R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Losi motor / pinion-spur upgrade (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/197174-losi-motor-pinion-spur-upgrade.html)

idrum2loud 12-25-2007 06:29 AM

Losi motor / pinion-spur upgrade

I got me a Losi xxx-s...and i want to run it at a stock class race at the local r/c shop. The car comes with a 19 turn trinity, but i want to drop in a stock Trinity CO27. With that being said, i am at a lost as far as figuring out my internal drive. I know the car is stock with a 88 tooth, 48-pitch spur gear. Internal ratio is 1.83 as well. Now the book i got here says for a stock motor to run a recommended Pinion - 26 Spur - 88. Does that sound about right? I am new to touring car gearing, and i am hoping i can get an idea so i can set something up in the car that will give me better corner speed and more punch on the straights. Thanks guys for the help!

p.s.....if that motor sucks, please tell me lol :lol: iam lookin for the best stock motor i can get my hands on, iam a need all the help i can get! :batman:

Update: Losi has some upgrades for my car i found. They make different spur gears, and the list is as follows
88T 48P Spur, 90T 48P Spur, 86T 48P Spur, 128T 64P Kevlar Spur, 128T 64P Spur, 108T 64P Spur, 118T 64P Spur.

So those are the options, but just don't know what each one will do for me, more acceleration, torque, top end, etc. thanks for any help!

tfrahm 12-25-2007 07:32 AM

For a Co27, around a 25t pinion will be a reasonable start for rubber tires on a medium to large indoor track... (I'm assuming INDOOR and RUBBER tires?)... 26 might be too "tall" for indoors...

Don't worry about playing with different spur sizes unless you just can't get the pinion you need... I don't think I've ever changed spur sizes on my XXX-S other than to replace a worn or damaged gear -- gearing is gearing -- only the ratio matters...