R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-20-2006, 10:46 PM   #14281
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtimax
can pro4 use tc3 dog bone cvd set?fit?
thanks!
Use the new FT TC4 dog bones. They are much stronger than the HPI, MIP or earlier TC3 and TC4 bones. Thus, they resist bending better than any bone other than the Ti bones that cost a mint in the US.

Ira
iblumberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 11:20 PM   #14282
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I had my TC4 bones re-anodized to purple...
looks better than blue.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 12:05 AM   #14283
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,921
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
Who makes the best spool? And any install advise on a spool?
Use the grey grease or you'll be replacing the spool by the next weekend race
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 12:06 AM   #14284
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,921
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
I had my TC4 bones re-anodized to purple...
looks better than blue.
I always see those purple ones on ebay
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 02:31 AM   #14285
Tech Regular
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Urvyne
Posts: 322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
I had my TC4 bones re-anodized to purple...
looks better than blue.
Where did you get them re-anodized, how much did it cost, and what colors are optional?
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 03:55 AM   #14286
Tech Elite
 
mike ivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Comin at ya from a distant galaxy
Posts: 2,784
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

rc-zombies ygpm question for ya
__________________
[-eXpress motorsports-] [-TQ Wire-]

1/12th Fo' Life!!! R.I.P Mike Reedy, R.I.P John Williams

[-Horsham RC-] [-Jackson RC-] [-RC Car World-] [ Black Out Free 2015 ]
mike ivy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 04:22 AM   #14287
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Those purple CVD you see on ebay, sold from the UK, are made by Ti-racing. I found them on schumachers web sight since they are the main importer for Ti's stuff.
I went with the square titanium CVD's up front, I found at Precision R/C. They are very thick and light as heck, I doubt I"ll ever bend these, just break other parts running a spool.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 05:51 AM   #14288
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I can certainly vouch for the TiR CVD's...

I upgraded from the stock aluminium units which bend easily. Using a spool, you're almost guaranteed to do some cvd damage!!

The TiR units are a little more pricey but they are much lighter and i've yet to kill mine!! My friend once drove my car into a solid corner so hard that he ripped the hub carrier off, popped all the links etc.. Usually this would involve new alu cvd's.. the TiR units survived unscathed! (new bearings were needed for my car though )
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 10:58 AM   #14289
Tech Regular
 
karlo511's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 419
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

the SQUARE TC4 CVD BONES work as well:
http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...id=445&id=4908
took one HARD hit to a pole (made that nice 'tonnnnnnnnnnggggg' sound ) at SoCal and managed to crack the front steering knuckle, but the cvd bone was strong like bull.
karlo511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 02:14 PM   #14290
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,653
Trader Rating: 193 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR
Use the grey grease or you'll be replacing the spool by the next weekend race
Will the black diff grease from AE work OK? I need the spool for next week. So I will order the HPI unit since it would take less time to get it.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 02:37 PM   #14291
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,921
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
Will the black diff grease from AE work OK? I need the spool for next week. So I will order the HPI unit since it would take less time to get it.
Well, the good thing is, the HPI spool comes with the grey grease (atleast it used to)
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 02:40 PM   #14292
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,921
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karlo511
the SQUARE TC4 CVD BONES work as well:
http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...id=445&id=4908
took one HARD hit to a pole (made that nice 'tonnnnnnnnnnggggg' sound ) at SoCal and managed to crack the front steering knuckle, but the cvd bone was strong like bull.
Now that's a ringing endorsement! har har snort
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 02:49 PM   #14293
Tech Adept
 
junbantay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryAsian
Wow!// big mod...

what did you cut the CF with? It looks pretty even in those small pics. Do we get any larger detail? Is that a Hara top-deck that you've modded?

How thick is the CF.. standard chassis?

well done!
Thanks! that is the Standard Upper deck of Pro4 1.1v I will try to have a better Pic of it. and Also I have inverted the Shocks in Front to lover the COG of my Kit and I am now Running on Diff. Front and Back... pretty good in Handling though not as agressive as the one way but I could do late Braking on Corners.
junbantay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 12:46 PM   #14294
Tech Master
 
Geetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: HPI/HOTBODIES
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Geetoo Send a message via Yahoo to Geetoo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by junbantay
Thanks! that is the Standard Upper deck of Pro4 1.1v I will try to have a better Pic of it. and Also I have inverted the Shocks in Front to lover the COG of my Kit and I am now Running on Diff. Front and Back... pretty good in Handling though not as agressive as the one way but I could do late Braking on Corners.
Awesome!
__________________
www.hpiracing.com
www.hotbodiesonline.net
www.nosram.com
www.team-durango.com
www.actionhobbiesonline.net
Geetoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 10:11 PM   #14295
Tech Addict
 
raptor 700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Myfas, Ca
Posts: 537
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I can't get a step-up down on my pro 4. Everytime I get on the gas it just spins out. It is so bad I can't do a clean lap without spinning out. My spring in the rear AE silver. Shocks are at second inner most positon. Roll centers are stock. Chamber angle has a 2mm spacer under the ball joint. I am almost ready to sell the car. So please soon. Thanks for any help you can give.
raptor 700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:51 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0