R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2005, 02:34 AM   #12211
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kewdawg
What's your current set-up?
I started with kit setup (I have the Pro4 2005 spec), Ive tried Take Off 27's, Sorex's, even foams on asphalt, and "the car doesn't react to setup changes". Ive tried running other peoples setups, at the same track, same tyres etc and the car is not working like it should.

I can't visually see something that I have done wrong, even Miura from HPI has checked the suspension and he noticed nothing wrong with it.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 09:10 AM   #12212
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,876
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to cpatel529 Send a message via Yahoo to cpatel529
Default Need Hpi Parts

Anyone have any HPI pro 4 Hara parts that they are looking to get rid of? I want to get hte motor mount, the shocks, and the front and rear input shafts.

Also what chassis(upper and top deck) should I run for carpet? I heard that the 3.0mm is the best. If so, does anyone have one of these for sale as well? Also am in need of a spool.

Please email me at chi.patel@gmail.com

Thank you in advance.

Chirag
cpatel529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 09:28 AM   #12213
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpatel529
Anyone have any HPI pro 4 Hara parts that they are looking to get rid of? I want to get hte motor mount, the shocks, and the front and rear input shafts.

Also what chassis(upper and top deck) should I run for carpet? I heard that the 3.0mm is the best. If so, does anyone have one of these for sale as well? Also am in need of a spool.

Please email me at chi.patel@gmail.com

Thank you in advance.

Chirag
i would run the 3mm chassis for carpet, also BMI makes a really nice 3mm chassis that works well for carpet, as far as the spool your LHS should be able to get one or u can order it online for about 16.00 USD
ATXPro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 09:42 AM   #12214
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpatel529
Anyone have any HPI pro 4 Hara parts that they are looking to get rid of? I want to get hte motor mount, the shocks, and the front and rear input shafts.

Also what chassis(upper and top deck) should I run for carpet? I heard that the 3.0mm is the best. If so, does anyone have one of these for sale as well? Also am in need of a spool.

Please email me at chi.patel@gmail.com

Thank you in advance.

Chirag
for carpet get the 3mm chassis and upperdeck.
BMI makes a great chassis...unfortunately I sold my set to Axel.
or you can get the HPI 3mm chassis and upperdeck. tower should have those in stock as well as the spool.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 10:27 AM   #12215
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the CHI
Posts: 408
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

what mm foam and rubber tires are peaple runing
Matthew.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 11:25 AM   #12216
Tech Apprentice
 
chr15tophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Default

Hi, whats everyone doing regards running the HPI spool,

how much wear do you notice, do you grease ? or run it dry so dirt doesnt increase wear? a

ny other makes out there that do a decent one, that doesnt wear so quickly ?

Or is everyone just replacing them on a regular basis ?
chr15tophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 11:41 AM   #12217
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chr15tophe
Hi, whats everyone doing regards running the HPI spool,

how much wear do you notice, do you grease ? or run it dry so dirt doesnt increase wear? a

ny other makes out there that do a decent one, that doesnt wear so quickly ?

Or is everyone just replacing them on a regular basis ?
to minimize the wear..grease it with the gray grease.
or you can replace the CVD pins with the IRS CVD pin cushions

__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 06:21 AM   #12218
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Íhringen near Stuttgart / Germany
Posts: 71
Default

On carpet it depends on the tires which chassisplate you should run. With foam tires you should use the 3mm but with rubber you should use the 2mm plate, it's easier to drive, provides more grip and you won't have any problems with tweak.
Also very nice to drive is when you put 45g lead on your bumber, totally different steering feeling....
__________________
Team Awesomatix Germany
powered by LRP electronic
Marcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 06:42 AM   #12219
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hmm i never thought of the weight on the front thing, any idea how that would work on asphalt? i may try it just for fun this weekend
ATXPro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 07:48 AM   #12220
Tech Apprentice
 
jace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 102
Default 19 Turn Spec Class Racing

Can any one recommend 48 pitchg spur/pinion choices for the Pro 4 that suits 19t spec class motors, running on tarmac with rubber tyres?
jace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 08:15 AM   #12221
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel
On carpet it depends on the tires which chassisplate you should run. With foam tires you should use the 3mm but with rubber you should use the 2mm plate, it's easier to drive, provides more grip and you won't have any problems with tweak.
Also very nice to drive is when you put 45g lead on your bumber, totally different steering feeling....
that usually recommends 2.5mm upper deck for carpet
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 09:06 AM   #12222
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Íhringen near Stuttgart / Germany
Posts: 71
Default

We raced allways with the stock upper deck with the "hara mod". With rubber tire this was the fastest combination. Know i'm using the new 2.25mm upper deck from the hara special, but makes now big difference...
Greetz Marcel
__________________
Team Awesomatix Germany
powered by LRP electronic
Marcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 09:27 AM   #12223
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Íhringen near Stuttgart / Germany
Posts: 71
Default

Hi,
here are some pics of my P4 ready for carpet racing.
Attached Thumbnails
Hpi Pro 4-body.jpg   Hpi Pro 4-fronts.jpg   Hpi Pro 4-rears.jpg   Hpi Pro 4-pro4s.jpg  
__________________
Team Awesomatix Germany
powered by LRP electronic
Marcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 09:33 AM   #12224
Tech Addict
 
Thraex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 518
Default

Car's looking great Marcel.... must be a european!
Never noticed that the new upperdeck was that narrow.
__________________
Thijs van M[HPI/HB]
Thraex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 09:37 AM   #12225
Tech Regular
 
aaronb73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 348
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I'm starting to build my hara pro4 and made a decision to use the spool. Is there anything special I should know about when putting that togehter? There aren't instructions for it but it seems rather simple just using the four screws and the new grease. Anything else?
aaronb73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:39 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0