R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2005, 08:19 PM   #12736
Tech Initiate
 
CPatrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Western NY
Posts: 20
Send a message via MSN to CPatrick
Default Note concerning RCMart Orders

I saw that someone mentioned how tough ordering from RCMart can be. They practically demand an in-house cavity search before processing your order. I pay with a PayPal account which has a confirmed address, and when asked for photo copies of a drivers license or pay stub, I remind them that my shipping address has been confirmed by PayPal. They've processed every order without incident.

Don't let their strong-arm tactics turn you away. Just push back. They want your business.

CPatrick
CPatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 08:30 PM   #12737
Tech Regular
 
Paladin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPatrick
I saw that someone mentioned how tough ordering from RCMart can be. They practically demand an in-house cavity search before processing your order. I pay with a PayPal account which has a confirmed address, and when asked for photo copies of a drivers license or pay stub, I remind them that my shipping address has been confirmed by PayPal. They've processed every order without incident.

Don't let their strong-arm tactics turn you away. Just push back. They want your business.

CPatrick
Mate, if I have to fight them to get my business, then I think there is an argument that they Dont Want My Business!

I use them because of their range and price, but also because I can have the goods at my door in Australia within 3 to 4 working days. I also pay for that privilige with hefty postage and handling charges. However lately I have put orders in expecting goods within 3 to 4 days, and a week later receive email saying certain items are unavailable. Well really defeats the purpose of using them, if takes 10 days to receive order.

I will be using several other Hong Kong and US sites from now on.
Paladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 08:44 PM   #12738
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATXPro4
The only issue that the car has is with the bevel gear up front, If u shim it just right you wont have much of a problem. Also u can use the gears from the TC3, thats what im using running mod and they work well so far.
Is it noisy with the TC3 gears in it? Do you use both bevel gears?
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 09:16 PM   #12739
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Warner
Well, it looks like I'm leaving the Tamiya camp, and joining HPI's.
Welcome to the club!
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 10:27 PM   #12740
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: scottsdale az
Posts: 282
Default

I have the tc3 bevel gears in my car just as quiet as the stock gears and I run the one piece bevel gear in the front! you only need to use the tc3 dif gear the small dif gear does not fit the HPI input shaft (hole to small and the HPI shaft is steped) have not had any problems with the small gear but I only run it in the back.
no1uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 10:31 PM   #12741
Tech Regular
 
tranced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadCapece
Terrible with foamies. I've tried it. I believe most run a front diff with foams on carpet.

I've never ran rubber tires on carpet. Maybe someone can comment.
Using CS27's and Hara's DHI 05 setup, the car rotates well and has sharp turn-in. With his setup, the car wanted to be driven hard
tranced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 11:07 PM   #12742
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

At my track I have been running 19 turn on rubber tires with a diff up front,I have another Pro4 that I was going to run in stock but the way the track is a oneway is not the ticket.I do have a spool.I guess I'll try it.
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 04:52 AM   #12743
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,049
Default

Thank you!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by josh69162
Welcome to the club!
-Josh
John Warner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 05:03 AM   #12744
Tech Master
 
Essnowyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere Strange Wisconsin!
Posts: 1,649
Send a message via AIM to Essnowyt
Default

Question to the people who have put AE gears in their Pro4s. Did you replace both front and rear gears or just front? HPI gears have a 2.4375:1 ratio, where AE gears are 2.5:1 ratio. So has any one set up a car with the front diff turning faster, by ratio, than the rear?

I just thinking outside the box, per-say. I think some real car with 4 wheel drive have the front wheels drive faster than the rear. Could it help us?
Snowy.
__________________
Team XRay, RCAmerica, Motiv, Gravity RC, Schacht Design Works.

Drive it, Dont slide it!
Essnowyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 08:05 AM   #12745
Tech Adept
 
tcdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurra Sing
been wondering, has anybody been trying this setup out? i raced my pro 4 again and it was very good on the high traction parking lot i raced on today.
I tried this setup on my Pro 4 this past Sunday and it worked very well. I actually had oversteer while running a spool. The only change that I made to the setup was using the stock springs from the Hara kit ( pink and white?) and 50 wt. oil in all of the shocks. Unfortunately the body I was using had suffered some damage above the front wheels so every time I turned left the body would get caught on the tires.

I hope it works as good on the Cyclone when I get it.
tcdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 05:19 PM   #12746
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Essnowyt
Question to the people who have put AE gears in their Pro4s. Did you replace both front and rear gears or just front? HPI gears have a 2.4375:1 ratio, where AE gears are 2.5:1 ratio. So has any one set up a car with the front diff turning faster, by ratio, than the rear?

I just thinking outside the box, per-say. I think some real car with 4 wheel drive have the front wheels drive faster than the rear. Could it help us?
Snowy.
Actually, if I remember right, they have the same tooth count. I think the change may come from a smaller small bevel gear. But the big gear should be 39T, like the Pro4 gear.
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 07:30 PM   #12747
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: scottsdale az
Posts: 282
Default

If you do the math you can't get to 2.5 to 1 with a 39 tooth ring gear the only formula that works is 16/40 that is a tc3 gear set is.The only way to get it with 39 tooth ring gear is a 15.6 pinion.
no1uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 08:08 PM   #12748
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no1uno
If you do the math you can't get to 2.5 to 1 with a 39 tooth ring gear the only formula that works is 16/40 that is a tc3 gear set is.The only way to get it with 39 tooth ring gear is a 15.6 pinion.
Well in that case, you need to change both gears.
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 08:22 PM   #12749
Tech Fanatic
 
Arun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve eaves
Anyone have a carpet setup foam?
Steve, when did you get a pro4 ?
__________________
http://nexusracing.com
Arun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 08:25 PM   #12750
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

Arun, have you tried boiling the gears yet?
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:00 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0