R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-25-2005, 06:01 PM   #13186
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

yes...that is difficult to thread in no matter how much grease you apply..

you'll have to use alot of force to get the thread started...
or if you have a 4mm tap..you can pre-thread the holes..
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 06:24 PM   #13187
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Ok, going to Home Depot right now to get 4mm tap. Anything else I should buy besides the hex and ball drivers listed in the manual for puting the rest of it together? Thanks for your replies guys!! By the way, I've read the first 55 pages of this post in the past 3 days and it's helped a lot! I wanted to read all 440 pages first but my itchy hands are getting the best of me!
chuckchance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 06:39 PM   #13188
Tech Regular
 
loopedeloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whangarei Newzealand
Posts: 491
Default

3mm tap for gearboxes etc, but as I said only start the thread , dont tap in too far as It will be loose
loopedeloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 07:46 AM   #13189
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: scottsdale az
Posts: 282
Default

Helios scottsdale rc speedway has one hanging on the wall give scott a call I am shure he will gladly ship it to you.
480-945-2186
no1uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 09:42 AM   #13190
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

what setup do you guys recommend for asphalt racing with foams?
__________________
RC10B4.2
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 12:06 PM   #13191
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 357
Default

Can anyone tell a difference Al. drive shaft vs. the graphite on.
I am running on carpet with foam tires.
kyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 12:14 PM   #13192
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyracer
Can anyone tell a difference Al. drive shaft vs. the graphite on.
I am running on carpet with foam tires.
the graphite one is very light..ideal for stock and 19T racing but expensive.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 12:44 PM   #13193
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Honestly..No.I run a lot of laps practicing(I own a track..so i have nothing to do.. )I'm just going by lap times and comparing,I would have to say on the Pro4 about 99% of the hop ups out their do not really lower your lap time's.Your money would be better spent on the best batteries you can find.. and practice.I like the Bling Bling as much as the next guy(more)but Honestly it does not make your car faster.Some of the hop ups are more of a convenience issue than "better".But I guess if it makes you feel faster..
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 01:06 PM   #13194
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

if you run a oneway and want to use a graphite shaft be carful. i got one of those fancy graphite ones for my TC3 and it was in there for ever with a diff but as soon as i put the oneway in the car and hit a wall the shaft shadered. because the end pieces are make from Aluminum and the conected to the graphite which makes up the center part of the shaft they will break at those joints. so if you wont use a oneway or a spool then yes its good to use a graphite shaft but if you do then dont be hard when it breaks because it will... just how long it lasts is skill and luck

and xxxkat... alot of the hopups for the pro4 are for durability and setup options. but thing like shock collars and caps and what not.. yea i agree they are pointless. but i mainly use all the drivetrain type upgrades not just because aluminum is lighter... its because they are durable in the sense of not pure duablity but the difference as the one piece rear shaft and then the aluminum front shaft is nice because they use the screws to hold the bevel gears not the e-clips.

but yea the graphite shaft is lighter and looks cool but mostly pointsless. and it will break unless you use a diff.
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 01:11 PM   #13195
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Actually the CF Pro4 drive shaft is very durable...I've had some very hard crashes and multiple roll-overs etc...no problem with the CF shaft breaking...
I've had problems with the aluminum shaft bending and wobbling...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 01:12 PM   #13196
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

... wow i have never had a problem with any of my aluminum shafts... no bending in any of my pro4s or my tc3s. just goes to show everyone has different exp. and luck

... basically my $40 graphite shaft was a waste
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 01:19 PM   #13197
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 357
Default

I was just checking. I have a slightly used Pro 4 with a graphite shaft. Just wanted to know the purpose.


I got a easy question:

I have heard some talk about 2 stage foam tires. Are thay talking about tires such as Plads or is the foam a different compound the smaller the tire gets?
kyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 01:22 PM   #13198
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

yea same... i heard they were using these new foams at vegas but i had no idea what they are about and what is meant by 2 stage?

but ithink this question would be better asked int he on road forums... might get some better answers there.
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 01:25 PM   #13199
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjm9898
yea same... i heard they were using these new foams at vegas but i had no idea what they are about and what is meant by 2 stage?
2 stage...front tire has 2 types of foam compounds as appose to the usual single compound.. 2 stage will have the inner half softer than the outer...that's all I know about foam tires...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 03:00 PM   #13200
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

what setup do you guys recommend for asphalt racing with foams? basic setup, not anything critical. shock oil, spring rate, camber, toe, ride height, shock position, that's really all i need to know.
__________________
RC10B4.2
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:49 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0