R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2005, 03:11 PM   #13201
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
2 stage...front tire has 2 types of foam compounds as appose to the usual single compound.. 2 stage will have the inner half softer than the outer...that's all I know about foam tires...
its funny that they act like this is new.
i mean sure jaco has never sold multi compound tires. but for oval with the advent of smaller suppliers like murdock and rc4less multi-compound tires have been available for some time.

and at the factory level they've been available forever, not only available but in use! white-aqua-white anyone? hehe
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 01:23 AM   #13202
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 357
Default

So you can get a TC tire that changes componds the smaller the tire gets.
EX. of 2 stage tires???
firm at first and gets softer the smaller the tire gets.
kyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 02:24 AM   #13203
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,640
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

No itīs different. The two compounds/rings are glued together so they sit vertically on the rim. So the harder ring is towards the outside of the car and the softer one towards the chassis.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 05:57 AM   #13204
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

don't they do the same thing with some rubber tires?
__________________
RC10B4.2
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 08:30 AM   #13205
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 103
Default

I just bought a used Pro4 in excellent condition from Chad. I'm new to the hobby, and before I invest a bunch of dough in replacement parts I was wondering how long the Pro4 will be competitive. I'm getting this car all ready, but now winter is coming so the track isn't going to be open, so will I still be good for next season?

I'm sure w/ practice me and the Pro4 will be able to beat new cars that come out, but I just wanted to know how dated the Pro4 is becoming?

Thanks,
-Eric
gaeric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 11:43 AM   #13206
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If you are new, then I think it doesn't matter what car you have. Get some practice, learn how to drive and adjust your car.

As far as being old, the suspension parts (arms,hubs) are same as the cyclone. As far as the chassis, I find it similar to the FT tc4 (shaft drive, dual deck cars), the difference is that flex is controlled via a plate/bar rather than chassis thickness.

I was looking at the results of the races at IIC and saw one of the top finishers there drove a tc3, so one could say that those are still competitive.

Personally I like the pro4 right now cause you can find a lot of extra parts and cars on the 2nd hand market (read that as cheap).
deforest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 11:53 AM   #13207
Tech Addict
 
Nicadrauspro4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A., Italy
Posts: 677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deforest
If you are new, then I think it doesn't matter what car you have. Get some practice, learn how to drive and adjust your car.

As far as being old, the suspension parts (arms,hubs) are same as the cyclone. As far as the chassis, I find it similar to the FT tc4 (shaft drive, dual deck cars), the difference is that flex is controlled via a plate/bar rather than chassis thickness.

I was looking at the results of the races at IIC and saw one of the top finishers there drove a tc3, so one could say that those are still competitive.

Personally I like the pro4 right now cause you can find a lot of extra parts and cars on the 2nd hand market (read that as cheap).
I agree! Plus the aftermarket parts are so many to choose from. The pro4 is indeed a very nice car!
__________________
works1200.weebly.com
nicadraus-lamborghini.weebly.com
Nicadrauspro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 11:59 AM   #13208
Tech Addict
 
Nicadrauspro4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A., Italy
Posts: 677
Default

but I just wanted to know how dated the Pro4 is becoming? - posted by gaeric (eric)

HPI launched the pro4 in 2003. So far, the kit have been very successful and popular. I believe that the pro4 will be here to stay for a longer period. Especially now that they released a 2005 edition of the pro4. For me, it's the best shaft driven car in it's class.
__________________
works1200.weebly.com
nicadraus-lamborghini.weebly.com
Nicadrauspro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 02:21 PM   #13209
Tech Apprentice
 
Matt Pocknell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 88
Default

I also beleive that the pro4 will be around for a while yet. If some drivers can still get results out of old tc3's, then im sure the pro4 still has a few years in it yet .
I will continue to use the pro4 for the 06 season, wether its a standard pro4, or a pro4 hara edition. The pro4 ive been using this season has been completely bog standard - no option parts....just a change in the setup from track to track. Just shows how competeitive the car really is .

Matt
__________________
Mirage Racing|Hot Bodies|Nosram|Orion|Edit|AH Racing Products|Hudy|VRC
Matt Pocknell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 02:28 PM   #13210
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

the Pro5 will be belt driven and will be released late '06 ...
oh...wait..Pro5 already been release....it's the cyclone..
j/k...

I don't see a Pro5 coming anytime soon now than HB released the cyclone..now racers have a choice of HPI/HB belt or shaft.. just like other manufacturer..Yokomo SD & BD.. Tamiya Evo and 415series..

Like Yokomo and Tamiya...the Pro4 can further evolve... ie aluminum bulkheads...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 02:50 PM   #13211
Registered User
 
Hi-LowBrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 350
Send a message via Yahoo to Hi-LowBrow
Default

I used to be kinda anti-HPI guy before I get the Pro4
but eventully I got a Pro4 for some reason.

when I'm chacsing (or leading) other cars in the race, I can run
with confidence.I don't know why but I always feel some kind of
advantage with this car.
and actually it's faster........
Hi-LowBrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 02:53 PM   #13212
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-LowBrow
I used to be kinda anti-HPI guy before I get the Pro4
but eventully I got a Pro4 for some reason.

when I'm chacsing (or leading) other cars in the race, I can run
with confidence.I don't know why but I always feel some kind of
advantage with this car.
and actually it's faster........
the force is strong with this car..
and the purple makes you go faster...
Attached Thumbnails
Hpi Pro 4-light-sabor.gif  
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA

Last edited by rc-zombies; 10-27-2005 at 03:54 PM.
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 03:50 PM   #13213
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
the force is strong with this car..
indeed it is.

Quote:
what setup do you guys recommend for asphalt racing with foams? basic setup, not anything critical. shock oil, spring rate, camber, toe, ride height, shock position, that's really all i need to know.
any help with my question?
Attached Images
 
__________________
RC10B4.2
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 04:18 PM   #13214
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ft. Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

I have a pretty good asphalt w/foam tires setup, I'll post it later tonight. I am at work right now.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 05:41 PM   #13215
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
I have a pretty good asphalt w/foam tires setup, I'll post it later tonight. I am at work right now.
thank you. i would greatly appreciate it.
__________________
RC10B4.2
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:38 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0