R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2006, 01:25 PM   #14056
Tech Regular
 
karlo511's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 419
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

just came across some pics of my pro4 in action @ socal.
still looks good to me
karlo511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 01:46 PM   #14057
Tech Regular
 
dstyles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 287
Default

what would be the benefits for the lower shock tower?
more steering or something?
dstyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 02:37 PM   #14058
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dstyles
what would be the benefits for the lower shock tower?
more steering or something?
Lower to match the Hara Pro4 shocks better. That shock is 2mm shorter than stock shocks. Lets the front of the body sit down lower also so you can run the body more slammed.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 03:07 PM   #14059
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

haven't seen the square shock towers..but I'll keep a lookout for it..
as far as I know..when the pro4 was originally released the shock towers were higher..than later changed after a few months to sit 2-3mm lower... I have both HPI versions.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 03:52 PM   #14060
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
haven't seen the square shock towers..but I'll keep a lookout for it..
as far as I know..when the pro4 was originally released the shock towers were higher..than later changed after a few months to sit 2-3mm lower... I have both HPI versions.
Thanks RCZ I did find some at RcMushroom just now.

Interesting that info on the HPI towers. They are much cheaper so I'll have to see if I can compare the old and new somehow.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 04:57 PM   #14061
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karlo511
just came across some pics of my pro4 in action @ socal.
still looks good to me
The best lookin part is that Motek sticker
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 06:07 PM   #14062
Tech Regular
 
karlo511's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 419
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

can't forget my roots
now.... if those guys can produce 'other' stuff
karlo511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 10:18 AM   #14063
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karlo511
can't forget my roots
now.... if those guys can produce 'other' stuff
haha That's what I'm saying.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 11:33 PM   #14064
Tech Addict
 
SpeedDesignz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 554
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SpeedDesignz
Default

hey I just drove my Pro 4 last night since a year ... Just wanted to see what it would do against " today's " competition .... in a field of good Xray drivers ( A main 9 xray's 4t2's rest 05's .... me Pro 4 I qual 3rd )

In the main I poped a ball cup, but my times were as good as leader .

I run on carpet with foams ... damn this setup works!!!

I'll have to post pics but.. I did the rear shock "flip"on the rear.... meaning my rear shocks are on the inside of the rear cvd's I had to flip the rear arms too. ..... but MY GOD !! the car rotates soo much better

I'll fine tune the setup on "high grip"carpet next week and then post a setup .

but you carpet foam guy's will luv it !! I am running the extreme 3mm chassis though too

__________________
NYC Hobbies / Eurotek motorsports / SpeedDesignz / BackBreaker Racing !!
SpeedDesignz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 01:55 AM   #14065
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedDesignz
hey I just drove my Pro 4 last night since a year ... Just wanted to see what it would do against " today's " competition .... in a field of good Xray drivers ( A main 9 xray's 4t2's rest 05's .... me Pro 4 I qual 3rd )

In the main I poped a ball cup, but my times were as good as leader .

I run on carpet with foams ... damn this setup works!!!

I'll have to post pics but.. I did the rear shock "flip"on the rear.... meaning my rear shocks are on the inside of the rear cvd's I had to flip the rear arms too. ..... but MY GOD !! the car rotates soo much better

I'll fine tune the setup on "high grip"carpet next week and then post a setup .

but you carpet foam guy's will luv it !! I am running the extreme 3mm chassis though too
that is very interesting what you did with the rear shock tower and shock assembly.

but how did you get the shock tower flush with the rear diff housing / bulkhead assembly sitting up straight?

and when you say the car rotates so much better do you mean you now have a smaller cornering radius or just more corner speed.

would love to try to this out let us in on the details and some pics if you can

cheers
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 02:18 AM   #14066
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hmmmm.. i second that!

Post some pics up!... sounds interesting..
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 02:54 AM   #14067
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
Default Broken rear bearings

I've had my Hara Pro4 for about 4 months. I think it is a great car, but I have been breaking things on it more frequently than on my previous cars (TC4 and JRXs).

Now that my driving is improving, things are better. However, I was surprised today when I was doing some maintenance and saw that the bearings for one of the rear axles had broken (the center portion was at a nasty angle to the rest of the bearing). After just a little prodding with my finger, the bearing completely came apart and the little tiny balls started to spill out.

I have side swiped the boards on several occasions with the Pro4 and with my previous cars, but this is the first time I have seen the bearings break.

Has anyone had similar experiences? I'd love to hear that this was just a freak occurrance and will not happen regularly.

Ira
iblumberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 03:29 AM   #14068
Tech Addict
 
SpeedDesignz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 554
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SpeedDesignz
Default

I'll post some detiled pics and how to 's after next week's trophy event .. I want some conrete evidece first with Top notch competiton. To see what the car does.


I"ll post some pics tommorow and see If I can get some moe input. I think with sway bars ( black all around ) The car would be dialed ... Unfotuallly rear sway bar would be a problem with the mounting ball on the rear with the arms flipped..
( I may have to dremel (( insert jrxs sound )) the front of the arm to fit a ball stud)

I'll run a quick set up by all of you to see what we can do to increase "mid" corner speed. Entery is fine , so is exit, seems to unload speed in the middle of the turn slightly,.... think If I can correct this ... it's by by local T2's ....

Heres's a quick run down

FRONT

Pinnk HPI springs (25mm)
top hole -- 3rd hole in ( extreme chassis tower)
Bottom -- 2nd hole OUT
60 Fluid in shocks
6deg carriers
Pins flat (thick silver shim) under blocks
0 Block front ( HPI Graphite option rear hole _ 1 shim )
PARMA Cyan ------Paragon 3/4

REAR

Flour Green springs (25mm)
Top hole 3rd in (extreme chassis tower)
bottom -- mid hole ### ( arm flipped)
40 Fluid
Ball stud -- outside on carrier
Pins flat (thick silver shim) under blocks
2.0 rear block
Camber 1.5 neg
Camber link ( HPI Graphite option outer rear hole _ no shim )
Parma Megenta rear tires


I'm probably forgetting a bunch of crap ....but you carpet guys get the general idea. Any suggestions for the "mid corner" is appriciated
__________________
NYC Hobbies / Eurotek motorsports / SpeedDesignz / BackBreaker Racing !!
SpeedDesignz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 07:54 AM   #14069
Tech Adept
 
cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 233
Default

does anybody no which of the rpm rod ends i will need to get for my pro4?
if i got the ae set, will that be enough for hte whole car etc?
(i dont see a set for the pro4...)
cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 11:52 AM   #14070
Tech Adept
 
cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 233
Default

or will the hpi heavy duty ball cups fit both the long and short steering links in the car, because they only sell one length dont they?
cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:25 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0