tech Master
 
spurcheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Last in the "Z" main
Posts: 1,613
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
Sorry Spurcheck, I have been busy and havent checked this post. I did do my own modification. It worked very well with the 12r5 like I said but yes the tubes did rub the rear top plate on the r5.1. I am cheap and dont want to spend the money I dont have. I have seen pics of speedmerchants awhile back and it probably works perfect. I do like the tubes because I can change the wheight of the silicone faster than tearing apart a shock and its cleaner.
Thanks Josh-n-ya for the response.
Only reason I asked was to clarify if your dampener upgrade was one from a manufacturer or of your own design. Now that I know it is your own modification I feel a little more assured in regards to possibly obtaining the Speedmerchant kit.

As for your mod, if you are experiencing interference issues, maybe some shimming and/or different length ball studs might improve your situation.
Just a thought.
__________________
The Punter or The Punt-ee,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,who you be??

No Apologies Racing, don't believe me, try me!!!!!
spurcheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 07:54 PM   #3428
Tech Master
 
pettyeagles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: East Central, Il
Posts: 1,622
Trader Rating: 80 (99%+)
Default

My 12R5 is pulling left under acceleration. Any ideas what is causing this?
__________________
A bad day racing beats a good day at work. My RC fleet:
SC5M, B5M, FT B4.2, SC10.2, FT SC10(x2), FT TC5, FT TC4, 12R5,
AE Rival MT, RC10 Classic, CW Pro Comp Outlaw, F104, F104 pro v2, RJ Speed Legend
Traxxas Slash(x2), 4x4 Slash VXL, Vendetta SC/ST
Axial SCX10, Axial Yeti, G-Made/AX10, Losi Micro Crawler, Sakura D3 CS(x2)
pettyeagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 09:18 PM   #3429
Tech Master
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

did you check it on a tweak station? does it roll straight off power?
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 09:32 PM   #3430
Tech Fanatic
 
Infinite 12th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pettyeagles View Post
My 12R5 is pulling left under acceleration. Any ideas what is causing this?
1. Make sure the rear axle width is centered in relation to the pod
2. Make sure your diff is not slipping
__________________
12th scale - The Jedi class...
Infinite 12th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 03:03 PM   #3431
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spurcheck View Post
Thanks Josh-n-ya for the response.
Only reason I asked was to clarify if your dampener upgrade was one from a manufacturer or of your own design. Now that I know it is your own modification I feel a little more assured in regards to possibly obtaining the Speedmerchant kit.

As for your mod, if you are experiencing interference issues, maybe some shimming and/or different length ball studs might improve your situation.
Just a thought.
I think switching from a shock to tubes is the best way to go. It seems to be more consistant side to side. I had to throw the original shock back in and have to go back to the drawing board for tubes in the r5.1. I finally got 2nd in points after a six race series out of 10 plus entries. I do believe the tubes had something to do with it in the 12r5. The car was really smooth and only changed the oil in the tubes once in race 5.
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 09:24 PM   #3432
Tech Regular
 
tofuburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 339
Default

what is the starting gear ratio for novak 17.5 non timing?
__________________
Larry "Chef LT" Tom
StickIt1Racing.com
HobbyAction.com
tofuburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 09:31 PM   #3433
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 850
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know where you can get the tube conversion for the R5.1? Speed Merchant has one, but I think it only fits if you have the inline chassis, and I want to keep my battery in the stock position.
Thanks in advance.
__________________
On-point/ EA horsey power/XFactory / Hudy / Tekin / Trinity / KO Propo / Reino's Ragu
mracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 09:34 PM   #3434
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,541
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tofuburger View Post
what is the starting gear ratio for novak 17.5 non timing?
It kind of depends on the track layout, size and surface.

Currently around 100mm roll with some timing is the go at our 90x45' track.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 02:45 PM   #3435
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mracer View Post
Does anyone know where you can get the tube conversion for the R5.1? Speed Merchant has one, but I think it only fits if you have the inline chassis, and I want to keep my battery in the stock position.
Thanks in advance.
I'm sure it will work!
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*Team Associated RC12R5* Zdiddy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-31-2008 12:03 PM
RC12R5 Setup Sheets Cubic$Racing Electric On-Road 2 06-20-2008 10:27 AM
Team Associated RC12R5 ammo Singapore R/C Racers 12 05-15-2008 08:37 AM
AE RC12R5 alana07 Singapore R/C Racers 3 03-27-2008 09:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:44 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net