R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-28-2014, 04:47 PM   #22516
Tech Addict
 
Pygmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan Anderson View Post
Is there a picture of the M05 V2 droop screws somewhere? I've looked around, but I can't find an image that shows how the droop screws on the V2 work.

Anyone got a good pic?
This is the best I can do under poor lighting conditions (ceiling light stopped working earlier this evening and camera autofocus is not impressed )

It's a basic droop screw implementation - grub screws that hit the chassis preventing the arm dropping.
Can't really see it in these pics but I've cut 2 pieces of square metal from a coke can and glued them on the plastic chassis where the droop screws hit in the hope that it'll prevent wear a little.

http://i.imgur.com/4q6Nctu.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/5tD6Lkd.jpg
__________________
"If it ain't broken, take it apart and see how it works."

LOSI Ten SCTE [ Build : http://bit.ly/VsAulx ]
Pygmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 06:59 PM   #22517
Tech Master
 
Jordan Anderson's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thanks! Now I see how that's working; different from a touring car. Does the V2 have these droop screws on the both the front and rear arms?
__________________
JORDAN // EVAN RC8.2e, B5, B5M, EB48SL, SCT410.3
R/C GEARS , TRUKZ/KARZ , VRC PRO
We're not sponsored, but would recommend:
Team Associated, Tekno, A Main, Action, PM
Futaba, Schelle, Avid, Proline, Lunsford
Jordan Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2014, 12:08 AM   #22518
Tech Elite
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,354
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Yes. Front and rear.
caltek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2014, 11:22 AM   #22519
Tech Adept
 
marcos graveyar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Newtownforbes, Ireland
Posts: 210
Send a message via AIM to marcos graveyar
Default

Here is what I have done, I found that the droop screw was almost all the way through the suspension arm when the droop was set so I added a piece of metal between the chassis and the droop screw. I found an old Bosch jigsaw blade with the teeth removed and cut to size fitted the bill nicely, this was then epoxied to the chassis.

This is it unloaded:-


And under load :-


The tiewrap is purely a belts and braces thing.
Similar metal pieces were fitted to the front.
marcos graveyar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 09:41 AM   #22520
jcr
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by filippimini View Post
This has been answered a number of times. I haven't done it myself, but this is what others have said.

Converting m05 to m05 pro ver2:
- A parts are a direct changeover
- motor mount should also be changed to m05 ver 2 type. (Although some don't bother)
- arms can also be changed to take advantage of the droop adjustments.
- if you want to run a standard square pack but don't want to use tape, m03 C parts can be used to hold the battery. Some small modification is required.
- use a small amount of foam inside the A part of the chassis to help stop the battery moving around.

Hope this helps.
So if I want to convert M05 to M05 V2 I will need technically 58593 but I should also 54606 (lower arms) and 54609 (motor mount)? All the internal gears and screws will fit wth no problem?

How big of a square pack can you run in the V2?
jcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 11:09 AM   #22521
Tech Regular
 
fresnojay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clovis CA
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Jcr, I run a 6500 75c full size in my v2. It is heavier than I like but fits fine. Weighs in at about 1352 so I have to put it on a diet at some point.

Jason
fresnojay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 11:31 AM   #22522
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rantoul,Il
Posts: 424
Default

Hi, I'm building a M03 reversed (RWD). The wheelbase is 210mm. I was looking at the HPI #7211 Porsche body, but I don't know if it will fit properly. I'm open to suggestions for other 210mm bodies if the Porsche is a no go. Thanks, Don
DLS II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 11:32 AM   #22523
jcr
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fresnojay View Post
Jcr, I run a 6500 75c full size in my v2. It is heavier than I like but fits fine. Weighs in at about 1352 so I have to put it on a diet at some point.

Jason
what is the battery opening dimensions? Just wondering if my TC batteries will fit.
jcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 12:21 PM   #22524
Tech Regular
 
fresnojay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clovis CA
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

JCR, They should with no issue. The one in my mini is also the same I run in my TA05. In the TA05 the battery takes up the entire tray. The opening measures 51mmx26mm in the chassis of the V2.

Jason
__________________
Tamiya TB-02, Tamiya M-05 V2 Pro, Tamiya TA-05, Tamiya F103,
fresnojay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 12:26 PM   #22525
jcr
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fresnojay View Post
JCR, They should with no issue. The one in my mini is also the same I run in my TA05. In the TA05 the battery takes up the entire tray. The opening measures 51mmx26mm in the chassis of the V2.

Jason
Thanks, now I really want to consider it at 51mmx26mm that will for sure fit my TC batteries. I hate trying to find stick packs in lipo.

What is the main difference between the motor mount? Debating about getting it or not.

I guess everything else internally is the same?
jcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 12:52 PM   #22526
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcr View Post
So if I want to convert M05 to M05 V2 I will need technically 58593 but I should also 54606 (lower arms) and 54609 (motor mount)? All the internal gears and screws will fit wth no problem?

How big of a square pack can you run in the V2?
If all you want to do is run a square pack, 54605 A parts is all you need. Bear in mind that if you run a standard servo you will need to find a couple of m3x18 screws. No need for the new motor mount.

I have my doubts over the benefits of the new arms beyond simplicity, I haven't heard anything good about the droop screw implementation and you will need to find loads of hardware to run the droop screws anyway.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 02:39 PM   #22527
jcr
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
If all you want to do is run a square pack, 54605 A parts is all you need. Bear in mind that if you run a standard servo you will need to find a couple of m3x18 screws. No need for the new motor mount.

I have my doubts over the benefits of the new arms beyond simplicity, I haven't heard anything good about the droop screw implementation and you will need to find loads of hardware to run the droop screws anyway.
OK thanks then I'll most likely just get the 54605 Parts. But what is the benefits of the new motor mount? Since I will have the car completely apart I can decide if I want to put it in or not.
jcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 03:06 PM   #22528
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcr View Post
OK thanks then I'll most likely just get the 54605 Parts. But what is the benefits of the new motor mount? Since I will have the car completely apart I can decide if I want to put it in or not.
New motor mount is milled to move the motor inboard by an extra mm or so. Also the heatsink posts mount closer to the chassis compared to the v1.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 05:24 PM   #22529
Tech Champion
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SnowMexico
Posts: 5,836
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

So I had a pretty awesome day. A friend had this painted up for me. Great surprise!





monkeyracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 06:08 PM   #22530
Tech Master
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 1,428
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Wayyy too cool Jim
__________________
Hauler Driver, Liason, Lead Mechanic, Crew Chief, Procurement Specialist,
Conflict Resolution Specialist, Pychologist, Therapist All for Team Golddust Racing
Oh and By The Way
NBCsn and FxSports cable is growing on me too!
KA2AEV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya Mini Cooper M-03L Hop-ups mini71 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 05-04-2016 11:07 AM
Tamiya Mini Cooper mach51 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 10 09-02-2011 12:08 AM
FS:TAMIYA Mini Cooper, TA 04S rthmotorsports R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 10-20-2007 09:37 PM
Tamiya 415 MSX and M03 Mini Cooper F/S Racer X79 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 12-22-2006 07:38 AM
Tamiya M01,02,03, or 04 Mini Cooper ccugolf.com R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 12-05-2004 08:55 PM


Tags
m03, m03r ules, m05, mini, tamiya


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:50 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0