R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2013, 11:51 AM   #18511
Tech Addict
 
Wade....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: St. Paul
Posts: 565
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Another topic:

TOP Gear Diff - Any experiences?

I just bought one and filled it with 50K. It feels great but have yet to race with it yet. The fit and finish are A+, it uses the larger 10x12 bearings and seats really nicely in the tranny case. You need to run blades on your cvd's because the outdrives are Aluminum.

It also cuts 20 grams of weight vs the stock gear diff w/ grease. I hope it proves reliable. Any experiences?
__________________
Wade Huesman, TCORC Secretary/Pencil Pusher
Wade.... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:10 PM   #18512
Tech Regular
 
GeekSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Oxnard, CA, USA
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Granpa View Post
What makes an intelligent charger so intelligent???

Skynet
GeekSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 04:49 PM   #18513
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt_McGirt View Post
Thank you for the help Granpa!
Did forget to mention that if you decide to replace the shoulder screws with the flanged tubes and a machine screw, be careful how you insert the tubes. The flanged end should face the camber links. Since the tubes are a bit long, if you put them in the other way round, it'll bind up the camber links. If you do this, you'll see what I'm saying.
Granpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:50 PM   #18514
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Granpa View Post
I posses a very technology deprived intellect so think in much simpler terms. Hell, I don't even know what an intelligent charger is. I bought a voltage meter, but found very little use for it after switching to lipos.

Now, keeping the above fact in mind, is there a simple explanation for why my cars just seem faster with a freshly charged battery. They also seem to turn their fastest laps near the beginning of the run. Maybe my experience is unique and no one else has seen this phenomenon occur, though I don't believe so.

Why does a no load value of a battery not mean much?????? Why does placing a load as small as 20ma suddenly make this value so much more relevant??? What makes an intelligent charger so intelligent??? All I ever wanted from a charger was for it to charge a battery.

C'mon Granpa. I'll skip that one for now. I think you do have an intelligent charger because Lipos need a certain charge cycle which requires some software, otherwise you will finish them off quickly. From a basic one to the top of the range you only get some extra information or some such, not absolutely necessary. I think you know this.

Sure, they're faster because your battery is charged up. Perhaps your batteries are on the the low capacity side for the length of your races. If none of that applies, perhaps your batteries are past their best? From our club (TC racing, 5 minutes, generally 5000mAh batteries used, technical - lots of WOT and braking) I can report no such difference. Good drivers are very constant in their lap times and you can't tell whether they charged the battery or not by their lap times (as long as the battery is in a decent state of charge). Just for record, there might be other factors at play there such as battery temperature, motor temperature, ESC temperature, mechanical factors, and so on that may affect your laptimes. To conclude this is a battery only effect I think is premature in absence of more evidence. Use a data logger (just for fun if you want) and see what it tells you.

Because there is no current drawn (ha!).

Measure your car battery at no load and then measure it say with the headlights on, or the radio. Note the difference. I mentioned this already. The gist of it is that under no load your voltmeter can measure anything, including the potential difference induced by cosmic radiation, quantum fluctuations, who knows? Hold out the probes of a voltmeter and be prepared to be surprised. In thin air, it'll show a value different from zero. What does it mean? You tell me. Maybe it's just quantum fluctuations in the semiconductor junctions in its own circuitry. Like I said, doesn't mean anything. Same with a battery at no load. You don't have a circuit between the battery poles (in fact you do, but the discharge current through the battery is too small with modern batteries and that is all that crosses the circuit (voltmeter-battery). Put a decent current through it, to make sure you have the two points you are trying to measure the voltage between in a circuit that closes through the battery and you'll get a better indication of the voltage drop across the battery.

Whatever. Do your homework if you care.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:19 PM   #18515
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
C'mon Granpa. I'll skip that one for now. I think you do have an intelligent charger because Lipos need a certain charge cycle which requires some software, otherwise you will finish them off quickly. From a basic one to the top of the range you only get some extra information or some such, not absolutely necessary. I think you know this.

Sure, they're faster because your battery is charged up. Perhaps your batteries are on the the low capacity side for the length of your races. If none of that applies, perhaps your batteries are past their best? From our club (TC racing, 5 minutes, generally 5000mAh batteries used, technical - lots of WOT and braking) I can report no such difference. Good drivers are very constant in their lap times and you can't tell whether they charged the battery or not by their lap times (as long as the battery is in a decent state of charge). Just for record, there might be other factors at play there such as battery temperature, motor temperature, ESC temperature, mechanical factors, and so on that may affect your laptimes. To conclude this is a battery only effect I think is premature in absence of more evidence. Use a data logger (just for fun if you want) and see what it tells you.

Because there is no current drawn (ha!).

Measure your car battery at no load and then measure it say with the headlights on, or the radio. Note the difference. I mentioned this already. The gist of it is that under no load your voltmeter can measure anything, including the potential difference induced by cosmic radiation, quantum fluctuations, who knows? Hold out the probes of a voltmeter and be prepared to be surprised. In thin air, it'll show a value different from zero. What does it mean? You tell me. Maybe it's just quantum fluctuations in the semiconductor junctions in its own circuitry. Like I said, doesn't mean anything. Same with a battery at no load. You don't have a circuit between the battery poles (in fact you do, but the discharge current through the battery is too small with modern batteries and that is all that crosses the circuit (voltmeter-battery). Put a decent current through it, to make sure you have the two points you are trying to measure the voltage between in a circuit that closes through the battery and you'll get a better indication of the voltage drop across the battery.

Whatever. Do your homework if you care.
You know what???? You're right. Thanx for your cogent explanation.
Granpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:02 PM   #18516
Tech Adept
 
Laguna Bozo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Beach
Posts: 163
Default Quantum Fluctuations...

Really? Weasel's been smokin' something special tonight!
__________________
Craig Richter
Laguna Bozo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:18 PM   #18517
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laguna Bozo View Post
Really? Weasel's been smokin' something special tonight!
Nah, it's just that we're hangin' upside down here.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 11:52 PM   #18518
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laguna Bozo View Post
Really? Weasel's been smokin' something special tonight!
A very wise man once told me the only road to self improvement was to recognize your own mistakes. If you don't recognize a mistake, you can't correct it.

He also told me that everyone is an idiot about something. Just found out I'm an idiot about lipos. But only an idiot doesn't realize he's an idiot so maybe I'm not an idiot, just merely in possession of some misconceptions.

Last edited by Granpa; 02-28-2013 at 11:53 PM. Reason: spelling
Granpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 10:29 PM   #18519
Tech Addict
 
fvrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

OK, I am going to be honest and say I've bumped onto this thread once and a while but my M03 has been sitting unbuilt for a few years. I am getting a tamiya xv01 but might as well put my mini together to run rally as well since it will be my own course. 17.5 or 21.5? And if anyone has a link to rally set up that would be cool also
fvrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 02:08 AM   #18520
Tech Champion
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SnowMexico
Posts: 5,843
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

So...we're going to be running mod mini as a demo class at the season ender race here and it's getting downright silly. (I love it!) There will be a hybrid m03/m04 chassis, m03 RWD conversions and my little beastie. I've been told I can take the FF02, remove the chassis spacer and leave on the super wide TL01 suspension, which will fit nicely under a Pro-Line shell made for the Traxxas 1/16 platform. Oh yeah, it will also be running on VTA tires.

Have to admit, it's a little out of control. No motor, gearing or (rubber) tire limits. Just has to be based on a Tamiya M chassis. I think it'll need some toning down in the long run. Should be a riot in the short term though!
__________________
Stab it and steer.
monkeyracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 07:07 AM   #18521
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,945
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

M06 vs M05

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


M06 not so bad.

__________________
www.rccartips.com
www.f1rccars.com
www.f1rcclub.com
http://www.youtube.com/user/rccartips/
http://www.facebook.com/RCCarTipsFan
rccartips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 07:27 AM   #18522
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,591
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

The M06 looks pretty good in this video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ANzz-xIgX4c
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 11:16 AM   #18523
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,402
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default MI4CXL

For sale MI4CLX For sale
__________________
The best Price in RC At Powerhobby.com
maizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:47 PM   #18524
Tech Master
 
Swampracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Squamish
Posts: 1,733
Trader Rating: 67 (99%+)
Default Sway bars

Hi. A question for the M05 mini guru's

Which sway bar affects the handling more on the M05? The front or the rear?

Dose anyone use them. I was thinking of trying the rear.

Thanks Greg G
Swampracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 01:15 PM   #18525
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,766
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swampracer View Post
Hi. A question for the M05 mini guru's

Which sway bar affects the handling more on the M05? The front or the rear?

Dose anyone use them. I was thinking of trying the rear.

Thanks Greg G
Greg rear sway bar is a must on carpet, and a tight diff. Makes the car rotate much quicker, so combine that with the tight diff to get you out of the corners, and its much quicker. No need for a front sway bar at all. I made a sway bar from an old nitro bar (thicker than the hard M05 bar) and it works great.
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya Mini Cooper M-03L Hop-ups mini71 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 05-04-2016 11:07 AM
Tamiya Mini Cooper mach51 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 10 09-02-2011 12:08 AM
FS:TAMIYA Mini Cooper, TA 04S rthmotorsports R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 10-20-2007 09:37 PM
Tamiya 415 MSX and M03 Mini Cooper F/S Racer X79 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 12-22-2006 07:38 AM
Tamiya M01,02,03, or 04 Mini Cooper ccugolf.com R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 12-05-2004 08:55 PM


Tags
m03, m03r ules, m05, mini, tamiya


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Dapmc3
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:15 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0