R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-18-2006, 05:52 AM   #14461
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the reply guys, yeah im running a one-way in the front. But i dont use any braking, thats a habit from driving 540 silvercans. I tried putting a bit of creep on the controller but that didnt feel right since the track was so fast. Havent driven on such a big track before, and there arent many that big in sydney (australia). I hate working on the diff housings so i'll leave that as a last resort.

I think the car is rolling a bit, it used to be a lot worse, and i guess the high speed cornering accentuates the problem.

I have never actually tried playing with castor or the camber links, or roll centres. I was considering dialing out some of the toe in ill try putting on some more and see if that helps (although i suspect i also need to change my driving style)

Any way plenty of things to keep me occupied for a little while

Thanks again,
Mangoman
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2006, 06:24 AM   #14462
Tech Addict
 
Nicadrauspro4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A., Italy
Posts: 677
Default

When using oneway diifs, you don't reaaly have to use brakes. Oneway diffs are not made for braking. Just release the throtle when approaching a corner. Oneway spool is for braking.

__________________
works1200.weebly.com
nicadraus-lamborghini.weebly.com
Nicadrauspro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2006, 02:33 PM   #14463
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,918
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman
The front springs of the car feel really soft on the springs compared to the rear (and thats with the hardest 25 lbs/in springs). Ive ordered some TC3 springs which arent quite the right size but they go from 30-40 lbs/in.

Thanks....
Sounds like you just found your problem Simple really, the car's is not balanced. You don't have weight transfer to the rear when you get on power. You need the rear weight transfer to generate rear grip. Firm up the front spring and soften the rear (you can lean the rear shock in on top and lean it out up front on top). Also for more rear weight transfer you can let out some front droop. Good luck.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2006, 10:13 PM   #14464
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Cheers, thanks MikeR.

Got the HPI Challenge on this weekend so the 17T motor is going to be interesting for me, especially since they are using sorex 36s and its winter over here. Lucky the track is super grippy from nitro's running on it, but if you get off the racing line man its a struggle.....
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2006, 10:16 PM   #14465
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Oh sorry MikeR btw when you say let out some droop, does that mean to try running with more droop?
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2006, 11:04 PM   #14466
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I think by let some out... he means running a little less droop on the front. By "less" i mean a smaller number on the gauge. This will let the front arms sag a little more and allow more weight transfer to the rear on acceleration.
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 09:50 AM   #14467
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,918
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Sorry, to clarify 'let out some front droop' I mean let the front suspension have more down droop.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...

Last edited by MikeR; 06-20-2006 at 09:54 AM. Reason: monday morning- nuf said.
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 06:32 PM   #14468
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR
Sorry, to clarify 'let out some front droop' I mean let the front suspension have more down droop.

Angry Asian- typically in the US we refer to more droop as doing what you say- letting the arm sag down more. Any down suspension travel the measurement number actually should increase. That's why you'll see on Hara's and Reinard's setup sheets the front droop number is always bigger (sometimes the same) than the rear droop number. But we understand each other
the numbers for droop on hpi setup sheets are measured using the included tool. This measures how far the bottom of the arm is, in relation to the bottom of the chassis.
Therefor larger numbers mean that the arm droops down less.
This makes sense, typically you want less down travel in the front than in the rear......so you would have a higher number for the front.

However, I know that when I say "add some droop", what I mean is to DECREASE the number that the tool gives you. So "add some droop" if you're at 6 means go down to 5 or less. Which of course lets the arm travel down farther.

Idk how people measure their droop in the US vs the rest of the world. I know that a lot of people used to leave the tires on their car, and then measure how far from ride height you had to lift the car until the tires came off. This does give you a measurement, but its not very accurate since the tires are involved.

So use the tool, and remember higher numbers mean less down travel
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 10:22 PM   #14469
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,918
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I can't get myself to use a plastic tool so I've tossed mine out . I measure all my cars by removing the wheels, placing the car on a board and then measuring from the bottom of the wheel axle to the board. I've givin up long ago measuring from the arms because;
1. the botom of the arm has no relation on some cars from front to back. 5mm of droop on the front and 5mm of droop on the rear can actually create different actual droop numbers.

2. the arms don't take into affect your camber setting which can raise or lower your axle height AND therfore your droop (mystery tweak!). If you measure at your wheel axle with your camber already set then you'll know that the left and right wheel will be exactly even with each other.

Everyone has there own system. You ask ten people and you'll get ten different answers on droop. We all know what it does but we can't agree on how to measure it
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 12:14 AM   #14470
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

1. - Does it matter whether the readings come up as teh same number front and rear? As long as you have a measurement right?

2. - I'm not sure i understand. What does droop have to do with tweak? Should you not set your droop the same left/right irrespective of camber and ride height?

I always assumed you set the droop, then set about working on tweak with rideheights later.. (Didn't even think of camber - that comes some where towards teh end of my settings before i go over it again..)

Or do you use droop as a tool to get rid of a tweak in a dynamic sense? That would be beyond my understanding..

3. - You threw it out! Damn.. im forever losing them. Should have sent it to me!!

I suppose you're right.. everyone has a different routine. besides.. i'm not consistent enough that a mm here or there reallys worries me! LMAO!
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 04:33 PM   #14471
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

anybody have a spare rear shock tower that they want to sell?
reg. mail is fine going to Vallejo, CA 94591

PM me with details..

thanks!
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 09:29 PM   #14472
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default New to the Pro 4

My Pro 4 should be here tomorrow.

Anyone running BL setup? Which one?

What batteries are you running?

I plan on running Lipos for long run time. SHould I be looking at 7.4V or 11.1?

I am thinking of getting the Novak GTB so I can run brushed or brushless.

Your comments would be appreciated.

After doing some research I am dissapointed these exepnsive BL ESCs dont have voltage cutoff. My $75 Tekin Mini Rage does and so does a Mamba.
bbking9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 09:30 PM   #14473
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,177
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbking9
My Pro 4 should be here tomorrow.

Anyone running BL setup? Which one?

What batteries are you running?

I plan on running Lipos for long run time. SHould I be looking at 7.4V or 11.1?

I am thinking of getting the Novak GTB so I can run brushed or brushless.

Your comments would be appreciated.

After doing some research I am dissapointed these exepnsive BL ESCs dont have voltage cutoff. My $75 Tekin Mini Rage does and so does a Mamba.

the lrp shere competition does have a voltage cutoff
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 09:31 PM   #14474
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,177
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbking9
My Pro 4 should be here tomorrow.

Anyone running BL setup? Which one?

What batteries are you running?

I plan on running Lipos for long run time. SHould I be looking at 7.4V or 11.1?

I am thinking of getting the Novak GTB so I can run brushed or brushless.

Your comments would be appreciated.

After doing some research I am dissapointed these exepnsive BL ESCs dont have voltage cutoff. My $75 Tekin Mini Rage does and so does a Mamba.
I ran my pro 4 with the novak 4.5 brushless motor, it ran great but have to be really smooth on the throttle
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 10:54 PM   #14475
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Hey Marcos,

Thanks for the info on the LRP. Did not know that.

Were you running 6 cell NIMH? If I am going to run LIPO should I stick with 7.4V - I presume?

I was thinking about the 5.5R. If I got a deal on a 4.5R which I am working on - I could turn down the throttle on the radio - right?

Also have a front ball diff coming to try if I dont like the one way (I like brakes).

Anything else I need to know about? I had an FK04 last year (replaced the one way in that as well).
bbking9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:52 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0