R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2009, 11:08 AM   #1756
Tech Addict
 
Robert_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands, Sweet Lake City
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joost K. View Post
Small correction there Robert, even with a "zero-tweak block" you have to check the car for tweak. After a serieus race with or without crashes the car can be tweaked and therefore you need to check if the chassis is still straight. The only advantage of using a zero-tweak block is that if the car IS tweaked, you know that there is something wrong other than just a bruised T-bar.

And yes, if you get into a sidewall crash. That is killing for T-bars (and I am very experienced with that ;-) )

Thanks Joost, that's what I meant :-)

Best Regards
Robert
__________________
Sponsored by: Schumacher Racing and Dualsky
Supported by: Shepherd Benelux and Thunder Tiger.
Robert_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 03:43 PM   #1757
Tech Regular
 
inconceivable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The recent discussions regarding tweak have me thinking. Over the past several weeks my car has become quite inconsistent. When you speak of chassis tweak are you checking on a tweak station or putting the car on a known flat surface and looking for tweak ..... or both ? My car checks out OK on a tweak station (few very minor adjustments needed), however, I've never checked it on a flat surface. Also, the comments regarding the rear standoffs have me thinking as well. I've never really checked these either ....
__________________
"And now the Matador shall dance with the blind shoe maker"
"America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed. - Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936"
inconceivable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 04:41 PM   #1758
Tech Elite
 
TommyBlazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,579
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

dude that s/n and avatar are hilarious...thats my fav movie...LOL....
__________________
Thinking on maybe a Tekno 1/8 Nitro Buggy?
TommyBlazin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 08:55 PM   #1759
Tech Addict
 
Joost K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eindhoven - Brabant (Europe)
Posts: 747
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inconceivable View Post
The recent discussions regarding tweak have me thinking. Over the past several weeks my car has become quite inconsistent. When you speak of chassis tweak are you checking on a tweak station or putting the car on a known flat surface and looking for tweak ..... or both ? My car checks out OK on a tweak station (few very minor adjustments needed), however, I've never checked it on a flat surface. Also, the comments regarding the rear standoffs have me thinking as well. I've never really checked these either ....
Both! It is good to use a tweak station but on that you can only see and adjust the tweak in the complete car. Try rebuilding the car every once in a while and check each (flat) part if it still is that way. The motorplate, left bulkhead, lower pod plate, main chassis... All parts that should be FLAT and if they are not they can cause tweak which offcoarse you can adjust but they are not 100% so the car is not 100%. Check this every now and then and replace parts when needed...

A good way to check if a part is still flat and straight is to put it on a glass plate. Glass is really flat and so you can see or feel if a part is bend...
__________________
JKMR P235-SE Stealth Edition Pro10 | Futaba | Orion | Orion | Orion | BSR tires

*** JK Model Racing ***
*** MIX-RC.DE TEAM ***
Joost K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 02:26 AM   #1760
Tech Addict
 
Robert_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands, Sweet Lake City
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joost K. View Post
Both! It is good to use a tweak station but on that you can only see and adjust the tweak in the complete car. Try rebuilding the car every once in a while and check each (flat) part if it still is that way. The motorplate, left bulkhead, lower pod plate, main chassis... All parts that should be FLAT and if they are not they can cause tweak which offcoarse you can adjust but they are not 100% so the car is not 100%. Check this every now and then and replace parts when needed...

A good way to check if a part is still flat and straight is to put it on a glass plate. Glass is really flat and so you can see or feel if a part is bend...
+1

I've noticed that with the R5.1 rear and you can easely tweak both bulkheads with the blue rod between them. I'm screwing them on a glass plate (just the rod, left and rear bulkhead) and ensure that they are both flat. Then I'm mount the bottom plate and ensure that's also flat.

When you don't to this it's easly possible that your rearpod is tweaked for a whole mm :| (didn't notice it the first time)

Best Regards

Robert
__________________
Sponsored by: Schumacher Racing and Dualsky
Supported by: Shepherd Benelux and Thunder Tiger.
Robert_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 03:34 AM   #1761
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mclean, VA
Posts: 3,940
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert_K View Post
+1

I've noticed that with the R5.1 rear and you can easely tweak both bulkheads with the blue rod between them. I'm screwing them on a glass plate (just the rod, left and rear bulkhead) and ensure that they are both flat. Then I'm mount the bottom plate and ensure that's also flat.

When you don't to this it's easly possible that your rearpod is tweaked for a whole mm :| (didn't notice it the first time)

Best Regards

Robert
I'm not a fan of the "rod" rear pod design because of the tweaking like you've mentioned. I wish AE would have used the 5.1 design with a top plate instead. You know making it brushless compatible with a lower top plate is all it needed. Sticking with the 12R5B...
Apex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:57 AM   #1762
Tech Regular
 
inconceivable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

All great ideas ..... Thanks ! I'll tear the car apart this weekend and see what evil lurks within .....
__________________
"And now the Matador shall dance with the blind shoe maker"
"America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed. - Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936"
inconceivable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 04:31 PM   #1763
Tech Master
 
GasGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tween a Rock & a Hard Place in Pa.
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Is it normal for the shock to bottom out in its travel before the chassis?
I am trying to fix someone elses 12r5b and noticed this,there also isn't a lot of static droop-- maybe 1-2 mm before it bottoms out on up travel.This is with the stock thru-shock.I have a Gen xl so am not familiar with this.
when setting the rear pod for a "flat droop"with all gear onboard there seems to be very little downtravel before the shock bottoms out.I'm thinkin somethings wrong but will ask here b/4 tearing into someone elses car--thnx-
__________________
F! Metal Militia,VTA NATION--Team SloMoFo
losi 8t,mbx5t,rc8
rc8,Kyosho rb5,SCR
ft4 MT wallet
cyclone;xxx-s;x-rayT2;crc gen xl;bmi 12rrl
GasGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 05:45 PM   #1764
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 59
Default

Insufficient rear travel could be caused by improper assembly of the rear shock. There is a spacer that goes on one side of the piston to limit rear droop. If it's installed on the wrong side it could cause the rear shock to bottom out too early.
Tuner EM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:26 PM   #1765
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,765
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Even when built correctly the car "may" not completely bottom out, especially true as you increase pod droop. Many people are running a 2 or 2.5 mm spacer instead of the standard 4 mm inside of the shock. This will allow as much droop as is necessary, and still allow the chassis to move through its entire suspension movement. A standard antenna tube works nicely cut to the desired thickness.

HTH
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 09:54 PM   #1766
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: lost...
Posts: 2,828
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What other shocks can be use for the side and center shocks? I stripped the shock rod eyelet while screwing onto shock body, kinda like the Serpent RCC shocks.
RoyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:16 PM   #1767
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyU View Post
What other shocks can be use for the side and center shocks? I stripped the shock rod eyelet while screwing onto shock body, kinda like the Serpent RCC shocks.
And are there any aftermarket shock caps or upgraded ones from AE? All of our guys running the R5 have had problems with the caps stripping at some point.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:23 PM   #1768
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I assume you guys worked it out, but i was setting the droop with the little grub screw (when i first got the car), before i realised that that the part had a square end designed to be a turn buckle so you dont have to fiddle with the grub screw.

Initially i had the turnbuckle screwed all the way in so there wasnt much room for droop adjustment when i was using the grub screw :P
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:15 AM   #1769
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 324
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default 12R5.1

Hey all, just bought my first pan car,a 12R5.1 and would have finished building it except that it has some parts missing, has anyone had any experience with dealing with Associated about getting replacement parts, cheers.
__________________
Understeer Radio Control Car Club

**MRJ Racing 02/2010 - 02/2017**
TeamBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 02:06 AM   #1770
Tech Regular
 
evirobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hi guys, when using 1s lipo, do you place the lipo in the forward or backward position and how do you tape it to the chassis to prevent movement?
Any pics of yr car would be appreciated.
evirobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*Team Associated RC12R5* Zdiddy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-31-2008 12:03 PM
RC12R5 Setup Sheets Cubic$Racing Electric On-Road 2 06-20-2008 10:27 AM
Team Associated RC12R5 ammo Singapore R/C Racers 12 05-15-2008 08:37 AM
AE RC12R5 alana07 Singapore R/C Racers 3 03-27-2008 09:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:38 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net