R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2010, 08:25 PM   #12976
Tech Champion
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

OK this is the first time in a long time that I want to run a car bone stock period. I have a dumb question. With the stock esc that came with my kit there are two rx wires. One for the esc channel 2 and there is a bec wire I think thats supposed to be plugged into the battery channel in the rx. Do I really need to use this bec plug? I does not fit into my rx. I really want to use this car stock. I don't have my batteries with me to test it. I am using a KO SS 2.4 rx.
__________________
T-Sal
gashuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 08:33 PM   #12977
Tech Master
 
M03Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I would use it cause it should fit into any BEC fitted RX box/receiver. I use them all the time cause if you don't it might fry your ESC. I had a Duratrax ESC and I fried that one cause my RX did not have BEC. So since then I'm using RX receivers with built in BEC. Since the Tamiya stock ESC has no BEC so You do need a receiver with BEC. I only use 2.4 systems with my brushless set up since all my brushless ESC's have the built in BEC.
M03Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 08:47 PM   #12978
Tech Champion
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the speedy reply. This sucks. I really didnt want to get another esc. I have too much stuff as it is.
__________________
T-Sal
gashuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 09:27 AM   #12979
Tech Champion
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Well I just ordered an ezrun system for my car. All I wanted was a stock m05. It's just impossible to just have a stock car for me it seems.
__________________
T-Sal
gashuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 09:53 AM   #12980
Tech Adept
 
Oortael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 172
Default

Will a hpi mercedes benz a-class body fit on a m05? Which wheelbase should I build?
Oortael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 09:56 AM   #12981
Tech Champion
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Dunno but I would build whatever the wheel base is for the particular body.
__________________
T-Sal
gashuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 10:17 AM   #12982
Tech Fanatic
 
blanks596's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles Dojo
Posts: 797
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gashuffer View Post
Well I just ordered an ezrun system for my car. All I wanted was a stock m05. It's just impossible to just have a stock car for me it seems.

Don't kill the nature of the M05 Tommy - it's a stock class car
__________________
Serpent/Desoto Racing
Max S
blanks596 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 10:21 AM   #12983
Tech Champion
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blanks596 View Post
Don't kill the nature of the M05 Tommy - it's a stock class car
I tried not too but, it's just not going to happen
__________________
T-Sal
gashuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 11:04 AM   #12984
Tech Master
 
M03Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gashuffer View Post
I tried not too but, it's just not going to happen
You know if you want to stay close to stock and run brushless you can always get a Tamiya 18T brushless motor that's about 27T in brushed terms and have the reliability of a brushless system. I have a set up in my M03 and it has great top end speed.
M03Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 11:05 AM   #12985
Tech Master
 
M03Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oortael View Post
Will a hpi mercedes benz a-class body fit on a m05? Which wheelbase should I build?
It should fit the M05 but I'm not sure if its 208mm or 225mm wheelbase. That's the good thing about these chassis you can make them any wheelbase you want within reason.
M03Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 11:09 AM   #12986
Tech Master
 
M03Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gashuffer View Post
I tried not too but, it's just not going to happen
If you have a 27MHz transmitter I can trade/sale you a 27MHzr RX Traxxas receiver with BEC for something let me know. Or if you have nothing to trade I can sell it to you for very cheap. I have to many RX's with BEC.
M03Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 12:08 PM   #12987
Tech Champion
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M03Racer View Post
If you have a 27MHz transmitter I can trade/sale you a 27MHzr RX Traxxas receiver with BEC for something let me know. Or if you have nothing to trade I can sell it to you for very cheap. I have to many RX's with BEC.
Thanks for the offer but I just bought a ezrun.
__________________
T-Sal
gashuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 03:00 PM   #12988
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,387
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Gashufferdude, still not sure why you can't plug in the extra esc lead.

Does your receiver only have 2 inputs available, or is the plug the wrong size?

I had to trim down my plug but when I was able to plug it in everything was fine.
__________________
Craig Hammon
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 07:36 PM   #12989
Tech Champion
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F N CUDA View Post
Gashufferdude, still not sure why you can't plug in the extra esc lead.

Does your receiver only have 2 inputs available, or is the plug the wrong size?

I had to trim down my plug but when I was able to plug it in everything was fine.
The plug is too thick. All my rx's are KO 408Ses 4 channel plus batt. I guess I can trim it down but I think they are that size for a reason. Who know's I could be wrong. I just don't want to fry my receiver because they are hard to find and expensive.
__________________
T-Sal
gashuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 01:53 AM   #12990
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gashuffer View Post
The plug is too thick. All my rx's are KO 408Ses 4 channel plus batt. I guess I can trim it down but I think they are that size for a reason. Who know's I could be wrong. I just don't want to fry my receiver because they are hard to find and expensive.
I rewired my TEU104 to allow me to use only one plug

it was a bit fiddly but it works really well
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya Mini Cooper M-03L Hop-ups mini71 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 05-04-2016 11:07 AM
Tamiya Mini Cooper mach51 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 10 09-02-2011 12:08 AM
FS:TAMIYA Mini Cooper, TA 04S rthmotorsports R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 10-20-2007 09:37 PM
Tamiya 415 MSX and M03 Mini Cooper F/S Racer X79 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 12-22-2006 07:38 AM
Tamiya M01,02,03, or 04 Mini Cooper ccugolf.com R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 12-05-2004 08:55 PM


Tags
m03, m03r ules, m05, mini, tamiya


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:03 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0