R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2006, 06:02 AM   #14101
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hey i read somewhere that Hara used to run double one-ways in his car (I think it was the old Pro3??)... double one-ways!

That's crazy... one-way is tough, a double... yikes.
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 06:40 AM   #14102
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, that's pretty wild! I know a few guys who ran the TC3 that way.
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 09:46 AM   #14103
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryAsian
Hey i read somewhere that Hara used to run double one-ways in his car (I think it was the old Pro3??)... double one-ways!

That's crazy... one-way is tough, a double... yikes.
Double one-ways in the Pro3 is cake. Did it when I had it. Double one ways in any belt driven car is a match made in heaven (on asphalt) . It's not for everyone of coarse but in the right hands you'll cut your lap times.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 09:55 AM   #14104
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kewdawg
On asphalt the car will still oversteer. You said it was awesome. I say - not even close. You'll have a lot more control and better handling, with a diff, on ANY small & tight track.
Respectfully disagree- if your car is oversteering on asphalt then you've got the wrong set up going... or that particular track has grip issues. It's not a black and white answer of coarse as we are making it... I'm sure we're both right and wrong depending on track conditions out of our control.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 03:13 PM   #14105
Tech Addict
 
WisRacr1's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartmen34
It's been discussed at length here, but the posts are buried now and I can't find them either, so here are the best images I have of it. The part of the mod you can't see is that there are shock-seal type o-rings under the inverted purple cone washers bolted to the steering posts, and the holes that are enlarged are done so in the back and the front of the upper deck. This helps the upper deck "flex" and settle back into place without setting into a "tweaked" position.

Hope that helps!
THANKS A TON MAN!!!!!!!!!!
WisRacr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 04:22 PM   #14106
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: baltimore
Posts: 193
Default rc car bag

help help i cant find this bag.rc racer unite help me find this bag.
http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...il.asp?id=5861

New Racer's Edge/TM Formula 8 Bag
LORD SHADO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 04:48 PM   #14107
Tech Regular
 
karlo511's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 419
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hey mike..
i came across one of those SQUARE towers and put it next to mine and found that the outer most hole lines up but the other holes are all offset...the pro4 hara tower has holes that are significantly lower than the SQUARE tower. i hope that makes sense
anyways, the tower that comes with the hara edition has lower mounting holes that the SQUARE tower..
karlo511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 05:15 PM   #14108
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karlo511
hey mike..
i came across one of those SQUARE towers and put it next to mine and found that the outer most hole lines up but the other holes are all offset...the pro4 hara tower has holes that are significantly lower than the SQUARE tower. i hope that makes sense
anyways, the tower that comes with the hara edition has lower mounting holes that the SQUARE tower..
Oh great- I have a Square tower on the way!
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 02:54 PM   #14109
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I must be losing my mind.... Do you guys have a link to Hara's Pro4 Worlds set up on HPIRACING.COM anywhere? I thought I saw it before...
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 02:59 PM   #14110
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR
I must be losing my mind.... Do you guys have a link to Hara's Pro4 Worlds set up on HPIRACING.COM anywhere? I thought I saw it before...
'04 Worlds? I have...pm me your email. 1.7mb file.
japanese fonts need to be loaded on pdf reader.
you want the ROAR Nats setup too? works great!
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 05:26 PM   #14111
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
'04 Worlds? I have...pm me your email. 1.7mb file.
japanese fonts need to be loaded on pdf reader.
you want the ROAR Nats setup too? works great!
PM sent. Thanks!
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 04:09 AM   #14112
M.J
Tech Regular
 
M.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 262
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

i recnetly got one of these and have i major question trying to get my gearing right.

is there anywhere i can get a better gearing sheet or can sum1 tell me how to do the equation.

the manual only goes down to 97 i think and one of my spurs is labeled 77

can anyone help
M.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 04:16 AM   #14113
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: scottsdale az
Posts: 282
Default

If you have a 77 tooth spur it is more than likely 48 pitch the book tells you how to figure you gear ratio it is spur/pinion x 2.4375
no1uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 04:54 AM   #14114
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

http://www.gearchart.com/index.cfm?f...n=chart.create

This is great... will do all your ratio's for you...
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 08:40 PM   #14115
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Is there a huge difference between the 2mm and 2.5mm chassis? Our track has low grip so I'm running the purple 2mm + .5mm silver for 2.5mm total for roll centers in the front, and 2mm + 1mm silver 3mm total for roll center in the rear (spacers under the suspension blocks). From what I understand this yields more grip. I had seen this set-up on Thad Garners set up sheet. It seem like the 2mm chassis is being disscontinued, Tower, KT, and speedtech do not list this chassis.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:12 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0