Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
*Tamiya TA04SS* Need help and advice! >

*Tamiya TA04SS* Need help and advice!

Old 05-20-2003, 09:42 AM
Tech Rookie

I am a beginner and just bought myself a Tamiya TA-04SS Toyota MR-S. The radio that i've chosen is the Airtronics MX-3. I've already buildt the car and I can't wait to buy and slap on a new motor and speed control.

The question that I need help on is would the car's stock internals be capable of running a Trinity D5 Double 8T?

My roomate has the Tamiya TA-04R HKS Altezza, everything stock. He also has a D5 Dbl 8T, but whenever he runs it, something always frys or melts...! @ one point, his battery caught on fire and decommissioned his car.

What can I do or what will I need to have a fast running car to compete with my roomie without the worry of someting blowing up or melting? why does this occur anyways?

Any advice will do! thanks fellas~!
Old 05-20-2003, 10:48 AM
Tech Initiate

Make sure you have bearings, gear it properly (real low about 20 roll out) & it should be able to handle it.
Old 05-20-2003, 10:58 AM
Tech Rookie

My car comes with full bearings. - i doubt they are adjustable... If they are, how would i do it?

What I don't understand or have no knowledge of is how to "gear" or "tune" my motor or car. How does one do it? Can the motor be adjustable?

I'm still a beginner, I have no clue gearing. can someone please advise?
Old 05-20-2003, 12:17 PM
R/C Tech Founder

He wasn't trying to run a mechanical speed control with that 8 turn, was he? That would definitely fry something.

What kind of speed control was he using? You need to make sure that your ESC can handle your motor, otherwise you will have things heat way up, if not fry.

The reasoning behind that is, a lower wind motor (like the 8 turns you are thinking of running) put a much higher current drain on the battery/speed control than a higher wind motor, like a stock motor.