R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-27-2005, 07:55 PM   #12631
Tech Regular
 
vulso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 342
Default

Thanks for the help and ideas guys. It's not the pinion or spur, I have changed several times to make sure it wasn't. I had the pin slipping in my CVDs and fixed it a while back with shoogoo and fiber reinforced tape at the loss of a aluminium front knuckle. I have tore down the car several times. Checked the shims ,gears , driveshaft and anything else I could think of. I think it is either one of two things the front bevel gear is slipping under load (like BritRacer said) or I have mismatched 1.0 version gears and 1.1 version gears . I just can't pinpoint it at all. Thanks for the help but it looks like I am going to have to throw some money at it and see if that helps.
vulso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 08:05 PM   #12632
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

I don't think that mismatching the gears would have anything to do with it. They are both the same size and stuff, the only difference is the material strength. But there could be some variable I don't know about that would make a difference. Can you tell what region the click is coming from?
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 03:31 AM   #12633
Tech Regular
 
vulso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 342
Default

It consistantly comes from the front whether it is a spool ,diff or one way while under braking or accleration only. It's getting on my nerve
vulso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 04:28 AM   #12634
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

What version gears are you running? Sounds like you havent meshed the gears properly.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 05:10 AM   #12635
Tech Adept
 
cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 233
Default

"also my car has a slight but of understeer at the moment
can any1 recommend how i can make it better without spending anything on it, ps i dont have a spring set...?"

surly sumbody can answer my simple question... please lol
cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 05:25 AM   #12636
GRF
Tech Adept
 
GRF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone
"also my car has a slight but of understeer at the moment
can any1 recommend how i can make it better without spending anything on it, ps i dont have a spring set...?"

surly sumbody can answer my simple question... please lol
Try the 4 deg C-hubs (stock C-Hub). Used the 6 deg hub and felt a bit of understeer. I went back to the 4 deg C-hub and fixed it.
GRF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 06:59 AM   #12637
Tech Adept
 
cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 233
Default

im on 0 already tho
cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 08:32 AM   #12638
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 69
Default

Try going back to the 4 degree C-hubs and swap the springs around to silver on the front and gold on the back. Or you could remove some of the spacers on the inner front camber link, this roll centre change will give the front end more grip. Remove the front roll bar. Swap the 2.5degree and 3.0degree pivot blocks from the back to the front. TBH though the standard Pro4 setup did not understeer for me, maybe you should think about trying different tyres first?? Jonathan
jonny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 08:45 AM   #12639
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

What he said..
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 09:00 AM   #12640
Tech Adept
 
cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 233
Default

my setup isnt entiery stock and i cant change the front c-hub from 0 degree because ive got some homemade 1's which i wanta keep using...
however i could try changing the springs so that the silvers on the front, will this work then? and the pivot blocks thing i will also try thanks.
cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 09:50 AM   #12641
Tech Regular
 
vulso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone
my setup isnt entiery stock and i cant change the front c-hub from 0 degree because ive got some homemade 1's which i wanta keep using...
however i could try changing the springs so that the silvers on the front, will this work then? and the pivot blocks thing i will also try thanks.
I dialed out the push in my car by decreasing the toe out. I am now going between 1.0, 1.5 and 2.0. front with 2.5 and 3.0 rear. You can adjust your steering turnbuckles to get this if you don't have toe blocks. The other thing was new CS27s with paragon traction compound. My setups actually started to work like this You can also look at your cam ber settings F/R.
vulso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 09:53 AM   #12642
Tech Regular
 
vulso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dontfeelcold
What version gears are you running? Sounds like you havent meshed the gears properly.
That's what I think it is, maybe. I have v1.1 bevel gears and oneway gear. But my diffs and spools I bought off ebay and I can't be 100% sure. Is there any way to tell the difference? I don't have any shims up front but have two in the rearin front of the first bearing.
vulso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 09:56 AM   #12643
Tech Adept
 
cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 233
Default

ive got about 0 toe now so should i try putting some toe in on then?
i race carpet foam by the way...
cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 10:09 AM   #12644
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

The version 1.1 gears diff slightly to the first version gears. First of all the small gear is backed with plastic, and the larger gear has a "step" to it on the back whereas the older gear just gradually goes inwards.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 03:23 PM   #12645
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default what the correct way to get hpi shock to perform right

hey what a proper way to bleed the shock to get the right amount of bleed/ and rebound a little diffrernt than ae shocks
__________________
hotbodies cyclone, hotbodies tcxx orca v3 esc
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0