R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2006, 09:37 PM   #13771
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4guy
hey,
i recentley picked up a pro 4 in a trade and have a on-road track opening soon. this will be my 1st venture into racing onroad besides my micro when i had a track in my back yard. i will be running on sealed ashfault. not shure how the track will be laid out but what would be a set up to start with?
The Pro4 Hara set up works very nicely out of the box. There are also some setup sheets on the HPI website for asphalt that have good variations. Since you are just starting out, you should probably run the solid axle (spool) in the front as this will give you a bit more control and the option to brake hard if necessary.

Ira
iblumberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 11:31 PM   #13772
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4guy
hey,
i recentley picked up a pro 4 in a trade and have a on-road track opening soon. this will be my 1st venture into racing onroad besides my micro when i had a track in my back yard. i will be running on sealed ashfault. not shure how the track will be laid out but what would be a set up to start with?
Hara's setup from the ROAR NAT's is a great starting point.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 02:08 AM   #13773
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 357
Default

This is kind of off the pro 4 subject but I thought that we alll run Pro 4s someone would help.

I got some used foam tires for carpet racing, which are very sweet. I noticed the outer edge near the rim is glued at a very smooth glassy finish. Which by the way looks very cool. Does anyone know which method they used to do this?
By the way the tires worked great!! I know that glueing the tires takes away from traction.
kyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 09:43 AM   #13774
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Sounds interesting.... maybe they dipped the edge in epoxy
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 10:08 AM   #13775
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyracer
This is kind of off the pro 4 subject but I thought that we alll run Pro 4s someone would help.

I got some used foam tires for carpet racing, which are very sweet. I noticed the outer edge near the rim is glued at a very smooth glassy finish. Which by the way looks very cool. Does anyone know which method they used to do this?
By the way the tires worked great!! I know that glueing the tires takes away from traction.
interesting...never heard of glueing the edges...
take some pics and post...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 10:30 AM   #13776
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: scottsdale az
Posts: 282
Default

It keeps them from chunking and helps to stop traction rolling
no1uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 11:19 AM   #13777
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
interesting...never heard of glueing the edges...
take some pics and post...
What? I thought all you guys were carpet racers up there
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 11:39 AM   #13778
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR
What? I thought all you guys were carpet racers up there

most are...me..nope... I only run carpet 1 or 2 time during carpet season.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 11:40 AM   #13779
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 111
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
interesting...never heard of glueing the edges...
take some pics and post...
i use shoe glue works great we run asphelt no carpet tracks here
serpentrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 06:56 PM   #13780
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

As promised, here are the pics of my Pro2.5. The left side of the picture (right side of car) is the updated suspension, while the right is original. A few notes- As you can see, with the camber link going into the shock tower, I now have three holes to change the roll center. I had to take a 1/8" drill bit and a hand drill, and make those holes a little bigger. What's more, is that I eliminated a whole globb of mess, removing two hingpins and a big plastic assembly to hold those in place (refer to page 15 of the manual), and replacing a massive tierod with a smaller, lower profile one. However, if you look at the picture of just the updated side, you can see I really had to lengthen that tierod, as the purple ano changes colors. What I'm wondering is, if I lengthened it a bit too much to make it easy to pop off or strip in a hard wreck. Another concern- The hingpin on the Pro2 is slightly thicker than the Pro4, but since I used a Pro4 C-Hub, I had to either mill out the Pro4 hub, or just use the Pro4 hingpin, and accept that some slop will be there. The hingpins are no more than a mm difference in diameter, but do you think that the slop will be significant? It isn't very easy to wiggle the hub and change the caster just by doing that. Obviously, the optimal thing would be to put a Pro4 suspension arm on there, but the places the Pro2 arm attaches to is this assembly that rides under the diff housing. I would have to trim a significant amount off of this piece, and never be able to use a Pro2 arm again. I plan on putting the Pro4 shocks on it sometime this weekend. Just some trivia, the Pro4 assembly is 11mm shorter than the Pro4 assembly. And now I can use 0, 2, 4, or 6 degrees of caster instead of merely 8 or 10.
Any comments, complaints, questions? I could also use some ideas on how to make this more Pro4 like. I tried to transfer the whole bellcrank assembly, but the posts on the Pro2 are quite a bit further apart. Thanks
-Josh
Attached Thumbnails
Hpi Pro 4-img_43532.jpg   Hpi Pro 4-img_43542.jpg   Hpi Pro 4-img_43552.jpg   Hpi Pro 4-img_43562.jpg  
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 09:38 PM   #13781
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyracer
This is kind of off the pro 4 subject but I thought that we alll run Pro 4s someone would help.

I got some used foam tires for carpet racing, which are very sweet. I noticed the outer edge near the rim is glued at a very smooth glassy finish. Which by the way looks very cool. Does anyone know which method they used to do this?
By the way the tires worked great!! I know that glueing the tires takes away from traction.
maybe they buffed the glue smooth.
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 10:39 PM   #13782
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
most are...me..nope... I only run carpet 1 or 2 time during carpet season.
Just as well... I prefer asphalt myself
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 10:58 PM   #13783
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: OZ!!!!
Posts: 41
Default

ok, this will be my first time into on-road racing, ive got a traxxas bandit that i bash, but would like a good rc car, that comes with most of the stuff needed, (MSC/ESC, Motor, Body, Electronics) is the Pro 4 good for that (seen that it doesnt come with lots of gear) or should i get these:
http://www.southeastrc.com/Items/Std...ookup=LOSA0255 (Not sure if comes with gear)
http://www.southeastrc.com/Items/Std...ookup=ASC30110
(Was looking at that before
or get the cars that the blokes at the track use?

Thats all, any good offers are welcome
wannabe_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 01:22 AM   #13784
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 357
Default

buffing the glues? Hmm what polish would you use to smooth out the glue surface?

I have some old foams and will try shoe goo and epoxi on to see the results.
I was thinking epoxi with less harding.
kyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 03:03 AM   #13785
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: OZ!!!!
Posts: 41
Default

and what would be the best ways of getting a faster car...with less money (minus the esc, and motor) would dremelling be good...though i have nevern done that before
wannabe_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:15 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0