R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2007, 03:59 AM   #5701
mjw
Tech Adept
 
mjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 147
Default

I just started racing an M03 a month or so ago. The track I run at follows the TCS rules for this class, so I've been keeping to them. There is a big race coming up at a different location that will be allowing silver can and black can motors. What classifies as a "black can" motor? Similar to the silver can, closed endbell, and black ? I'm assuming the Tamiya RS-540 Sport Tuned Motor falls under this catagory.

Thanks,
Mike W
mjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 04:08 AM   #5702
Tech Adept
 
NOZ69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nowra (Sth Cst NSW) Australia
Posts: 198
Default

Just finished my Xmas pressi....& thought i'd share

Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya mini cooper-swift-1.jpg   Tamiya mini cooper-swift-2.jpg   Tamiya mini cooper-swift-3.jpg  
__________________
FT TC4, LRP TC Sphere, LRP X-11 13.5
SC10 4x4
M03M Suzuki Swift
Power by Feral
Sanwa MX-3 FHSS
NOZ69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 07:49 AM   #5703
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 859
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NOZ69 View Post
Just finished my Xmas pressi....& thought i'd share

Cheers

nice work.
hobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 10:18 AM   #5704
Tech Initiate
 
ChuckWick357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bakaguyjean View Post
You have to use some modern Radio gear to fit back there. I have a Keyence speed control,and Sanwa reciever in the rear of one of my cars.
I run the wires through the center of the chassis,over the battery pack. you can also run your motor wires throung the chassisby drilling small holes between where the motor is and where the battery mounts.
The M03 can clean up very nice and hide all of the wires if you want it to.

yeah i understand using the new smaller electronics will work well but he said he had the KIT Esc in the back of the car. i guess he had to take the chassis apart put in in there then reassemble it??
__________________
I live with Fear and sometimes SHE let's me Race!!
ChuckWick357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 12:51 PM   #5705
Tech Elite
 
tony gray's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,213
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjw View Post
What classifies as a "black can" motor? I'm assuming the Tamiya RS-540 Sport Tuned Motor falls under this catagory.

Thanks,
Mike W
You assume correct. The 'Sport Tuned' is pretty much the default motor for M chassis around the world now.

P.S. You're right Chuck..getting that KIT ESC in the back of the chassis wouldn;t be easy at all!
tony gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 03:09 PM   #5706
Tech Apprentice
 
MonkeyNuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Poole, UK
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkdut View Post
Thanks for the setup

What tire combo are you running?

I'm running Standard 60D's at the front and M-grips at the back.

The kit ESC will only go in one way but it fits very well

Liam
__________________
Tamiya FF03 Pro ~ Tamiya M06 Pro ~ Tamiya M05L JCW Coupe
MonkeyNuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 03:48 PM   #5707
Tech Elite
 
tony gray's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,213
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

More cool new paint jobs at rc-mini.

Click here to see.

tony gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 07:12 PM   #5708
mep
Tech Regular
 
mep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckWick357 View Post
yeah i understand using the new smaller electronics will work well but he said he had the KIT Esc in the back of the car. i guess he had to take the chassis apart put in in there then reassemble it??
Takes about 1 minute to take the back chassis half off, & loosen the screws that hold it together enough to wedge the TEU-101BK in place. It does only fit one way(wires facing forward), and it will still barely provide access to the setup button...





....

It's an extremely tight fit in a M-03, but an easy easy fit in an M-03M or M-03L...



mep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 07:29 PM   #5709
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Very neat and tidy. What kind of tires are those????
Granpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 10:20 PM   #5710
Tech Regular
 
Teehomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 448
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys. What is the recommended aluminium steering knuckles for the original M03 chassis? If I use the M03R knuckles (49441) do I need to change anything else, ie the uprights?

Also, when using the large Kimbrough servo saver, is it better to space down the servo mounts or space up the tie rod ends? I had originally spaced up the tie rod end but stripped out the connector on the first touch - the spacer greatly reduces the amount of contact area in the thread. By moving to the alloy knuckle this will provide some additional strength but I am in two minds whether to persist with this or go back to spacing the servo down.

Cheers.
Teehomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 11:23 PM   #5711
mep
Tech Regular
 
mep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Granpa View Post
Very neat and tidy. What kind of tires are those????
Thanks... Kawadas in the 1st photos, standard m-chassis slicks on the second car.
mep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 11:23 PM   #5712
mep
Tech Regular
 
mep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teehomo View Post
What is the recommended aluminium steering knuckles for the original M03 chassis? If I use the M03R knuckles (49441) do I need to change anything else, ie the uprights?
You need the newer knuckles , 5x10 bearings & the king pins also, from any kit released since the M-03M Swift. TA04 king pins will work too.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Teehomo View Post
Also, when using the large Kimbrough servo saver, is it better to space down the servo mounts or space up the tie rod ends? I had originally spaced up the tie rod end but stripped out the connector on the first touch - the spacer greatly reduces the amount of contact area in the thread. By moving to the alloy knuckle this will provide some additional strength but I am in two minds whether to persist with this or go back to spacing the servo down.
I've never been in that situation personally, but you'll probably get mixed opinions. I would think that spacing the servo mounts down would be best, to reduce leverage on the ball connectors for one... and honestly, as little of a difference as it might make, moving the mass of the servo down would theoretically lower the center of gravity too. That's always a nice bonus.

Last edited by mep; 12-29-2007 at 11:34 PM.
mep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 01:43 AM   #5713
Tech Master
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

has anyone tried the inserts from RIDE? do they fill up the tamiya 60D tires nicely?
over gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 01:49 AM   #5714
Tech Elite
 
tony gray's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,213
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Ride inserts are the same size as most other, so they still leave a significant air gap inside a 60D.
tony gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 02:10 AM   #5715
Tech Fanatic
 
bakaguyjean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atsugi Japan
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by over gear View Post
has anyone tried the inserts from RIDE? do they fill up the tamiya 60D tires nicely?
Ride inserts are for 55D tires, If you use them in 60D tires you might as well not run inserts. There is a huge gap between the tire and sponge. You really need 60D inserts for 60D tires.
__________________
My body projects blog http://rcbodyproject.wordpress.com/
bakaguyjean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya Mini Cooper M-03L Hop-ups mini71 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 05-04-2016 11:07 AM
Tamiya Mini Cooper mach51 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 10 09-02-2011 12:08 AM
FS:TAMIYA Mini Cooper, TA 04S rthmotorsports R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 10-20-2007 09:37 PM
Tamiya 415 MSX and M03 Mini Cooper F/S Racer X79 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 12-22-2006 07:38 AM
Tamiya M01,02,03, or 04 Mini Cooper ccugolf.com R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 12-05-2004 08:55 PM


Tags
m03, m03r ules, m05, mini, tamiya


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (1 members and 5 guests)
Schs2013
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:02 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0