R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2005, 04:02 PM   #11626
Tech Adept
 
Din Viesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121
Default

Thanks for the reply Axel, I have been racing for almost 20yrs and I have seen companies doing this alot, where they put a car out and then just after a worlds event they put out a new car based on what their driver was using (If he/she won) and selling it for a little more than what the orginal car was!
Din Viesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 07:08 PM   #11627
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Din Viesel
Thanks for the reply Axel, I have been racing for almost 20yrs and I have seen companies doing this alot, where they put a car out and then just after a worlds event they put out a new car based on what their driver was using (If he/she won) and selling it for a little more than what the orginal car was!
Yeah, I priced out the parts that are included in the new edition and it would cost you MORE to get the old version and get the new parts. Just get the Hara Edition or the 2005 Edition.
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 08:45 PM   #11628
Tech Adept
 
Din Viesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121
Default

Is the Hara Edition released in the US yet? Also does anyone know when the Hotbodies Cyclone will be released ?
Din Viesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 08:57 PM   #11629
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

I like your taste in cars . I believe the cyclone will be realesed either late june or early july... HOPEFULLY! The pro4 hara edition i have no idea. Are you a hara fan as well?
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 09:19 PM   #11630
Tech Adept
 
Din Viesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121
Default

Have not met, nor seen him in action Would like to I was driving an Atlas for along time and my contact in Japan now tells me that parts support will probably be no more I love that car.....oh well time for something new I guess. Unlike 80% of the guys I run with I stick with one car, not go out and buy the latest version every week! What really kills me is guys will always complain that I beat them with a 2yr old belt car, then run out and buy what ever thinking that will help!!! But I always say it's in the driving!!

So a shaft driven car will be interesting never tried one out, it's always been belts for this guy
Din Viesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 09:42 PM   #11631
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

I like your thinking...i know how people buy new cars when they come out...I feel that way too...if i only had that money though. But i really wan that cyclone...I wanna drive belt car to see if it for me or not.
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 09:43 PM   #11632
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Default

Din- Tower Hobbies has a late June arrival listed for the Hara edition as of today 6/8
aviaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 09:44 PM   #11633
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

sheldonshobbies.com has it as well.
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 09:46 PM   #11634
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Din Viesel
Is the Hara Edition released in the US yet? Also does anyone know when the Hotbodies Cyclone will be released ?
Hara Edition is, the 2005 is only in Japan.
The Cyclone in a month or so.
I just priced out the upgrades for the 2005 spec Pro4.
It will cost you $238 for the parts not including the new motor mount, diff nut and Delrin Outdrives!!!
So basically your looking at $300+ to upgrade your old Pro 4!!!!!
That Sucks.
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 12:38 AM   #11635
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Anyone know what page the bumper mod is located?

Also, has anyone come up with a place to mount a 5th body mount?


Last edited by RCknight; 06-09-2005 at 12:56 AM.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 12:45 AM   #11636
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 69
Send a message via ICQ to atomic80 Send a message via AIM to atomic80 Send a message via Yahoo to atomic80
Default

I paid around $280 for EVERYTHING to upgrade my Pro 4 to 2005 specs so scooby doo is right on the dot.

Bloody expensive....I recommend going for the Hara edition instead! Now I've got my eye on the Cyclone. *sigh*
atomic80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 01:30 AM   #11637
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCknight
Also, has anyone come up with a place to mount a 5th body mount?

If you have the 'stock' upper deck, there's a hole on the top of it near the front shock tower. It's a little under the screws that attatch the upper deck to the front gearbox.

Here's a pic:


Just take off the upper deck, put in the screw from the bottom and tighten.

P.S. Please excuse the blurry pic
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 01:39 AM   #11638
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

Guys, do remember, that upgrading your pro4 to 2005 specs also means u have lots of 2004 spares like a full set of shocks etc.. so you're really paying for new parts in addition to your original parts.

For people who buy the 2005 edition straight, they wont have the original parts lying around.

What would make upgrading to 2005 specs worth it, is if you already own a partially hopped pro4 2004 or if you get a good deal on a 2nd hand pro4.

For me I am hopping up my own pro4 to 2005 specs selectively. Skipping those hopups I find are redundant or possibly detrimental to the car's handling/performance (alu camber link mounts for example, twice the weight of stock and higher CG).
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 02:00 AM   #11639
Tech Regular
 
adamkerrnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 268
Default

im thinking of mounting TRF shocks onto my pro 4, anybody know if they will not fit at all or will it be a straight foward install? i have a feeling the TRF shocks will be better than the stock v1.1 pro 4 shocks.
adamkerrnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 02:40 AM   #11640
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Only parts I'm interested in are the.....

new motor mount and new screw/t-nut.

Where can you order these parts? Or, do you have to order over seas?
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:53 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0