R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-23-2011, 06:18 PM   #1591
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,016
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkspeedo View Post
you have to run the front arm assembly mounts like on the old car to get this width.

The LE front cross-brace was design to equal the medium track width setting of the GenX-10.
I just ordered these from the old car to test the 200mm front end width. Forgot to ask Brian when I was talking to him this week.

#1740 - Graphite Front End Mounting Plates - GX10/BA @ $14.99/set

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 09:26 PM   #1592
Tech Regular
 
inconceivable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
I just ordered these from the old car to test the 200mm front end width. Forgot to ask Brian when I was talking to him this week.

#1740 - Graphite Front End Mounting Plates - GX10/BA @ $14.99/set

Bill
Thanks ! I too will order this to test. Also cool to find out I'm not crazy
__________________
"And now the Matador shall dance with the blind shoe maker"
"America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed. - Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936"
inconceivable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 09:44 PM   #1593
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,016
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inconceivable View Post
Thanks ! I too will order this to test. Also cool to find out I'm not crazy
At least you won't be crazy alone...
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:13 PM   #1594
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

hi

i finally ordered a gen 10x le after wanting a 1/10 pan car for some time.
have a couple questions.
i will be running a large 1/8 asphalt track so will be running 2s with either a 9t or 13.5t

# 1. looking at the online manual (haven't received car yet) it says the posts between chassis and top deck are 3/4" (19mm) my batteries are 22mm thick
if i raise the posts 3mm this will also change the shock mount height
what will this affect as far as handling ???

# 2. after ordering i found that this car even tho 1/10 may not take a standard 1/10 size servo,i know guys run 1s and look at reducing weight but i find it strange being 1/10 it wont take a standard servo.
has anyone gotten a standard servo to fit ???
other wise it looks like another long wait (limited income) to save for a 1/12 servo,living out side the u.s means ordering over seas (add $30 postage) or pay 2-3 times the price here if i can find one at lhs

any help would be much appreciated

scott
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:30 PM   #1595
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy-crawl View Post
hi

i finally ordered a gen 10x le after wanting a 1/10 pan car for some time.
have a couple questions.
i will be running a large 1/8 asphalt track so will be running 2s with either a 9t or 13.5t

# 1. looking at the online manual (haven't received car yet) it says the posts between chassis and top deck are 3/4" (19mm) my batteries are 22mm thick
if i raise the posts 3mm this will also change the shock mount height
what will this affect as far as handling ???

# 2. after ordering i found that this car even tho 1/10 may not take a standard 1/10 size servo,i know guys run 1s and look at reducing weight but i find it strange being 1/10 it wont take a standard servo.
has anyone gotten a standard servo to fit ???
other wise it looks like another long wait (limited income) to save for a 1/12 servo,living out side the u.s means ordering over seas (add $30 postage) or pay 2-3 times the price here if i can find one at lhs

any help would be much appreciated

scott
Scott,
As far as handling goes, if you use the right kind of shim such as a 3mm tamiya shim then it will look better, but handling will not change, my lhs had a specific mod world-gt class for a while and i ran a trinity ib 5000 in the centerline and had to raise the top deck, still ran fine. I have not done it myself but a guy at my lhs just picked up a gen-x le a couple weeks ago and put a futaba 9551 servo in it, its low profile from top to bottom but width wise is standard, if you move the battery as far back as you can it may fit a standard, non low profile, servo in it, i run a futaba 9650 mini servo in mine and it works great, in the pancar classes a bigger stronger servo is not needed as much as like in touring car. Hope this helps.
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:40 PM   #1596
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
Scott,
As far as handling goes, if you use the right kind of shim such as a 3mm tamiya shim then it will look better, but handling will not change, my lhs had a specific mod world-gt class for a while and i ran a trinity ib 5000 in the centerline and had to raise the top deck, still ran fine. I have not done it myself but a guy at my lhs just picked up a gen-x le a couple weeks ago and put a futaba 9551 servo in it, its low profile from top to bottom but width wise is standard, if you move the battery as far back as you can it may fit a standard, non low profile, servo in it, i run a futaba 9650 mini servo in mine and it works great, in the pancar classes a bigger stronger servo is not needed as much as like in touring car. Hope this helps.
cold as ice thanks very much for that information

i have found a hitec mini servo locally
its 4.8kg at 6 volts and metal geared,but analog 0.11 sec @ 60 deg
would this be good enough, i wont be racing (only friends TC cars)
and the track is a very large open track (they even run 1/5th)
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:46 PM   #1597
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy-crawl View Post
cold as ice thanks very much for that information

i have found a hitec mini servo locally
its 4.8kg at 6 volts and metal geared,but analog 0.11 sec @ 60 deg
would this be good enough, i wont be racing (only friends TC cars)
and the track is a very large open track (they even run 1/5th)
sounds like it would work to me, i run an analog in my second gen-x le that i use only for outdoor racing, i like to have the extra steering speed when we run 2 cell with 7.5t motors on a 105ft long track, it comes in handy
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:50 PM   #1598
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

thats great news thanks.

how do they hold up out doors with the 7.5t
i will probably running a 9t 4000kv motor
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 09:09 PM   #1599
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy-crawl View Post
thats great news thanks.

how do they hold up out doors with the 7.5t
i will probably running a 9t 4000kv motor
it seems to hold up good, the first couple runs in mod wgt werent the greatest. but i found when running pretty much any motor more powerful then a 10.5 w/ boost, the screws in the rear pod must be loc tighted or they will get loose and when ever you power out of a turn it will rattle and sound absolutely horrible. and as far as durability for mod motors outdoors, i would recommend putting an original style associated front end on the car, the crc front is great but with faster motors and 2 cell packs it cant hold up in a crash.
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 08:26 AM   #1600
Tech Master
 
NiMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Luton, England
Posts: 1,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
sounds like it would work to me, i run an analog in my second gen-x le that i use only for outdoor racing, i like to have the extra steering speed when we run 2 cell with 7.5t motors on a 105ft long track, it comes in handy
2 cell with 7.5t motors on a 105ft long track?
That must be a handful ?

We were reaching over 60mph with 2s 13.5 on a 155ft main straight, and that seemed busy, but that is with 200mm GT cars, and not full high downforce Pro10.
NiMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 01:13 PM   #1601
Tech Regular
 
bencason's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Almost Western Maryland
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
sounds like it would work to me, i run an analog in my second gen-x le that i use only for outdoor racing, i like to have the extra steering speed when we run 2 cell with 7.5t motors on a 105ft long track, it comes in handy
Randy,
what bodies do you and your Dad run on your WGT cars at the C?

I am trying to put together a working car from my old pan car stock. The bodies that I have left over from the past are GTP style and intended for 235mm. The car most likely to get used is a RC10L SS that is 200mm in the front and 210mm in the back, so I would like to pick up a modern 200mm body for it.
__________________
The RC cars are in storage but not forgotten
One of these days, I'll be back to racing... somewhere
bencason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:21 PM   #1602
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bencason View Post
Randy,
what bodies do you and your Dad run on your WGT cars at the C?

I am trying to put together a working car from my old pan car stock. The bodies that I have left over from the past are GTP style and intended for 235mm. The car most likely to get used is a RC10L SS that is 200mm in the front and 210mm in the back, so I would like to pick up a modern 200mm body for it.
Hi Ben, its great to see you are interested in world gt at the coliseum, theres a link below to wgt rules and should answer all your questions or you can come see me next time time you are at the track and we will get you setup. http://www.worldgtrc.com/World%20GT%...s%20-%2009.pdf these are the rules we follow at the 'c' i run the db9 gt and dad runs a protoform corvette, when you get serious about wgt we will have to get you setup with a CRC ride!
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:25 PM   #1603
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiMo View Post
2 cell with 7.5t motors on a 105ft long track?
That must be a handful ?

We were reaching over 60mph with 2s 13.5 on a 155ft main straight, and that seemed busy, but that is with 200mm GT cars, and not full high downforce Pro10.
ha, believe me, it is! To be able to make the turn on the end of the straight we have to run full front compound, but now that the carpet nats are near, we are running by the true rules.
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:42 PM   #1604
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiMo View Post
2 cell with 7.5t motors on a 105ft long track?
That must be a handful ?

We were reaching over 60mph with 2s 13.5 on a 155ft main straight, and that seemed busy, but that is with 200mm GT cars, and not full high downforce Pro10.
It would be nice to see a video.
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 12:12 PM   #1605
Tech Apprentice
 
Atcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hungary
Posts: 72
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

This may sound stupid: I also realised that there isnt enough place for average 2s lipo packs; So what if i opened the casing of a hard case lipo and put in the car like that?
Atcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:49 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0